We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down hotel with poor service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #89 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chongqing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Run down hotel with poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for May Chinese holiday. Had to change rooms because AC did not work.

The rooms are run down.

If you call a taxi you can not get one unless pay the hotel a large fee. I suggest looking elsewhere.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    498
    182
    59
    23
See reviews for
219
278
83
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked this just before i got in to beijing flight because PARK PLAZA CANCELLED my booking for unknown reason ,anyway i am glad they did because CROWN PLAZA WANGFUJING has best location,great breakfast very attentive staff specifically food and beverages manager was great,hotel had very nice calm setting and it had live piano everynight it was very relaxing to sit after long day sightseeing.
Location can not be better, we were end of wanfujing street shopping street, they famous night market was 5 minute walk (if you would like to see scorpions on the stick ),opposite food street there was s Small street had best bejing duck (hard to miss is it has giant plastic duck front of the building)
tianmen square was 15-20 minute walk,actually hotels i thought was close in the map were not (like grand hotel beijing or park plaza ),so crown plaza wa the best choice for food,for getting taxi even getting tour guide when you live the hotel you will be approch by guides we took one 600 rmd whole day to go to china wall and hutong also i took taxi for half day or 300 another day fro concierge .

reason for 4 star is ,rooms need updating it was ols and airconditiong was not working great it was bit loud ,apart of these issues i would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: we took room looking at city second floor it was loud in th 5 am every morning hotel was moving they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is lovely, in a great tourist area, swanky shops next to more traditional markets. My room was great, the firm pillows I requested were top notch, but unfortunately the air con was just not up to scratch. It was very warm for late April, but the room was already too warm. I'd be happy to return out of season as the hotel staff were lovely

Room Tip: Go higher for rooms, but I was high so not sure if lower was noisy, it is busy with traffic though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The neighborhood around the hotel had a lot of nice shops and malls. The breakfast buffet spread was good. WiFi was fast. The room was fairly clean.
The lobby lounge served good coffee (perfect for the cold weather) with a biscuit :) Nice views from the elevators.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in Beijing. Pretty much close to everything you could possible want to see and do with exception of the Great Wall. I was a bit pissed that I was put into a smoking room when I requested a non smoking room. The smell made my hangovers worse and there was no TV remote. All Jokes aside, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a very good level as all the Crown Plaza , spacious and well equipped rooms.The breakfast is excellent the Wi Fi is very good.The personnel proactive and helpful also in solving problems s of transportation or leisure activities and or business meeting needs.
The hotel is at 15 min walk from Tien an Men and one block from the catholic cathedral

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MA, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There's much to love about this hotel: the breakfast buffet is outrageously good, and filled with a variety of local and international favorites. The health club and pool are terrific. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, the wifi in the hotel is abysmal. As a business traveller I was unable to even check my email for 3 straight days. Sometimes there was a signal, but mostly there was not, and it wasn't even a secure line. There was a tethered line in my room, but no adapter provided for someone with a powerbook. When I spoke about this with the desk manager she admitted that the staff had been made aware of this issue, but that corporate higher ups weren't making this necessary change a priority. Also, I specifically asked for a non-smoking room and mine reeked of cigarette smoke. I made the mistake of having lunch at the hotel buffet one day and was shocked that this sub-par meal cost $40, but it was my mistake for not asking first.

It's in a good location and certainly fine if you are spending your work day away from the hotel (or are traveling for pleasure and don't need internet access). One other positive is that it is around the corner from a KTV Karoake center, which is a must do if you are in Beijing on business.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel breakfast buffet, health club, friendly staff and good location. Regarding your comments re our internet service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Beijing
#54 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#68 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#74 Business Hotel in Beijing
#208 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.