We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #83 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 Reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Canadian Traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My first trip to Beijing was enhanced by this very elegant hotel, with fine service. Staff members were so lovely, polite and welcoming. My room was exceptional in size, comfort and cleanliness. After a long day of touring about this exotic city, I was always happy to return to the comfort of my pleasant room. The hotel was within walking distance of The Forbidden City and the gorgeous park surrounding the Temple of Heaven. The back streets in the area were full of merchants, street vendors and fascinating shops. The main streets had high-end shopping for anyone interested. Good restaurants and street food everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    464
    173
    52
    22
See reviews for
206
263
77
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip. We were impressed by the lobby decor. The room was very nice as well. The King bed was comfortable and my daughter loved her cot. The location was fantastic for shopping. The breakfast spread was huge. I loved the made-to-order wonton soup station and the congee station. I didn't enjoy the vermicelli nor the fried rice, however. Unfortunately, they also ran out of the wontons on the 3rd day that I went in for breakfast. If you are looking for a western style breakfast, you will not be disappointed. I was not too thrilled to learn that as a priority club member, I could not get points because the room was booked through our travel agent. That had never happened to us before. They also charged for wifi which was another disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. At the time, regarding your comments to the breakfast, WIFI service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services. once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I really enjoyed splashing out on a night here. The basic cost was Y78 for B and B with a 15% service charge. Staff were very helpful. The room was king-sized, clean, working and with everything you could want, the atrium was spectacular - a great place for a G and T at night listening to the pianist. It was handy for shops and Tianamen Square and at night you can go to a nearby street market and eat almost anything and watch the locals do communal dancing. The breakfast was really super. The wireless access rate is expensive, but to be fair, you are warned.

Room Tip: If you want smoking, you need the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here from 26/3/13-30/3/13 through a Cathay Holidays fly and stay package. The room was ok, with strange sounds coming from the bathroom sink every so often, suggesting plumbing issues. The bed was comfortable enough, and we had a room with a view of the atrium. They charge for internet, but it's free in the lobby. There's not much seating in the lobby though. Concierge service was a bit hit and miss. We had a couple of excellent concierges, who was able to provide us with relevant and in depth information we asked for, but other staff didn't seem to be as thorough with their knowledge about tourist wants and needs. Wangfujing was a short walk away, but you have to walk through the whole strip and a bit more to get to Tiananmen Square. The closest subway station was a good 5-10 minutes' walk away, and finding food was more challenging than we anticipated (due to advice not to eat at the night market). Full buffet breakfast was included, and they had a good variety of food. Getting an omelette seemed more difficult than necessary though, with a bit of a wait despite having all the ingredients right there. The hotel was able to arrange a car + driver for us at short notice to see Mutianyu great wall and Ming Tombs for (850yuan for the day), but communication with the driver would be a challenge if you didn't speak Mandarin. Overall a good experience, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Regarding your comments to our plumbing issue, and some of concierge staff service, we have taken up the matter with our hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 1 night here as we needed a hotel at the last minute. It has all the basics and although there's nothing really wrong with it I feel there are much nicer places to stay. The area is not very interesting and they charge for Internet. Definitely more of a business hotel than a nice resting place for travellers.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Regarding your comments re internet charges, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights after a 38 day cruise from Auckland to Tianjin, China. The purpose of our stay was to visit the sites in and around Beijing. We booked the hotel (room and breakfast) eight months prior on the Crown Plaza website after researching hotels on Tripadvisor. The hotel beat our expectations and was ideally located for our touring. The hotel is nicely decorated, the lobby is very nice, the staff is helpful and courteous and the location is great. We were near shops, up-scale stores, grocery stores, etc.

The room was spacious with a comfortable bed (a selection of pillows), a large glass desk, an easy chair with foot stool for relaxing and reading, digital TV (English, French and Chinese), the bathroom was nice with good amenities and the robes and slippers were a nice touch. The room had a safe and a small refrigerator. We had an outside view room on the second floor and the room was very quiet. The lighting in the room was OK but not good for reading.

The breakfast offering was excellent with items for the American, European, and Asian pallet. The evening meals did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: When booking include the breakfast. To avoid the $20/day internet fee, just visit the Apple Store o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. At the same time, we regret to learn that you had a less than a satisfactory experience for our evening meals. We have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 3 1/2 week trip to China. It was an excellent way to finish our trip. We booked a club room and were very pleased with our choice. It was very large, very clean, and very comfortable. The cost difference per night was very reasonable, and receiving free internet (and access to the club lounge computer also), along with substantial evening snacks and drinks from 5:30 - 7:30 and some other amenities made it worth the price.

As Priority Club members, we were also given tickets for a free drink in the downstairs lounge area. It was very pleasant sitting there, listening to the nightly piano player and recapping the day's highlights. I would suggest to others that they join Priority Club if they decide to stay here, even if they aren't frequent travellers.

The concierge desk was helpful, and booked us a private car with an English-speaking driver to take us to Mutianyu. We wanted a trip that gave us a lot of time to explore the Great Wall and we did not want to go souvenir shopping, so this was a perfect choice for us. Our driver was professional, knowledgeable, and had a great sense of humor. To cap it off, he even brought ping-pong paddles with him and challenged my husband to a ping-pong match at the Great Wall. We made sure to thank the concierge upon our return.

As others have said, the breakfast buffet is often crowded. The hotel was filled with several tour groups, and that did have an impact on the service, tables and food availability. I did find that several of the food items were not replenished, even if we waited for over 15 minutes. The wait staff was somewhat inattentive, and we had to flag them down to get coffee or creamer. Also, the area set up for cooked-to-order eggs is very small and staffed by a single person. That resulted in extended waits for omelettes or other requests. It also didn't help to have already-prepared waffles set up in this same space. It caused congestion when people tried just to obtain a waffle but had to reach through a line of people waiting for eggs to be made. We were happy to find that the restaurant opened at 6:00 AM, and that was a big plus for our last day as we were leaving for the airport at 6:40 AM. We were able to have a relaxed breakfast before heading home.

The location of the hotel is ideal for visitors looking to stay in the heart of the traditional tourist areas of Beijing. It is a bustling area, with lots of shops, restaurants, street vendors, and such, no matter what time of day. It is easily walkable to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, several parks, and the subway.

In all, this hotel was a very good choice. I would have rated it excellent except for the glitches with the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our Concierge staffs were helpful during your stay. At the same time, regarding your comments to our breakfast service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#53 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#63 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#72 Business Hotel in Beijing
#174 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.