We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...But a little uncoordinated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing International Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“...But a little uncoordinated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for four nights and the service was faultless. The staff were polite and helpful and mostly did their best the satisfy all our requests. There are three (maybe four) restaurants and one rather unatmospheric (sic) bar area. The main restaurant (where the breakfast buffet happens) called the Sky Cafe has a fixed price buffet in the evening which has a huge choice the satisfy almost any international taste but, of course, mainly Chinese. This is quite expensive we thought at about ¥280 per head. Wine was available and the local wine was ¥198 which we thought equated with a UK restaurant price for an equivalent. It was quite drinkable. There is a revolving resaurant on the roof which we did not sample but it seemed as though it would be expensive and geared for business clients. On the same level as the bar (2 I think) there is a Chinese Restaurant. This proved to be the best value we found and the food was good. However, when we asked for wine we were offered very expensive imported red only. When we refused and suggested the wine we had had from the Sky Cafe there was a blank look and the weine list from the bar was produced. This, too, was expensive and seemed to be only imported wine. Nothing we said could persuade them that there was local wine availble! It might have been a language difficulty on reflection. If mome of these suit, there is a shopping mall right across the street (by underpass) which contains many small restaurants but mainly fast food. There are few Engish speakers in these and only some have picture menus so it could be pot luck what you get.
The room was very good and the whole place was very clean. A very good hotel on the whole.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    413
    176
    38
    24
See reviews for
81
116
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were there in April 2015 on a tour with Friendly Planet. The Beijing International Hotel was 5 stars in every respect. Our room was on the 20th floor, and counting bathroom and closet and dry bar was 17' x 29'. It had a great view from the 2 windows. The room had top class dimmable lighting (plenty of lights), 3 nice chairs, desk, large glass table, free wi-fi, and free safe. The the bathroom was granite with large bathtub and separate shower. Elevators were fast and smooth. The lobby area was huge and very impressive. The breakfast area (free with our room) was absolutely stunning -- a most appealing layout with the largest selections of food I've ever experienced. The revolving restaurant on the 28th floor was unique with great window (all glass) viewing and live entertainment. Naturally, it is situated in an excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in the hotel recently for 3 days. It's located centrally with Silk Street, railway station and hypermarket located nearby. The hotel is otherwise nice but the rooms are old and need refurbishment. The size of the rooms is decent though and they are neat and clean. The bathroom hardly gives the feel of a five star property. Wifi in room is free. Breakfast had enough choice. Swimming pool looked great.

Room Tip: Take front facing rooms for a good view of surrounding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

BIH is a mediocre quality large hotel with a couple of Restaurants. The rooms are old and beat up with the bathrooms being outdated, cracked grout with black fungus in places. It is well situated but way over priced for the facilities. I stayed for a week and was glad to depart. We made a reservation for the revolving restaurant and had the worst service I had ever experienced in a restaurant, I never got my meal so they get 0 stars. The buffet I had for breakfast daily was overpriced and came with poor service 1 of 5 stars.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a large hotel with many rooms. The hotel and the rooms are clean, a large selection of food at the breakfast buffet and in the surrounding are restaurants and shops to find. Most of the staff is friendly, but there are exceptions. For example at the entrance to the breakfast area, unfriendly and impolite.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was the third stop on our Virgin Holidays splendours of China escorted tour. We looked at the website before our visit and were expecting this to be one of the best hotels on the tour. However, we were really disappointed and this hotel did not meet our expectations. When we arrived at the hotel the lobby looked very impressive. However, the room was a different matter. The room stank of stale cigarette smoke and was really dusty. The room decor was like something from the 1970's and looked like it had seen better days. The room was of a good size and was clean and comfortable. We have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels and would not class this hotel as 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So I stayed at the Beijing International during mid May 2015.
The hotel is very grand in appearance as are most buildings in Beijing however the rooms don't live up to the expectations from when you arrive in the lobby to check in unfortunately. The rooms are pretty standard quality. I believe the hotel pitches itself as a family friendly venue, this is well short of accurate. A visit to the hotels pool facility for some family time with and a bit of a splash around with the kids will result in you being abruptly escorted to change rooms and then to the pool for laps only. Swimming caps are a must when entering the pool and the pool staff have a no cap no swim policy. Of course the pool sells the caps for a ridiculous $30 each.
At night you'll probably lay awake all night breathing in passive smoke, even on a non smoking floor. Perhaps this is standard in China due to smoking being a widely accepted practice however beware. Someone to assist with your bags, good luck. Polite service at the concierge desk, your dreaming. The breakfast and dinning facilities are of international standard. Room service can let you down with popular western dishes selling out before 8pm. Overall, average

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.