We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #42 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here on business a couple days and found hotel a quiet place to unwind. Room had 4 "rooms" (living area, bedroom, bath and then a small food prep/coffee area). Our host felt that the hotel restaurant had the best Peking Duck in Beijing and that reservations were hard to get. I am not part of the Hyatt guest program but felt I was treated very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer

I was thrilled to read that you felt so looked after and enjoyed our hospitality. Indeed we pride ourselves on our Beijing/ Peking Duck in our award winning restaurant "Made in China", however, alhtough a busy restaurant, I am concerned that your host felt it was hard to obtain a reservation. Rest assured I will share these comments with the Manager.

Overall your comments were very complimentary and go a long way to promote the hotel for which we are sincerely grateful.

We hope to be at your service again soon!

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    767
    174
    36
    10
See reviews for
258
172
93
482
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed my 5 days stay. Location is very convenient close to Tananmen and Forbidden city, shopping streets and malls. Service was good, exchange rate - fair. But breakfast is just ordinary and room (comfortable and clean) smelled of old smoke. Swimming pool, sauna and hot tubs are great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor. I was most disappointed to learn that you found our breakfast offering disappointing and that you also experienced the smell of stale smoke in your guest room.

I would be most grateful if you would email me personally at paul.wright@hyatt.com, so that I could understand the exact guest room you stayed in and resolve this with you.

Finally, I was happy to read that you enjoyed our Club Oasis facilities and that you found the hotel's location so convenient.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is superb, very close to forbidden city and has a great service and quality. We stayed at club level, with complementary wi-fi and breakfast. There is a "happy hour" everyday with drinks and food, it is enough to be your dinner. Service is really nice, after some days people know you by name. This hotel is located over a shopping mal, with first class shops and good restaurants. Concierge was really helpful and arranged easily all tours we wanted. If are you going to Beijing for the first time and want good support to get a transfer, don`t hesitate to get the "meet and greet service" offered by the hotel. I was in Nanjing and my wife arrived alone at 6:15 am and was received by an english speaking person, who took her and the luggage to an Audi A6 and she got to the hotel very quickly and safely.

Room Tip: Club level is more expensive but it is Worth every extra dólar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing!

Thank you so much for writing such a positive and complimentary review of Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor. Your comments and ratings go a very long way in promoting our hotel on a Global basis for which we are sincerely grateful.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hospitality so much!

Until next time, safe travels and we look forward to welcoming your back.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Grand Hyatt is a very well appointed hotel choice located in central Beijing within walking distance of Tianamenn Square and The Forbidden City. I was upgraded to a small suite and found the room to be exceptionally quiet and comfortable. On the same floor was a lounge for executives with breakfast, snacks and business services. The hotel is well maintained and staff are very pleasant. Most speak passable English. Room rates are on the high side, but the hotel delivers a hgh quality product.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are grateful for all the positive feedback and for recommending us.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pool/hot tub/waterfall room is ridiculously beautiful - I should have spent more time there. The service was ok - lots of people standing around, but I still experienced some problems: The room keys kept not working. I had to go back to the lobby 6+ times during my stay, once three times in a row. That was ridiculous. I also had trouble getting a cab to the airport when I left. After waiting in line out front for 40 minutes, I gave up and paid extra for a private car. Besides that, the location of the hotel is great: close access to the subway, right next door (and on top of) shopping, and a short walk to Tianemann and the Forbidden City. The rooms themselves are quite nice and comfy. As you'd expect, the food at the restaurants was good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with some very constructive feedback on our hotel through Trip Advisor . It is only through this type of feedback that we are able to critically assess our performance and understand the required areas of improvement. We are very grateful that you chose Grand Hyatt for your stay in Beijing.

It is clear from your comments that we could improve in a number of areas and that we did not fully meet your expectations for which I sincerely apologize. Please feel rest assured that your feedback will be addressed and brought to the attention of the relevant Senior Executives and Managers in order to take corrective action particularly regarding your comments on the troubles you had with your room keys, and getting a taxi to the airport on your day of departure.

Thank you for your compliments as well on the many features of the hotel and despite these issues, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Beijing in the future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtoin DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel. Superb location within walking distance of the main attractions in central Beijing: Forbidden City; main square, Opera House. Staff very good, hotel spa and gym best in Beijing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are humbled by your praise and your comments and ratings go a long way to promote the hotel.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back!

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and majestic. The lobby is commodious, and furnished with profusion and elegance. There is an unique and fantastic swimming pool – virtual resort style. Though a little old, the room is clean, spacious, comfortable, and with good amenities. There is a large window and impressive view. From the window, I can see the Peking Union Medical College, an historical and the most selective and best medical university in China. It has a special meaning for me, because some of my teachers graduated from this school. Location of the hotel is very good, walking distance to Forbidden city and Wangfujing - the most famous shopping streets of Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing!

I was thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for such a complimentary review. It goes a long way in promoting the hotel on a global basis for which we are sincerely grateful.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#365 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.