We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #44 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here one night when we went home via Beijing. We wanted to make the best use of the time, and this hotel was the perfect choice.

It is about 5 minutes walk to Wangfujing. We ate Beijing Duck at Quanjude, walked around a little bit. Then we decided to walk to the forbidden city, and it took about 20 minutes. Isn't it very nice that everything is within the walking distance? The hotel is right at city center, but in a quiet street.

Our room is clean. The concierge service is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Owner at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor. Indeed our location is fantastic and a simple stroll away to many of the key attractions in the city.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    821
    190
    45
    12
See reviews for
299
198
102
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Grand Hyatt Hotel in Beijing has an excellent location - it is in a shopping mall, it is next to Tiananmen Square, close to forbidden city and right opposite MOFCOM. It is best for people travelling for business, if the meetings are in the main city. Even silk street is very close, just a 5-10 mins by taxi. The food is good and Cafe at the lobby has good options for snacks. Concierge was very helpful as well with all translation requirements for directions.

The room has been designed very well, with all the possible client requirements addressed. I felt the room was little smaller than other comparable hotels. Overall, a great hotel and a must repeat one too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. Overall it was a very complimentary and positive review which goes a long way in promoting the hotel, for which we are sincerely grateful.

Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Yeah, it's got a bit of the convention hotel feel, but we had a very nice room (paid up a small amount at check-in for a suite). Very convenient location; walk to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City as well as the subway, Wangfujing shopping street (and atop the Oriental Plaza shopping mall). Large, well appointed health club. The pool is unique: think Wisconsin Dells in the basement. But it's a nice place to kill an hour or so. As much as I liked the hotel, I wasn't a fan or the restaurants; tried both and was underwhelmed. Find someone to direct you to a local place (we liked Meizhou Dongpo, about six blocks away) for better food at better prices. Overall, as a hotel I'd give it a 5 out of 5

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, can I felt humbled by the fact you gave us "5 out of 5"....

Thank you for highlighting the many key feature and aspects of the hotel, it is a real shame you di not like our restuarant selection, particularly our "Made in China" restuarant which serves very authentic Northern Chinese cuisine, including the famous wood baked Peking Duck.

We do hope to be able to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

this is a really great hotel. fabulous location - great food - nice rooms - and from the executive floors a killer lounge (bkfst, happy hour... all gratis and excellent). the only downer was that the free internet is only for 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on trip Advisor.

I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed the hotel and our hospitality and I do wish to advise that the complimnetary interent is actually available to all guests everyday, however, we do have 3 day and 7 day logins as to avoid the need to re-login in every 24 hours.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was minutes away from Wangfujin and Tiananmen. There was a shopping mall attached to the hotel with a food court and several restaurants and fast food outlets. Shops are mostly high-end.

The staff from the hotel manager to the service staff were very efficient. There was a service staff on rotation from Holland who remembered that my colleagues love coffee and would come in and check if they want some when he comes on duty. Any issues that we had were handled instantly.

The room was typical of all Grand Hyatt standard. The chambermaids did a good job and the cleanliness were uniformed throughout the 1-week stay.

We had dinner at "Made in China" and the Peking Duck was absolutely delicious, and the service was good. We also had lunch at "Noble Court" and, although the food was also good, the service was very slow and we had to keep chasing for our food to be served.

Overall a nice hotel which I would go back again if I am in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thankyou so much for all your positive comments and compliments of Grand Hyatt Beijing and for highlighting the great location and many of the convenient facilities near the hotel.

I was thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality so much and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Our first experience of China was such a positive one while staying at the Grand Hyatt. We arose at 5am and strolled down the street to Tian'anmen Square to watch the flag raising ceremony at dawn. returning to a generous breakfast. A wonderful beginning for an adventure in Beijing. One key features of this hotel are the wonderful staff who were happy to coach us as we learned a little Chinese.
Excellent food inside the hotel in the various restaurants, brilliant location for all of the big sights and attractions. Most walking distance or a short cab ride. Just ask for help. The staff here are superb.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your review, and I was so thrilled to read that you felt it was our staff who made the difference to your stay with us, a true sign of authentic hospitality.

Your review goes a long way in promoting our hotel globally for which we are most grateful and we look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

All in all a good hotel, location and top quality service. Excellent buffet breakfast on second floor. Enjoy! Close to Forbidden and other top attractions. The Made In China restaurant does good quality food with top notch service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing and thank you for your review.

I was very happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments go a long way in promoting the hotel for which we are sincerely grateful.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#20 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#50 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#146 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#23 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#234 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.