We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #80 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Though we stayed here for just one night, the joy of staying at a top notch hotel right at the city centre was an experience by itself. First, the property is very well located right in the heart of the main shopping district. The nearest subway was hardly a 5-10 minute walk. There were also abundant quality restaurants and groceries nearby. Secondly, the hotel itself was a prime property: impressive lobby, spacious rooms, decent health club, superior service standards... all ingredients of a class property. Check-in was fast. Their travel desk was a bit disappointing though as the lady there could not connect me to my airline as I urgently needed to confirm one of my flights. The alternative: go to the business centre and pay through your nose. The tour options suggested by her were plenty but expensive. Though the hotel was helpful enough to guide me to nearby places.

Our room was located on the ninth floor with a nice view of the city. The health club, located on the same floor, had a small indoor swimming pool and a decent gym. The breakfast spread was good but due to lack of space since the hotel was full, people were allowed to sit in the lounge area of the lobby and bring in their food which was nice. The staff was very helpful and gave fairly accurate estimates on travel costs and distances. We never felt the language was a barrier in this hotel. In all, a great experience. But more for the location, we would strongly recommend this.

Room Tip: Higher floors could get you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to the location / facility and service standard. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    463
    172
    52
    21
See reviews for
204
263
77
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza as part of a tour package with a group of friends. Location was great. Close to Snack Street and shopping. The staff were helpful in directions and getting around Beijing as we didn't speak Chinese. Rooms were spacious and the buffet breakfast each day was delicious with a wide variety of choices. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear guest, Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay .Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

spent there two nights this october. the hotel is very nice and clean. the beds are comfortable.
room ares good. situated on a centrall wangfujing street but not much to do on this street. night market isnot good. and if you come for shopping markets are far.(not so comfortable to go with bags by subway)
two subway stations about 15 minutes walk from hotel.
polite staff, speak englih ok, the hotel has a nice restaurant with good pekin duck.

- had a little problem with our reservation upon our arrival, they wanted more money then the voucher said but eventually it ws taken care of.

- the "free wi fi" will not get you to facebook youtube gmail etc. those sites are charged 3 rnb per minute. so it's not really worth anything.

Room Tip: lower floors has access to the wifi from the lobby but no windows to face outside. we prefferd to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for using Trip advisor and share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We certainly take all of your comments very seriously indeed. Please rest assured that your experiences have been briefed to the team and management for their corrective actions. Our team is dedicated to correcting any shortcomings and will work towards future improvements. Again we will pay serious attention on those basic service details and really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We just spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel Sept 2011, The room was large and very nicely appointed with pocket doors and a platform asian type bed. The staff spoke English very well and the service was great. My wife has Celiac disease and we were very concerned of the availability of gluten free food. We spoke with the food and beverage director Jan and he was very interested in our gluten free requirements... First he suggested some menu items that were gluten free and assured that they would be cooked separately to avoid any possible cross contamination. He asked how many days we would be staying and instructed his staff to have fresh gluten free bread made for my wife each day. He also informed all the other managers on the various shifts of our special needs and we didnt even need to inform them when we showed up at the restaurants. They had it covered. One night we came back late and I decided to order some room service.. My wife wasnt hungry so I ordered a burger platter and a side of french onion soup. When the food arrived they informed me that they made a fresh batch of gluten free french onion soup for my wife, without us even asking. She was suddenly hungry and enjoyed it. I must note that we my is very sensitive to gluten and she had no problems whatsoever at this hotel.

Room Tip: Club level was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our Director of F&B Mr. Jan-Willem was helpful during your stay .Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days, and was mostly happy with the experience. You can't get a better location - this is just a few mins drive from the Forbidden City, and next to the popular pedestrian shopping street Wanfujing. My room price included the breakfast, which was fantastic. The rooms very clean and comfortable, and the staff very professional, helpful and English-speaking.

But there were some issues:
- Organized prostitution. Upon arrival at the hotel, I wanted to have a jetlag-massage...the spa promised to send me a masseuse to my room. I was pretty surprised when the lady turned out to be a prostitute. I was almost certain of this already when I saw her - she was wearing a mini-skirt and high heels, and, indeed, after a few minutes of rubbing she went right into the business. I sent her back, refused to pay anything, and was sent a real massause after a few minutes. The Spa apologized the "confusion". Prostitution is a crime in China and not something an international 4-star hotel should be involved with.
- A/C. This hotel has big issues with the A/C. It is ice cold and there is no way to turn it warm enough. Fortunately I did not need any the A/C in mid-September. Many guests have complained about the A/C in previous reviews so the hotel should really do something about this.
- Internet price. I had to use internet for business and in the end of my stay paid $200 USD for it (i.e. $20/day). Just ridiculous!

Despite this few issues, I am willing to consider staying there again...if the A/C would just work...!

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is most definitely not worth the money. I will not return, Firstly we were not greeted by reception when we arrived. Secondly, room not cleaned to european 5 star standard. Thirdly food/drink prices in hotel are ridiculously high. Fourtly very rude and unfriendly nordic resteraunt manager who appeared to spend his time eating and not servicing guests. Much nicer hotel across the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. And here we want to extend our sincerely apologies. We have taken up your comments with our operations team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps have been taken to avoid any recurrence.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of Crown Plaza Brand and you can afford us an opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clontarf
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks recently at the Crowne Plaza due to its proximity to Wangfujing Street. On positive side the breakfast was lovely, concierge were quite helpful, room was pleasant and gym was a bonus. Unfortunately the negatives far outweight the positives- where do i start! on arrival we received no welcome from a very abrupt front of staff office male member. Welcome package states breakfast ends at 11am, we went down on first morning at 10.35 to be told breakfast was over and we could not be facilitated, this is disgraceful treatment. On the 2nd day we arrived for breakfast at 10.20 and were told that we only have 10 mins to eat our breakfast- again this is unacceptable treatment. One day we arrived back tired from day trip to great wall looking forward to sleep in clean room at 1.15pm to find that the room had not been cleaned, we reported this to front desk- duty manager who informed us that we had a do not disturb light on door, this was incorrect as our light never worked from day 1. The blonde european resteraunt manager was extremely unfriendly and never once greeted us or asked could he assist. On checkout we were never asked after 2 wk stay if we had a nice time, nor did we receive a receipt - very bad customer care. Overall nice comfortable room and convenient location but management should pay alot more attention to customer care.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here. This is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. I am pleased our concierge was helpful to you and you did find your room, breakfast and the gym to your liking.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Beijing
#54 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#66 Business Hotel in Beijing
#171 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.