We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence for the Western Visitor or Businessman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Beijing

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #39 of 4,970 hotels in Beijing
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“Excellence for the Western Visitor or Businessman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have been coming to Beijing for 10 years and have stayed at this hotel almost every time. It continues to offer great service, very comfortable rooms, and an environment that is soothing and familiar for the Westerner yet with a Chinese flair. You can not go wrong here. The location is terrific. The breakfasts are marvelous (although a bit pricey). And there are indoor shops and food courts and restaurants in the connected lower level mall. And now the wifi is pretty good, too, and free (unusual for an upscale hotel). The indoor pool and fitness center are quite good, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much dear reviewer for describing Grand Hyatt Beijing as 'Excellence for the visitor or businessmen', we are truly humbled. It is our pleasure to be of service for the past decade and we strive to continue delivering quality service and products. Thank you again for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Beijing. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    945
    724
    149
    31
    10
See reviews for
230
153
85
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calvi, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a limousine pick-up at the airport which worked well. We asked the driver to drop us off at a good restaurant and to bring our luggage to the hotel and that worked perfectly. Check in was ok but not particularly friendly.
We had a suite on the executive floor. The room was large indeed but the overall impression was mixed. It fell old...the shower was nothing special and had no pressure..toiletries are substandard and will only be replaced on request....Internet is cumbersome: quite slow and you have to log in almost every time.
Breakfast was quite good and the spa area as already mentioned several time is absolutely awesome. The locker rooms should also be mentioned, they are just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you dear reviewer for your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your feedback on the guestroom is well-noted and we are very pleased to update that the hotel has embarked on a complete remodelling programme for its guestrooms and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to experience our new rooms. As for the limousine pick-up from the airport, we would like to inform you that all limousines now offer complimentary wi-fi service for your journey to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are on a business trip and can afford it (basic room around 250USD) .... then it is the place to be.

Great location for going either East or West side of Beijing ....... Few minutes on foot from the forbidden city ...... and great restaurants for your casual brunch or more formal meetings.

I did not even talk about their weekend afternoon tea or the luxurious mall attached.

In few words .... do not hesitate :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Wow, thank you reviewer for this excellent review on Grand Hyatt Beijing for its location and restaurants, on Tripadvisor. Thank you for selecting Grand Hyatt Beijing and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had stayed in Grand Hyatt Beijing on August 31 to Sept 2. Overall it is a nice hotel with very good location. If you want to visit great wall; hotel provides private car and tour bus with guide (we opted tour bus to Beijing via hotel concierge and please dont go for outside hotel tour services in Beijing even if they give surprizing rates--many of them are frauds; may put u in tough situation. Hotel staff is excellent; I recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for recommending Grand Hyatt Beijing on Tripadvisor and for complimenting the hotel's location, customer service, concierge services and hotel-arranged city tours. It is an honour to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in every aspect. Location fabulous. Walking distance to Forbidden city and Square. Opposite direction is Silk Market. Shopping mall with food under hotel. Pool fabulous. I stayed for one night on business , perfect. The staff went above and beyond for us. I will make it my hotel of choice on next visits

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the 5-star rating, we are truly humbled. We are thrilled to hear that you had a splendid experience at Made in China and had thoroughly enjoyed the Peking Duck. Thank you for recommending Grand Hyatt Beijing for its fine restaurants and surroundings. Very warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently dined at the Grand Hyatt's Signature Restaurant "Made in China" for lunch and the Peking Duck was the best I have ever had. The whole dining experience was sensational and most definitely the best meal I had while I was in China. Would certainly recommend this as a place to enjoy and indulge in an array of fine food and surroundings.

Thanks Grand Hyatt for a such a pleasurable moment and one that I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you reviewer for selecting Made in China. We are thrilled to hear that you had a sensational dining experience with us and had thoroughly enjoyed the food and restaurant ambiance. Made in China, our signature restaurant recently celebrated its 10th birthday and we are also very pleased to update you that it recently won a spot in “Elite Traveler & Laurent-Perrier Top 100 Restaurants in the world” list. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel in every aspect. Location fabulous. Walking distance to Forbidden city and Square. Opposite direction is Silk Market. Shopping mall with food under hotel. Pool fabulous. We stayed here three nights in the family two bedroom suite, perfect. The staff went above and beyond for us. We left expensive camera in coffee shop in mall and then left on a tour. The hotel went down and retrieved it for us. Then when we checked out and flew home. My daughter realized that she had left her brand new eye glasses in the hotel. They had them and couriered them back to the US for us. Hotel was worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are truly humbled by your superb review of Grand Hyatt Beijing's location, customer service and Two-Bedroom Suite. It was our pleasure to be of service and to ensure only the best Beijing memory and the smoothest trip for you and your family. Look forward to serving you in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt
Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Business Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#400 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.