We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located-helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prime Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Prime Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well located-helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is well situated at the end of Wanfujing Dajia.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed.
However, it was the staff who made our stay most comfortable.
They were helpful and discrete; several of the more confident English speaking staff members at the front desk helped us with a transport problem. They went out of their way to help sort out a problem which could only be solved by Mandarin speakers.
But the staff generally were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    209
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
26
64
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spacious room, views not pleasant given the smog in Beiijing.
Bed was comfy for China standards, usually very very hard.
Had some laundry done and it was washed and hung in my room so quickly, the even hung my underwear on hangers.
Breakfast was the usual Asian western mix

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have traveled to Beijing several times with my family to visit family, and we previously have stayed at the Prime Hotel due to the location. It's within walking distance to the Wangfujing shopping area with easy access to the public transportation system.

The Western-style hotel is nice. There are greeters and bell-hops at the door to take your luggage. When walking in you immediately notice the smell of cigarette smoke. Thank goodness our room did not smell of smoke. The lobby has several gift shops, a restaurant, and a cafe.

The room itself had many nice amenities including a refrigerator stocked with drinks, snacks, robe/slippers, a desk and computer (that costs money to use), wifi access inside the room. The restroom had lots of amenities as well including tooth brush/toothpaste, comb, nail file. There are several bottles of free water replenished daily, but make sure to see the "compilmentary" tag before drinking, as some of the water (evian) costs money.

Compared with the rock-hard beds found in most hotels in China, these beds are relatively soft. Air conditioning works great. The only downside to this room was the drainage wasn't very good in the shower, but the separate bath tub works well. Rooms are cleaned daily and amenities replaced daily. The wifi works very well in the room.

This time we did not eat in the hotel, but in the past we have had both the breakfast buffet and chinese food. I will say the food in the hotel is very expensive compared to what you will find elsewhere.

There is a business center with a computer. It's very expensive to use the internet for just a few minutes and also very expensive to print/make copies. I would recommend using your own device.

When we returned to Beijing at the end of the trip, we stayed in a hostel (but more like a hotel) not 1 block away from the Prime hotel. The value was much better and comforts almost the same. We probably will not stay at the Prime Hotel again due to there being better values nearby. Most people who stay at this hotel are foreign visitors or businessmen.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you don't want a heavy smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We are very happy here at the Prime Hotel. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are spacious. Great lobby bar! The rooms were ready as promised. And we are up and running for our china vacation. The only problem was logging into wifi but the manager gave me his own special code. Yeah!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Sort of hesitant at first to come to Beijing but I love it here! I am talking about the city and about this hotel! The front desk girl are courteous and always smile. They try to help you with all your queries. The captain of the reception also very good. Even better manner comparatively to Hong Kong.

The room is spacious and clean if you turn on all the lights the room will be bright enough.

They gave two free water bottles by the sink. Beware of the evians cause you'll need to pay for those. Our room cost about 500 rmb per night. We walk out for hawker food at night since I think hawker food is more fun.

Bought cherries at the fruit store close to the hotel. They charge me 100 rmb for about 100 gram of cherries.I felt cheated. ( ok avoid fruit stores on the street especially if it is so obvious you're foreigners).

So far, very good experience with the city and the hotel. Two thumbs up!



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife attended a conference at the Beijing University of Chemical Technology, so the room was paid for by the University - have no idea what it cost. But the accommodations were very nice - I would say nice western standards. The beds were very comfortable (somehow we ended up with two Queen size) and the room was very spacious. Air conditioning, minibar, HD TV, nice desk, we had an external view to a fairly busy intersection, within walking distance to the main western style touristy Wanfujing shopping area (Apple Store, Cartier, etc) and maybe a little longer walk to the Forbidden City & Tian'anmen Square. Hotel has at least 3 restaurants - the ground floor "cafe" with a huge buffet breakfast (ours was included) and buffet dinner, as well as a'la'carte items including western choices, and upstairs a very nice Cantonese/Hunan restaurant and a "French" restaurant. The desk speaks English very well, and so do the staff managers - cleaning ladies not so much. There is also a very large and nice indoor swimming pool on the 3rd floor, next to a very large workout space. We had a very comfortable 5 nights there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found the Prime Hotel to be brilliant. The rooms were very comfortable even tho the beds were very hard (expected). The location is a must, putting you right in the heart of the best places to be in Beijing, close enough to walk to Main Street mall but far enough away to not hear any noise. The hotel booked our high speed train service and couldn't be more helpful. Found all the staff to be great. Only downside was the cafe in the hotel was extremely expensive and the breakfast buffet was well below average (not a major issue as Starbucks and McCafe are not far away)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a none smoking floor as Chinese hotels still allow indoor smoking. Higher in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Hotel

Address: No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#55 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#82 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#164 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prime Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.