We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fit for over-night stay only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Airport Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Huayi Bridge, Beijing Capital International Airport, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100621, China (Beijing Capital International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,622 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
india
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fit for over-night stay only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We were to return from LA to India via China. After aday's halt at Beijing , our flight was to Shanghai & hence we wanted to be close to the Airport. In sub 100 usd very limited choices near the Airport , so we homed on this Hotel. It is about 3-4 Kms away from the Airport & not 05 mins , as claimed by the Hotel.Keep almost 20-30 mins for the transfer.

We arrived in Beijing at about 0545 hours & hence it was pretty cold, the room too also was cold & the airconditioner took its own time to heat up the room. The Hotel promised a pick up but nothing was available. I suppose it was too early for them. he good thing was that they permitted early check in without any extra payment. I am told they charge extra definitely for late check out.

It is a big hotel with nearly 400 odd rooms but it is not 3star as claimed by them. Very basic sort of room & comparable bathroom.

On checking in they demanded one full days' charges, which was a trifle irksome & also amounted to getting a few dollars converted to Yuans at very unreasonable rates.
The view from the room was not worth opening the curtains.
The biggest problem was language. Only one at the reception could understand & speak & that too with lot of difficulty. But they tried to be helpfull as best as they could.
Good part is proximity to the Airport, permitting early check in, & free transfer to the Airport.

  • Liked — early check in & free transfer
  • Disliked — language problem
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
2
7
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Paid 550 RMB for 1 night & rated as 3 stars? Hogwash! Room stinks of smoke. Overhead shower with bath tub clogging while I was showering. No hairdryer. Dirty carpet. Hotel restaurant waitresses couldn't speak English so I had to point @ the menu picture to order, point at the fridge to get a Sprite, asked for ice but was given a straw, asked for spoon but was given a fork.........Look! It's not funny when you're tired, had a terrible 5 hours @ the airport dealing with non English speaking staff due to a missed flight, hungry, having a headache, jet lagged, upset for missing your flight & $1000 more out of pocket to have a next day re-route to Sydney......

Stay away!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Air China sent us to stay here one night when flight cancelled. Free shuttle bus convenient. Ten minutes from airport but long way ( 30 minutes by taxi) from central Beijing. Don't be missled by some hotel descriptions. This is a bleak scruffy place. Filthy corridor carpets. Large but bare reception area. The room itself was clean and comfortable so served its purpose as a convenient place to sleep before returning to airport. TV only had Chinese channels. The meal service was poor. Most guests sat ignored for ages before being served lukewarm food in a partitioned plastic tray. Almost inedible. No choice offered but I suppose it was because we were getting the budget option arranged by Air China.
The sports centre facility is actually in a completely separate building about 300 metres from the hotel. There is a large pool (occupied by training swimmers while we were there) fitness equipment and table tennis tables to hire. Got a phone call at 9pm offering a massage. Not sure from whom.
Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here by choice. The evening restaurant service was dreadful. The hotel has a depressing atmosphere, occupied by people who don't really want to be there. Only good points are convenience for airport and shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed here for a night on transit before catching a morning flight the next day. Great hotel for it's location - only 3 minutes away from T2 and about 10 minutes from T3 using the free hotel shuttle. I booked the hotel online and was pleasantly surprised to see someone from the hotel outside holding up my name on a board to provide the free shuttle service. I read reviews that you had to go to the airport info counter to call the hotel but apparently, this was not the case.
The hotel is a little old but if you're only going to spend the night only to catch some sleep, it's not a problem. The staff were friendly enough and spoke adequate English to get things sorted.
The room was much like the rest of the hotel - tired and old, although I have to give credit to the staff for the upkeep. Air-conditioning was cold and I was puzzled to see a plug-in mosquito repellent on the desk, until a friendly mosquito flying about. Not much of an issue as I hear that mosquitos are common this time of year in Beijing.
All in all, it meets its role as an airport hotel and is good enough for a short layover .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

The hotel did not pick us up at the airport as promised and scheduled, so we took a taxi which cost 20 RMB. We then asked the hotel to order a taxi for us to go into Beijing City, and the driver was obviously just a friend of theirs who didn't have a taxi license and charged us 200RMB to go to the city and back, far more than it should have been.

Other than the insulting service, the hotel room itself was fairly clean although clearly already falling apart. The shower worked, though.

Also, it was very obvious that there were prostitutes waiting for their clients in the hallways.

As a westerner, I would give this place a 7 out of 10 for the creepy factor, a 7 out of 10 for cleanliness, and a 5 out of 10 for the breakfast. You'll book for two people and only get one free breakfast. The other one you must pay for upon entering (88 RMB).

All in all, I wouldn't say here again unless I couldn't find a vacancy in a dorm.

  • Liked — The hotel stood up the entire time we were there.
  • Disliked — The prostitues in the hallways. They looked embarrased to be there.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

I had to stay here at the last minute because of a flight issue. I found out about this hotel from the hotel information desk in the Beijing Airport. They stated it was a 3 star.

I choose a triple room which was only about $60 U.S. dollars a night (quite cheap). The hotel had a free shuttle that picked me up at the airport. The lobby area is very big and seemed clean. The guy who checked me in was very nice and spoke and understood English very well. There is a small deposit required at check in. The room was OK and seemed cleaned. The bathroom was OK as well, could have been a tad cleaner. I ate at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Waitresses didn't speak much English, the food was OK. There is internet access in the lobby for a small fee per hour. There is also a gift shop, coffee house and small convenience store located in the lobby area. Overall the hotel was OK for the price and distance to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

Rooms are large, but never have I seen so dirty rooms and carpets. The hotel claimed over telephone to be 4* but turned out to be only 3* at arrival. The personel are really bad at english, and will do their best to trick you. We were told that a trip to the railway station would take very long time, and they demanded 300RMB for it. In reallity it took 30 min. and hence we had to wait at the station for 2 hours for no reason. Also it turned out that the trip in taxi cost less than 1/3.

Hence don't stay there if you don't really have to!!!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Garden Hotel

Address: Near Huayi Bridge, Beijing Capital International Airport, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100621, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Capital International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,622 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Airport Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Garden Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.