We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prime Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Prime Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 5,310 hotels in Beijing
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found the Prime Hotel to be brilliant. The rooms were very comfortable even tho the beds were very hard (expected). The location is a must, putting you right in the heart of the best places to be in Beijing, close enough to walk to Main Street mall but far enough away to not hear any noise. The hotel booked our high speed train service and couldn't be more helpful. Found all the staff to be great. Only downside was the cafe in the hotel was extremely expensive and the breakfast buffet was well below average (not a major issue as Starbucks and McCafe are not far away)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a none smoking floor as Chinese hotels still allow indoor smoking. Higher in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    220
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
69
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed with a large group and need 10 envelopes and 48 print copies and had to pay 490 CNY or over 80 USD. The concierge was rather aggressive when i complained about the excessive price. Likewise they charge you 10 USD for an espresso café. Avoid to use their excessively priced services and enjoy the good location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting Beijing.

The hotel was clean, staff were polite and most spoke English. I didn't eat there every night but when we had dinner and breakfast there was a good selection. Our room was nice and spacious, the only problem was that we were on a no smoking floor but it still smelt smokey. I don't think this can be avoided in Beijing though, I'm just used to being in the UK where people can't usually smoke indoors?

The hotel is close to the busy shopping street in Beijing, including 'snack street'. We also walked from the hotel to The Forbidden City and the Hutongs but we like to walk a lot whilst on holiday, not everyone will find it an easy walk.

I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I never ended up eating at the hotel or spending much time there in the day, but whatever time I did spend there it was comfortable.

The rooms are clean and the bathrooms, though jazzy looking, are clean too. All kinds of random amenities are there in the bathroom for you to pay for and use if you like.

The staff is very helpful. As I speak English, on two different occasions the staff at the front desk took almost ten minutes to painstakingly write down all the directions in Chinese for me so all I needed to do was show them to the locals and be on my way. This really saved me.
There is an ATM in the lobby which is very convenient.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few nights while on business in Beijing. The hotel is in good location, 500 m away from underground stop, walking distance from a main shopping area and also a nigh market or at least a modern version of it with interesting food options. 20-25 mins away from Forbidden city and Tianmen Sq. We have found a traditional restaurant 5 mins from the hotel if you are looking for an alternative to hotel dining: http://www.bjliuzhaishifu.com/ ! We went there a couple of times!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent buffet and one block from the pedestrian mall. Well-appointed rooms with multiple electricity options. Very clean and modern. English-speaking front desk was sufficiently easy to communicate with. The

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked our room online and got a great deal. The hotel is huge, and its close to the Forbidden city, the Wangfujing crept/crawly food-street and Tiannamen square.
The staff is helpful, and will write down everything for you in chinese if you ask. Taxis are no problem, the doorman will get you one in a jiffy. The rooms are clean, the wifi is free and accessible in the rooms which is great. There's an ATM on the recetption floor. We didn't order in because we were out all the time, so I really don't know how the food was. But it is in a good location and good for the price.
Be careful with the safe. Ask them to show you how to use it before you put anything inside it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Hotel

Address: No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#63 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#85 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#172 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prime Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.