We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and dirty room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Presidential Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Presidential Beijing to your Saves list
Presidential Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Fuchengmenwai Road Xicheng D,, Beijing 100037, China (Formerly "Presidential Plaza") (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #653 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“old and dirty room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

the lobby is very grand, but feel shocked when I entered into the room - bad smell, dirty and old furniture, soft and uncomfortable bed, slippers with stain, stain in shower area, floor not clean, carpet dirty, old TV, dark room... what can be worse ? tried their buffet - limited choice, no serive, cold food. avoid !!!

Room Tip: Do not think any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
10
15
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The lobby area looks promising, it looks like a luxury hotel. Then, when you go up to your room you realize that it was not as good.
Rooms are not bad however they could use a nice refurbishment, specially the heating system and the carpets.

I had dinner at the hotel (Buffet) and even if it was not bad, it was far from good.

If you are a bit picky then try some western hotel. If you are OK eitherway this hotel is as good as any.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Lets be absolutely clear......this is a local Chinese owned hotel and for many years has catered for higher social Chinese citizens and business traveler as well as the "overnight stay" for airline crews. Therefore, it does not have all the facilities and creature comforts that normally is associated with a Western owned 5* hotel. Therefore, you need to expect the following:- strange room smells, faulty plumbing in the bathroom, Chinese dishes at breakfast buffet, smoking even in the no-smoking areas, noises in adjoing rooms, etc. However, having said all of this, this hotel is trying to reinvent itself into a hotel to cater for the international traveler.....they have recently refurbished most rooms and have upgraded breakfast facilities and extended the buffet choices. So, in summary.........this hotel is good value for money for the facilities provided however, its not ideally located (West Beijing) for the tourist traveler.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far away from the elevators as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Presidential before and I was not impressed with the rooms as they were quite tired but I stayed here for business last week and all the rooms have been re-designed with all new décor.

I especially liked the large plasma TV’s and the couch which was very comfy. I had a suite room and they were especially large (well, large for me anyway)

Check in was easy and the staff were quite polite. I think the lobby has been re-done as well.
Breakfast was included but there could have been more variety for the western dishes

Overall I was very impressed with the stay and I would recommnd this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at the Presidential Beijing for a week over New Year 2011/2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished suites which was extremely comfortable- plenty of room, nice interior, everything one would expect from a 5 star hotel. The lobby of the Presidential is very impressive, very high almost cathedral like ceilings, big staircase and a great area for a quiet drink after a long day of siteseeing. The buffet breakfast, which was included with our room, was offered in the cafe on the ground floor- a diverse mix of Asian and Western foods and a great way to start a day! Probably the best aspect of our stay, however, was the quality of service we received from the hotel staff. From the front desk, to concierge desk, doormen and restaurant staff (try the hot pot at the Chinese restaurant!) everyone was very helpful and willing to go out of their way to help. Of particular note was one of the senior foreign managers working at the Presidential, from Australia I think going by the accent. On arrival, we were obviously very tired from our long flights and seeing this he went of his way to streamline our check in...the quickest and most pain free check ins I've ever experienced! During our 1 week stay he would continually check on how things were going, even personally helping us organise a car to take us to the Great Wall, 10/10 for service! Would we return? Definately!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had quite a bad experience staying in this '5-star' hotel. To start off, we made a total of 2 room changes. The first change was due to the room door being faulty. We couldn't get the door open even after tapping the room key and turning the door knob repeatedly. We had to seek help from the front desk who told us that they will send a staff over to check.

When the staff came, she initially couldn't get the room door open as well. But later on, she managed to get the door open, but I noticed that she had used her leg to slightly kick open the door when turning the door knob! I asked the staff whether she had used her leg to kick the door open. She flatly denied and told us that there was nothing wrong with the door!

We thereafter requested for a room change at the front desk. Imagine our surprise when the front desk staff gave us a pissed off look and mumbled 'A change of room again?!' when this was our first room change request! What kind of staff attitude is this? I presume there may have been a number of room change requests from the other occupants of the hotel due to problems with their room as well.

Our room change was anything but good. The room was smaller as the front desk said they had no other rooms of the same size. More importantly, the aircon seems to be faulty as the room was still warm even after we had set the aircon to high speed and set the temperature to the lowest possible setting of 15 degrees celsius.

We thus resorted to calling the assistant manager and highlight our grievances and disatisfaction. The assistant manager immediately responded by giving us a second room change and a bigger room at no additional cost. The aircon in the bigger room was slightly better. However, setting the aircon to high speed and temperature to 15 degrees celsius still did not cool off the room as what was desired. We did not want to go through the hassle of another room change so we grinned and bear it for the next 3 nights.

My comments about the room besides the aircon issue is that the furnishings seem dated for a 5-star hotel. The shower in the bathroom was also not strong enough and it takes a longer time for us to bathe and clean off our soap. In addition, the shower area always floods when we take our showers.

The only thing good about the hotel is that the room was relatively big. So a '5-star' hotel? If you asked me, it is more of a '1-star' hotel disguised as a '5-star'.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March of 2010 along with my mom and step father who were adopting a baby from China.

On our room: Our room was extremely large, way more room than we needed so it was a very nice surprise. The overall look of the room was very outdated and everything looked old and even dirty including the couches. We were on a smoking floor although we didn't want to be and our room stunk really bad and hallways were even worse. We had a king bed and out of all the hotels I've stayed at in China this one was the softest and most comfortable. Our bathroom was pretty gross, the counter top had stains all over it and our shower head would fall off all the time which was very dangerous because it was very heavy and we were lucky it never landed right on us, there also a huge crack in the ceiling which was very unattractive.

On staff and service: The service at this hotel was terrible especially in the buffet restaurant for breakfast, we had to clean our own table almost every morning and go and find our own cutlery and we even had to get up and get our own coffee. So basically we were provided no service at all, however we did notice that the locals seemed to get better treatment.

Overall it was a fairly good location and provided us a place to sleep at night however I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidential Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Beijing

Address: No.9 Fuchengmenwai Road Xicheng D,, Beijing 100037, China (Formerly "Presidential Plaza")
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Presidential Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Beijing Hotel Beijing
Presidential Hotel Beijing
Beijing Presidential Hotel
Presidential Plaza Hotel Beijing
Presidential Plaza Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidential Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.