We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #41 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,012 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is just great. There are many selections for breakfast, and their rooms looked new and neat.

The location was great too, you can easily take a walk in the mall or take a taxi and visit attractions.

The price was okay, but for some people, it might be a little expensive.

It is truly a '5 star' hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor, and thank you for your very positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our newly launched Grand Premium room, and look forward to be of service in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    770
    174
    36
    10
See reviews for
260
175
93
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illnau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel . the lounge ist excellent, serving Nespresso Coffee. for longer stays though the food for breakfast and dinner could be a bit boring... change more often.
excellent staff though, great big rooms.
my #1 choice when in Beijing followed by JW Marriott.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your feedback on our hotel. Please be assured that your comment on the food variety will be communicated to the relevant teams for us to continue to make enhancements on our products. Thank you again for choosing Grand Hyatt Beijing and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i am staying at this hotel on a regular basis
this time i got a poor room - very small and kind of "old"
the wine bar at this hotel is great and so is the amazing GYM and SPA
breakfast is also great
i think that soon some of the rooms will need upgrade.
i did not visit the club this time however usually it is very good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Beijing during your visit to Beijing. We also appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Indeed Redmoon lounge and Club Oasis fitness centre are very popular among many of our guests. As for the guestrooms, we are pleased to inform you that we have recently launched our newly remodelled guestrooms – the Grand Premium room. The Grand Premium room features an aesthetically uplifting and more functional design, and during your next trip to Beijing, we look forward to welcoming you back to experience these rooms. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well first of all this is an extremely high-end hotel in Beijing and most importantly I did not pay for my stay and hence my review is going to be a little biased as I enjoyed its high-end luxury without realizing the cost of it! LOL.

Positives
Excellent location. The hotel is interconnected to the shopping malls on the main shopping district. This is extremely convenient and specially for me as it was really cold when I was there and very easy to just walk into the malls without even stepping outside after a day at work. It is also next to the Subway in case you need to take one.

Inside the room, One feels like a King. It was huge. Separate kitchen space. Fully stocked mini-alcohol bottles. Bed was fantastic. Bathroom was huge and comfortable. I specially liked the part that there was a mini-shaving cream provided as I did not bring one. I also liked the fact that there was stuff to clean your shoes. Beijing is very dusty :)

Some negatives
The TV was not aligned with the bed. It was not in the center of the bed. In fact a part of it was totally outside the bed. Quite strange if one needs to watch it in the bedroom. The Clock should be illuminated so that one can see the time in the night! It was a black digital clock and impossible to see it in the night. For it's price, which I am sure was huge, I think the quality of the toothpaste and toothbrush should have been better. I stayed as a business guest and did not bring in these things since I did not have check in baggage. While it was good to have shaving cream in there, the quality of these things in a hotel as grand as this should be much better. Toothbrush was horrible, really horrible. It was the quality of a $10/night $uck-Me Motel. Soap and Shampoo could also have been of good quality.

Breakfast could have had much more variety too. It was good but I would say basic for the level of luxury this hotel promises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are very grateful that you chose Grand Hyatt for your stay in Beijing, and also for providing us with some very constructive feedback on our hotel through Trip Advisor.
Please be assured that your feedback will brought to the attention of the relevant Senior management team and that appropriate corrective actions will be taken. We would also like to take this opportunity to update that we have recently launched our remodelled guestrooms and would very much like to welcome you back to experience the Grand Premium room. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had a late arrival into Beijing and requested a hotel pick-up with the concierge. The whole process was seamless and exceeded my expectations. A representive met us at the gate and escorted us to passport control! The room was beautiful and I only wish I had more time to enjoy the property and Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor and thank you for your complimentary comments as they go a long way in helping to promote our hotel internationally. It was an honour to host you and we look forward to be at your service again in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the hotel twice and was impressed by the service as well as overall food quality a lot. A very nice customer approach and lovely to make business with them. If you are an event organiser use them for your outside caterings, what the can do in small place with no equipment is unbeliveble. Rooms are spacious, especially on club floors, free WiFi. Hope they do some reconstruction as it is really needed. The spa and the pool is gorgeous. Convenient location - connected to shopping mall, metro station and walking distance from Wangfujing shopping street. Their restaurant Made in China should not be missed as well as good sushi at the lounge bar. Concierge even helped me to organize a guided toar and transfers in Xian (Teracotta army). Had a really great time there and experience.

Room Tip: Get the executive floors and rooms facing Forbidden city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Wow, thank you so much for the great review, really appreciate you taking your time to provide this very positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are honoured to be at your service and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small but very well furnished/finished room. Recently renovated. Close to most of the main attractions. Great Gym/healthclub. Made in China served the best Peking Duck I have ever tasted. It was out of this world.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the complimentary review, and we are very delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Beijing. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#346 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.