We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Lounge and rooms are the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #85 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Club Lounge and rooms are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stay at Crowne Plaza because they are the best in the PriorityClub brand, but among that top tier this hotel stands out! I have never stayed in any hotel (and I travel a lot) that has such an excellent Club Lounge and superb staff! Breakfast and Happy Hour at this venue are unsurpassed and the rooms at this hotel are wonderful. The entire property is spectacular, with a panoramic view of the beautiful lobby (and live piano as background music in this expansive courtyard). I stay here any time I am in Beijing, and this is often.

- Jim Malnati

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our Club Lounge service and lobby.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    429
    164
    52
    19
See reviews for
198
248
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Firstly, you should know that Beijing hotels are very affordable becuase there are hotels aplenty, so the USD100 that we paid for the Crowne Plaza would have been considered slightly pricey. Having said that, the Crowne Plaza is a well known and trusted brand of hotel, so you will never go far wrong. The rooms were large and spacious, and the bathroom was a very nice luxury, with the freestanding tub and large expanse of space. Having the luggage racks in the bathroom, as well as a seperate wardrobe, was a nice touch, especially as it was getting colder when we were there.

Location wise, it was certainly perfect for wandering around central Beijing, being walkable to Tiananmen and the Forbidden City, as well as with good access to the Beijing subway. Staff were helpful and friendly, although the level of English was surprisingly limited for a hotel like the Crowne Plaza.

I was surprised to find that as a Gold IHG member I was still not entitled to free wifi in the room, which is quite a departure from the Crowne Plaza practice at other hotels around the world, so it was a bit of a pain to have to head to the lobby to get connected. Otherwise, no complaints about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our room facilities and location. Regarding your comment to our staff English level, we will continue to provide training, as we always do to the staff to keep improving the English communication ability. And according to IHG Rewards Club policy, our hotel should provide free WIFI to Gold Elite Member, regarding your experience, we would very much appreciate if you could e-mail us your original reservation details and name to info@crowneplazabj.com and contact Marcom Dept. so that we can investigate more and ensure to make the right improvements on our part.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Special commendation to Ms Candy He for her warm and professional hospitality provided. She took the initiative to approach me with warm smile and enthusiasm if I needed help when I was looking at the exchange rates screen and checked me out efficiently.

In summary, Excellent front desk service, comfortable stay and great location! Will look forward to stay here again in my next trip!

Room Tip: Internet is chargeable except at lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our service and great location.
Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in centre of Beijing. Great location in Wangfujing. Close to shops and, walking distance to Tianamen square and Forbidden city.taxis very close Very helpful staff and good gluten free food in restaurant. Rooms very quiet and very clean

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, staff, food and room. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip, the location is very good, just 3 minutes walk to the shopping area of wangfujing. The room was great, everything was inside the room include the electric terminal that i've never seen before in other hotels. The staffs speak english well.
I bought the hotel's voucher from an agent and that was not included for breakfast and wifi, so it was kinda pity that i couldnt get the wifi connection from the room. There is free wifi connection in the lobby only. The price is kinda high. For staying again in that hotel, off course i would love to, but if only when i got promo price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, room and staff. Next time for staying at our hotel, if you book your room in more then 2 day advance and stay for more then two nights, you will get advance booking rate with 20% discount. If you book your room in more then 5 days advance and make advance payment for it, you will get 25% discount, but the room you booked could not be cancelled and changed.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Large and clean hotel with good sized standard rooms.

I don't have any remarks concerning the cleanliness or service. They should provide free wifi or at least cabled internet in the rooms. They overprice this ridiculously!!! Breakfast is worth it if you want to eat a lot and have enough for the day. Otherwise cheaper alternatives are available from the malls on the shopping street. Accessible by metro on line 1 Wangfujing staff is helpful and courteous.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, breakfast and staff service. For internet charges, our hotel should pay for the internet service, so we need to charge some internet fees to guests, and hope you can understand the policy. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My family and I had 3 twin rooms for four nights and were extremely happy with our stay.

It is our second stay at this hotel whilst in Beijing as tourists.

English is a little challenging but we managed to communicate relatively well with reception.

Buffet breakfast was very good and they offer a good selection for both Western and Asian guests.

Beds are firm but good, and housekeeping staff were excellent and friendly regardless of language barrier.

Rooms were a little tired (eg some lights not working) and on the small side (shower over bath) but were very nice considering the affordable night rate.

The in-house ground floor restaurant was EXCELLENT. We ate there very night and all food was sensational. They even catered for children with crayons for the table paper.

Pool not too good but I am extremely fussy with pools !

I liked this hotel very much.not the fanciest I've stayed in but the location is brilliant to wander down to the night markets, see the Catholic Church where people congregate at night and do group dancing etc and the retail shops stay open until 11pm every night.

What a city - excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our food, service , facilities and hotel location.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Beijing
#58 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#64 Business Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#233 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.