We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Towers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landmark Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Landmark Towers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   No.8 Dongsanhuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Yansha)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
norwich england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We were here on a tour of china with mercury direct
The room stank of smoke did not realise that smoking was allowed in rooms so ask for the non smoking floors
Breakfast was very good
Bed was like sleeping on a park bench
Cleanliness let it down as well
Reception staff were very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    163
    108
    23
    8
See reviews for
16
21
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 24th to 29th November 2013. It is conveniently located and the rooms were good. The staff too was cordial and hospitable. The breakfast buffet was very good with lot of varieties. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was quite a nice hotel and the room that we had was nice and comfortable, it was located on the 7th floor. The food was satisfactory, plenty of variation and well presented. The downside was that there was no bar area to sit and have a few drinks at the end of the day having been sight-seeing during the daytime. Also the Chinese staying at the hotel turn a blind eye to any to any smoking rules that are generally in force.

Room Tip: Suggest higher floor mainly to take advantage of the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The Landmark Towers doesn't make a good first impression, but stick with it and you'll find hidden gems everywhere.

The first room (Supreme class) offered to us was dreadful; small, smoky, dirty bathroom. After a lengthy negotiation with the front desk we were upgraded to a larger, clean room (Deluxe) with a King bed on a non-smoking floor. A good nights sleep (very quiet room and turns out, very comfortable) and a delicious breakfast later, we were feeling better about the Landmark Towers.

Wifi is available although spotty in the rooms; head for the dining area for fast, uninterrupted connections.

The staff was gracious and helpful during our stay; housekeeping was extremely attentive and quick to respond. The breakfast buffet is bountiful and if it's not covered in your room price, it's worth the extra cost.

In addition to the Evergreen Dining Room, there are several other options a few steps away. The Jackpot Cafe is an excellent choice for a quick, tasty, inexpensive lunch and they're open 24 hours. There is a small Starbucks in the business tower behind the hotel and the adjacent Sheraton has a top-of-the-tower,fine-dining restaurant featuring excellent Chinese dishes that we enjoyed on our final night. Gorgeous views of the skyline!

The location is convenient with a Metro station a 10-minute walk away and the very trendy shopping/eating area of Sanlitun is a brisk 20-minute walk down Embassy Row (enjoy strolling by the young, stern, at-attention soldiers guarding each gate but remember, no pictures)

Our five-night stay was enjoyable and I'm glad we gave the Landmark a deeper look. Make sure to walk through the lobby and enjoy the art gallery upstairs, the lovely sitting area and have a relaxing "tea set" while a player piano serenades from the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff.
Bed was comfortable, a/c was noisy but adequate. The bathroom was good, but the hairdrier very underpowered. Our 13th floor bedroom was overlooking the main road, but was well sound insulated; bedrooms on lower floors were much noisier.
We had three breakfasts and one dinner, all good.
The automatic cash money changing machine in the lobby charged a high commission - avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was in Beijing to attend a trade show at the Int'l Exhibition Centre. This hotel was quite convenient and very reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The Hard Rock Cafe used to be attached to the hotel, sadly it has gone since my last visit which is a great shame. There are very few 'western' restaurants nearby.

I chose a non-smoking floor (they have 5 or 6 non smoking floors). It was therefore very disappointing to smell smoke coming into my room every night. I did eventually complain and in fairness they sent someone up to the floor to check but they were unable to establish which room(s) were abusing the restriction. They simply sprayed a fresh air spray in the corridor. They called my room and apologised but I think they need to take a much stronger position on this. It would have been absolutely evident to the housekeeping staff who was smoking in their room. In most countries, they would impose a 'cleaning' fine. This was a big let down !!!

I have seen other people comment on the decor, yes it is a little tired and would benefit from some of the rooms being modernised/redecorated but it is good value.

Just crack down on the smokers please.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It all depends on your expectations.

For a local Chinese hotel it is pretty good, especially compared to some other experiences I've had, but it can't match the higher end hotel chains.

In general the staff is very friendly and helpful. This does make a difference.

After a very bad start with two dreadful rooms, the hotel management was kind of enough to provide a much better room. It was clean, spacious, quiet and non-smoking.

That brings me to one of the bad points of this hotel. It is a smoking hotel and there are only 6 floors non-smoking.

The room had a TV with several English channels, including HBO and National Geographic. There was a safe but so small that there is no way for a laptop or tablet to fit in. There is no Wi-Fi, but a fixed ethernet connection only. There is also a 60 RMB daily charge for this. What is unacceptable these days is that only one device is supported. Not very BYOD friendly.

To make things worse, there is no suitable desk chair. There is no way you can sit at the desk for more than a few minutes.

The number of power outlets is also restricted. I spotted 4 only. Two were in an inconvenient place. That isn't too much, given most people have multiple devices with them.

There is a water boiler, but no (powder) coffee. Only tea and not even a spoon.

I think these rooms are well maintained, but old. They were designed in a different era and have not kept up with modern times.

The bathroom was nice though, although the hair dryer was really old too. Strange this has not been replaced by a better working and more modern device.

The breakfast buffet is extensive and although it was really crowded, the staff did a great job to stock up. I never found a dish to be empty. There are also eggs cooked to order and there is even a Swiss made coffee machine to make your own Western style coffee including a cappuccino. When you sign up for the breakfast at check in, the cost is 120 RMB. I thought this was worth the money.

There is a Starbucks in a nearby and connect office tower building. It is just a few minutes walking from the main lobby. The staff there wasn't very friendly, but you can at least get your favorite coffee.

Room Tip: The non-smoking floors are 6,7,9,10,14 and 15, but on the 6-th floor you could smell the smoke from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lu Y, Manager at Landmark Towers Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear TravelOften4B,
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear that we failed to live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with respective departments. The feedback are most valuable to us and of great encouragement to improve our services. We hope this will not deter you from returning to stay with us in future and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Beijing Landmark Towers Hotel.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Towers Hotel

Address: No.8 Dongsanhuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Landmark Towers comprises an international standard hotel, fully equipped serviced apartments, two top grade office towers, large-scale conference/convention centre, boutique retail outlets, fine restaurants, fantastic entertainment facilities and other amenities for leisure and entertainment. Ideally located in the mature and heart of Lufthansa business circle, Beijing Landmark Towers is conveniently situated adjacent to the 2nd and 3rd Embassy Districts, Airport Expressway and the Subway Line 10 Liangmaqiao Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Landmark Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.