We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go next door” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Star Continental Grand Hotel to your Saves list
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Asian Games Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 340 Reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Go next door”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a pretty tired hotel in the North of Beijing. It's close to the Olympic Park and conference centres, but it's a 45 min tube ride into the centre so it's not ideally located for sightseeing.

Both the hotel and rooms lack basic amenities that you'd expect in what is a fairly expensive establishment. There was no bar, gym or pool (some sites say that it has fitness amenities, but I was informed by the concierge that guests have to use those in the next door Crowne Plaza at a cost of around £10 per day). Rooms don't have complimentary mineral water for brushing your teeth (tab water isn't drinkable in China), something which the other three hotels on this trip provided. For this and other things the supermarket in the basement of the nearby North Star Times (tall black building) was a godsend.

I spent a bit of time in the Crowne Plaza next door and it's so much nicer. If you need to stay in this area and can get a good deal I'd recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    163
    72
    29
    7
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
9
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is bang in the middle of the Olympic area and part of the convention centre. There's no pool, no bar, nowhere to sit down in the lobby (if there's more than 4 of you) and nothing to do in the neighbourhood. It''s perfectly adequate if you're a conference delegate and the food is excellent but for a holiday it would be depressing.

Internet connection is £6/day.
Coffee in the lounge is £4.50/cup.

There was no minibar in my room altho there was a fridge (empty). No bottled water is provided and you are warned not to drink from the tap, so what you do if you arrive in your room late at night thirsty is a problem.

My advice is, get closer to the city centre, find a more interesting neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This is my second stay at this hotel and both times I have been nervous having read negative reviews. Again I was attending a meeting at the convention cente, so the location is good for that. I was grateful for the reviews that mentioned the supermarket. Come out of the hotel and walk to the right past the crowne plaza. Then there is an underground shopping plaza. The supermarket is amazing. All sorts of food, wine, beer, shampoo etc. Don't worry about anything you have forgotten to pack, you can get it here. There is also a chemist and some novelty shops. There is an icecream shop and a food plaza. The Xiabu Xiabu restaurant is a good pick. Sit at benches and order a beer. Then they bring a hot pot and your choice of meat, fish or tofu, and vegetables. Cook your own right at the table. A fabulous meal for less that $6.
The area has definitely come ahead since I was last there and a new shopping centre featuring designer labels is opening up. Meanwhile its fun to peruse the high end chinese fashion labels in the nearby department stores.
During my visit this time I took a taxi to the summer palace. I had a wonderful day enjoying a rare day of blue skies and sunshine.
The hotel room was fine. The bed was hard, but paradoxically comfortable.
The hotel restaurants are not so great (so I was glad to find the food plaza), and I gave up on breakfast after the third day.
I commented on my last trip about the unfriendly unhelpful staff. Sorry to say there has been no improvement there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

If you are attending a conference here, then I guess it will be OK for you, though there seemed to be other hotels nearby. The breakfast was the highlight of the day. The staff were not that friendly, even by Beijing standards. The hotel is convenient to a supermarket and a food court, make it a point to locate that as soon as you can so you can stock your mini-fridge with affordable alcohol to numb the pain of staying here. It seems to be a 15 minute walk to 2 different subway lines. Desk staff could not tell us how to get to either by walking, taxi drivers stationed out front refused to take us there (too close?). One is under a freeway underpass, another is in the Olympic park, which is right across the street, and probably a more pleasant walk if more changes. Sadly, unless they bring the Olympics back to Beijing, this hotel will not be a convenient location for most things that tourists will want to do. The beds are hard as rock, we were initially put in a really foul-smelling smoking room, although we don't smoke and I am sure we requested a non-smoking room - we managed to get another room. We moved to a downtown hotel after our meeting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed in this hotel during a conference, like many others as it is connected to the cnference center. The hotel is adequate and clean (my most important criteria) however it is overly expensive. Like in many upscale hotels prices are outrageous. A bootle of water is 15 yuans, the same bottle is 2 yuans in the shopping center nearby. Same for the restaurants. Concerning food, do not eat in the hotel (way too expensive) there is a shopping mall nearby (under the North star plaze located beside the crown plaza) that has very good restaurants. The food is great and you can eat for less than 20 yuans. There is internet in the rooms however you have to pay (10 yuans per hour or 60 per day) and there is TV with English, French and Japanese stations. Otherwise the location is great if you want to be close to the conference center or the Olympic stadium, however the closest subway stations are 30-40 min by walk. Thus overall OK but the worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I arrived at this hotel in Nov2008 for a conference. It is old style, gloomy and filled with unfriendly staffs. Although we speak Putonghua, staffs are unwilling to help or to answer any query. Even our questions would be simple like how to get to the metro station, how much would taxi cost etc.

Its location is near the Olympic centre, however, there are other hotels nearby. At the end of the conference, I learnt from the organiser that some delegates cannot tolerate the poor attitude of the staffs and decided to check into other hotels.

The nearest metro station is about 10min by taxi, and the city centre takes another 50min ride by metro. So unless you would like to stick to the Olympic Centre and the Beijing International Convention Center (BICC), there are better choices out there.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Most of the below reviews for this hotel are spot-on, but I wanted to say that after a 9-day stay here I thought it wasn't a bad value for the money (given that hotels can be rather pricey in Beijing these days). I also ended up thinking the location wasn't bad due to its proximity to the subway (which is excellent). It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the subway station (located south of the "Bird's Nest and Water Cube" in the Olympic Park, which is in easy eyeshot of the hotel), and from there you can grab a nice, clean, fast, dummy-proof subway to virtually anywhere in the city. The subways can be crowded but they run frequently, are very fast and efficient, and CHEAP!

So, being up at the Olympic Park, this hotel is definitely out of the city center, but that's not such a bad thing as the city is a mad house. I wouldn't call the hotel "nice", but it is kept neat and essentially clean (though we did have to wear our hotel-supplied slippers around the room because our feet would get black on the carpets even though the rooms were meticulously cleaned each day. I attribute this to Beijing's terrible air quality which contains a lot of soot). The bed was comfortable. The rooms are not big, and it was a little tight for me my wife and our 1-year-old. But we managed. The TV has HBO and another movie channel, plus a few US cable channels.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel staff is extremely nice and helpful, and I did not really encounter any problems with the language barrier. Some staff spoke better English than others, but all were able to communicate. The only restaurant where we ate was the "Cafe" where we had our breakfasts and some lunches. The food was okay but there are better options in the very nearby mall in the basement of the Northstar Tower, or in lots of restaurants in the neighborhood. Also, the restaurants in the hotel charge an extra 15% for service, which is preposterous in China.

I'll have to admit that initially I was tempted to defect to the much nicer looking (on the surface) Crowne Plaza next door (it's literally attached), but I heard the rooms there weren't so hot either, and the much greater expense isn't justified. I'd say on the overall that this hotel is a decent value if you find yourself having to consider it as an option if you have business in the area, and I wouldn't be afraid to stay there again. And as I said before, the good service and friendly staff are what tip the balance in the hotel's favor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Continental Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Address: No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#420 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Star Continental Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Star Continental Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Grand Beijing
Hotel Continental Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Continental Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.