We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Friendship Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Friendship Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing Friendship Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Zhongguancun South Main Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100873, China (Beijing Zoo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 542 Reviews
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lost in space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very big hotel, far from centre town.
Hospitality is moderate, you are more a passenger than a guest.
Lots of restaurants, bars, and other things you could expect in a hotel.
But this is not a hotel, this is a collection of services, not giving you the feeling being a guest, but a customer with a big wallet.
Rooms are ok, as expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    286
    120
    23
    6
See reviews for
7
21
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my second visit to the Beijing Friendship hotel, and my experience was similar to my first visit. There are a few annoyances to mention, but all-in-all I would still recommend this hotel to the international traveler. I stayed four nights total.
Pros: The room was spacious and clean, with standard amenities. The garden grounds are a welcome oasis in the biggest city in China. The breakfast buffet has a wide selection of both western and chinese items. Nice to have eggs and duck for breakfast now and then :) But you can also havebacon and eggs, raisin bran and yogurt, or add fried noodles for a change. The hotel is conveniently located in the Haidan district not too far from the Summer Palace. The wired ethernet in the room works great, and the wireless network in the lobby always had enough bandwidth for video chat with home.
Cons: the bathrooms definitely need work. Maybe this varies with building. I was in building 2 last year (better) but building 3 this year (not so great). The room was about the same, but the bathroom was in poor shape. Hot water was lukewarm to tepid and hardly flowed. Toilet was cracked and leaked. Quite poor compared to other hotels. Plus, as noted by others, the beds are hard, and the A/C never gets below 25C.
I can't comment on value since someone else was paying. But my sense is that if other review prices are accurate ($80 per night), this is a great deal for a national capital city.
Summary: recommended, but with a few bad points, if you're willing to put up with them. Get building 2 if you can.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in Building 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havdrup, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Styed at this hotel for several nights in July 2012. It is really nice, because it gives you a flair of China without being 'false' for tourists. This is the real stuff. Really nice rooms, but the beds are rather hard. And they only have a common aircon which Means that he temperature in the room does not get below 25 degrees Celcius in the Beijing summer, but that is quite fine, since it is often 40-45 degrees outside.
Close to Beijing downtown. Easy to get a cab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Based on the other reviews, we must have been relegated to the wrong building of the Beijing Friendship Hotel. There were several of us on a business-related trip to Beijing and our contacts at the Beijing Foreign Studies University had recommended as a nearby place for us (it was a pleasant walk over to the university). We ended up staying only one night. The rooms were $80 US a night and not worth it at all. Though the hotel has an interesting history and attractive grounds, the rooms were dark and musty smelling even though appeared fairly clean. Beds not so fabulous and mildew around tub. My room smelled of old cigarette smoke and carpet extremely dated in the building where we were. Also, could easily hear the people in the next room. However, there is a little garden/park area by the hotel that is run by the hotel with grilled vegetables and meat available. It was a lovely breezy late May evening when we were there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here one week as part of a study abroad group. I stayed on the 6th floor in building 2. It was a nice laid back location for us. There are several chain resturants in the area (TGI Friday's, Pizza Hut, Subway, Papa Johns). Boarders the campus of Beijing Institue of Technology.
The breakfast buffet at the hotel was nice with alot of different options. There is free wifi in the lobbies but not in the rooms. The lobbies are nice but the rooms are average. The room walls are paper thin! Some of the people in my group room's reeked of smoke and needed to be aired out upon arriving.
Overall an average hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrived at midnight to friendly efficient staff who attended to our delegations needs and we were off to our rooms. Note these were the deluxe rooms at 1180 RMB per night and commentary relates to this. However other Codex delegates in lesser rooms reported a good experience. My room was very spacious with separate lounge and bathroom - all well appointed, clean and tidy. For English speakers there were only 3 channels argh!!!!!. The breakfast was a mix of western and Chinese so no problem there. Bed was solid but comfortable. Air conditioning was a little difficult to control
Overall a good experience - recommend

Room Tip: When arranging transport back to airport use a picture of vehicle to explain - 3 people with luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in building 4 What a stunning building this is. The whole complex is fantastic.
Everything you could wish for in the room. Very clean. The breakfast buffet catered for every taste possible and our peking duck dinner was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Friendship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Friendship Hotel

Address: No.1 Zhongguancun South Main Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100873, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Zoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#143 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#155 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Friendship Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1092
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beijing Friendship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Friendship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.