We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel - but very clean and great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Prime Hotel to your Saves list
Prime Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Old hotel - but very clean and great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When we arrived at the Prime Hotel we had already spent a week in Beijing at the top-notch The Imperial Mansion Executive Apartments Marriott, so, to be honest, we had very little expectations of the Prime. How wrong we were! The Prime Hotel might be a little older, but the room was big and very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the check-in was a breeze, the staff is very efficient and committed, the service was just excellent. Not everyone speaks English but everyone makes sure that you get what you need. When l once mentioned l needed a taxi to go to a restaurant, one of the portier literally ran on the street to fetch a taxi and when he returned with the taxi he made sure the taxi driver had the address of the restaurant in mandarin... I was impressed.
I can also recommend the breakfast and dinner buffet. Great choice, excellent quality and affordable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    252
    54
    17
    18
See reviews for
42
93
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is old but comfortable. Staff struggle with English. Look to your bigger brands while in beijing. Please note a 24 hour building site is next to this hotel. Might be a issue in the future. It is close to the shopping malls.

Room Tip: Im in 901. Old but comfortable. Nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A comfortable hotel and in good area for shopping and Tiananmen Square etc. Found it unnecessarily difficult to print my boarding pass for the flight home. Lunch buffet was very good but at $20 seemed a bit steep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked this hotel for its price and location, and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it turned out to be. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and efficient and the location is excellent.

Walk out of the hotel and turn left and in 5 minutes you're in one of Beijing's major shopping districts with malls and street markets galore. Keep on walking for another 5-10 minutes and you get to a major road running across Wangfujing Street - the mall on the left has loads of restaurants in the basement and 5 minutes walk to the right brings you to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden Palace.

We enjoyed walking through Beijing and also enjoyed coming back to the hotel at the end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. You have to get your passports copied on arrival. The hotel therefore realised, without prompting, that it was my son's 21st birthday during the stay and we came back to our rooms to fine a beautiful cake in a presentation box on the table. A very nice touch! The hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to the Forbidden City and a couple of block from the pedestrian part of Wangfujing Avenue and Wangfujing snack street. Dongsi subway also a couple of blocks away. Taxis were cheap. Never paid more than £3.00 for any trip and the doormen were always ready to run off and flag a taxi down for us. Only ate in the hotel once on the final morning. That was the buffet breakfast. lots of choices and freshly made eggs. The lids on the hot section were all left wide open and so the food in the tureens was cold. We had free Wi Fi in the room which worked well. The rooms all had computers but were charged at around £9.00 a day so we just used our small laptop and smart phones. The rooms are big, our room had a very comfortable 6' bed and our children's room twin beds. The bathrooms were spacious with separate shower cubicals and soft fluffy towels. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, writing down the names of places in Chinese so that we could show taxi drivers. We did one tour with the hotel to the Ming Tombs and Great wall at Badaling. Nice tour guide but the tour included visits to a jade factory and silk shop which were not mentioned on the leaflet and severely limited time at the sites we wished to see. Hotelopia's price for the hotel came in at under £40.00 and although we had to pay at the time of the booking it seemed like great value for money!

Room Tip: The hotel in quite a quiet area so I think most rooms would be fine. Some rooms look over an inner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 12 days at Prime Hotel Beijing. The front desk always had a serviceable English speaker available and they were quick to address any requests. They were very helpful, even when I was scammed for 600 kuai by a cab driver (not endorsed by the hotel). They helped me to understand what I could do to avoid this in the future. The tour booking agent was fabulous, friendly, and eager to please. Room service meals were quick, correct, and delicious. Checkout was painless, with no unexpected charges. They did their job, and they did it well. I didn't expect them to treat me like a rajah, and perhaps that's why I recommend this hotel highly. I felt safe and comfortable there, and my needs were met. And I must mention the down comforter on the bed: heavenly, warm, and soft...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well located and that is the only saving grace. The staff were polite but generally inflexible and incompetent. The hotel systems had little to do with hospitality and nothing at all to do with western expectations. Rigid Asian rules were paramount. For example, our friend had his wallet stolen and requested an urgent phone call home to cancel his credit cards, he was not allowed to make the call without first using a credit card to certify payment for the call.

The hotel double booked our room and upgraded us. This might have been good except for the next night at 10pm when we received a very officious phone call demanding we vacate the room immediately!

I did sign for a bar bill to be charged to the room, but it was not accepted as I did not have "enough credit" (you have to charge your credit card up front for additional purchases). I paid cash for the bill and asked for the chit with my signature to be returned as this was no longer valid (and I did not trust their systems). This was refused and I had a hell of a job overcoming the double charging.

Will never stay there again and cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the construction site (sounds dreadful), but are superior to rooms facing the pollution...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Hotel

Address: No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#61 Family Hotel in Beijing
#74 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#75 Business Hotel in Beijing
#146 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prime Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Prime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.