We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Star Continental Grand Hotel to your Saves list
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Asian Games Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 339 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great for business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location for conference goers. Right next to the convention center. Walking distance to the Olympic park. A little longer walk to the subway station so if you have big luggage, not a good idea to walk there. Price is in the middle among the hotels nearby.

Nice room and good service. Restaurant food is ok but very expensive. Buffet type food is nice. All in all, a great place for business purposes.

No free internet in room but charge is low.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    162
    72
    29
    7
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
9
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is at the next door to the more expensive Beichen Crown Plaza hotel, and close to the Olympic stadium. The only thing I don't like is the smell of cigerattes in elevators and in the lobby. One evening, I kept smelling cigeratte smoke in my room (possibly from the air vent or cracks in the wall). I had to open the windows.

Room Tip: You can get free wifi if you sit at the tables close to the door in the breakfast restaurant. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Bayda, Libya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel two nights, attending a conference, like I think must of clients it was good hotel, very good breakfast. The hotel is Isolated from the city and the price could not be justified.The reception speak only English with difficulty, this complicate the communication with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel wasn't as bad as I feared from reading reviews before getting there.
Problems: The internet connection was the biggest issue, it was rather slow and no wireless was available in the room. Rather pricey too...
The biggest plus was the breakfast - although I stayed there for seven days, the selection was large enough not to get bored of it.
Another minus is the fact that "no speak English sorry", coming from most of the staff, can be annoying.

Positive aspects: The location is good - right next to the conference center, which is probably their main business.
No problems about cleanliness, room size or safe box. They also have a gym with a swimming pool, which were quite OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was stuck at this hotel for 7 nights. I requested a non-smoking room and my room smelled of stale smoke. I requested a different room because of the smell and the receptionist was extremely rude and the new room smelled, also! The room was clean enough but small. My colleagues on different floors complained of their toilets backing up. Luckily, I didn't have that problem During my stay, people were sitting on the floor or on the steps in the lobby to access the Wifi as there really isn't a lobby with any chairs. Most of the staff do not speak any English and seem annoyed by foreigners which seems strange since this facility hosts International Conferences. For a 4-star hotel, I was very disappointed. I was literally counting the nights until I could leave.

Room Tip: I eventually ended up with a room on the top floor and I would recommend that as my colleagues had i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Busy hotel close to olympic centre and convention centre. The rooms are fairly clean and well maintained but bathroom was very cramped. The bed and linen was good. Rooms have a fridge but it isn't stocked with anything. The main restaurant (at the back of the lobby as you enter the hotel) was excellent (strongly recommend spicy aubergine, kug po chicken, lamb in cumin), but closed at 9pm (!) There is no bar in the hotel, but you can get drinks in the cafe where breakfast and lunch are served. The breakfast buffet is pretty good (including decent coffee). Many staff have poor english, although they were smiley and tried to be helpful. There is no gym or pool. Overall, its OK, but has some irritating limitations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was chosen by the organizers of an important scientific conference. Actually by the local organizers, while the international ones were complaining like me.

To start with we did not get wifi. There is free wifi in the lobby but to seat on a chair you have to order something with prices that are higher than in London (4£ for an expresso.. the cheapest thing you can get). So a bunch of scientist are just sitting on the ground... and we are not even doing a protest...

Second the service tries to be helpful but 90% of the times they can just smile to you and call somebody else, till when you are surrounded by more than 4 people that are smiling to you and not understanding.

Third the room is quite small, not totally clean (the carpet in particular the rest looks to be cleaned everyday) and a bit smelly, probably nobody cares of the no-smoking.. at least.

I also got problems in some restaurants in the area using my creditcard, I was told that in Beijing there would be no problems but they look like to accept only the unioncard.

ok thats more or less all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Continental Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Address: No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#428 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Star Continental Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Star Continental Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Grand Beijing
Hotel Continental Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Continental Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.