We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing International Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 812 Reviews
Seattle,Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Me and my family went to Beijing in 2003 as part of family vacation and it has been the greatest experience/vacation ever!
Aside from the fact that China is really beautiful and it is very different from China Town and Chinese food we see in North America, the hotel itself was a pure LUXURY.
We all enjoyed staying at this beautiful, luxury hotel.

Stuff were very nice, friendly and bilingual. Location was good but not very close to major tourist destinations ( we booked city tour and had an amazing tour guide so for us did not really matter).

Restaurants in the hotel are pricey but again very high class and they are many pianist playing while you are eating.

  • Liked — LUXURY
  • Disliked — expensive restarautns
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    398
    166
    33
    24
See reviews for
73
103
33
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

When I travel on my own, I don't usually stay in hotels this fancy, but when I signed up for a tour of China, this was the hotel our group used in Beijing. There is a currency exchange desk and a local tour and travel desk in the lobby, which is very convenient. (Note: the currency exchange desk will only give you cash for cash; they will not give you cash on a credit card or bank card.) Across the street is a coffee shop where you can access the internet for free if you buy something. There is also a shopping center and a gocery across the street. Our room was very comfortable, and the people were really nice. There is a huge breakfast buffet that serves a wide variety of both eastern and western breakfast foods, although sometimes you have to be a pest to get coffee and you're very likely *not* to get a spoon to stir it. (A fellow traveller had a minor breakdown over breakfast one morning because he'd asked two or three waitresses for a spoon to stir his coffee, but they all acted like they didn't know what he was saying -- there are spoons at various places on the buffet where he could have helped himself to one, but ... whatever.) There was a funny smell in the elevator lobby on the floor where our room was located, but the room itself was fine.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

A group of us stayed here as a launching off point for a longer trip in China. I stayed two nights and found it to be quite comfortable and quiet. The beds have very luxurious linens and slept like a rock. I didn’t watch TV, but I used the in-room internet (at a reasonable cost). I loved the robe and slippers and the nice hot shower. The bathroom was clean though the marble counter top was stained (some people might think that looks unclean, but it was not dirty). I lacked for nothing. I used the gym, which was a little on the small side, but apparently the hotel is upgrading their fitness facilities which will be ready by December 2008. In the meantime, this space was fine and I’d come here again.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The air conditioning worked TOO well
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at the Beijing International Hotel in November 2007 as part of a trade group that was traveling China. Beijing was our first destination.

Check in was handled by our group's chinese hosts. To cash traveler's checks or change money, you must got to the cashier and bring your passport.

This is a surprisingly large hotel. We stayed on an upper floor with an excellent view of the city, and overlooked the train station. The amenities were consistent with a western 3-star hotel. In China, hotels are rated from 1 to 7 stars. So, adjust expectations accordingly.

When we entered the room, we experienced confusion on how to turn on the lights. It turns out that your room key slides into an illuminated slot by the lights. Once your key has been inserted, you can turn on the lights and the heat or air conditioning. Once the key has been removed, these services are disabled.

There is one english language channel, which is a news broadcast. You can arrange wake up calls very easily through the telephone without having to speak to the front desk.

We had two beds, approximately American "full" in size. These were the most comfortable beds I found in China. Linens and blankets were in very good shape as was the room.

The bathroom was somewhat dated with respect to the fixtures. Everything worked and the shower stayed hot.

The hotel has excellent security. We did receive one call the first night asking if we wanted "massage". We had been warned that this is pretty common in China. Housekeeping was certainly adequate, on par with most American hotels and quite a bit cleaner than many.

The hotel restaurant offers a very good western breakfast as well as asian foods. You need your room key with the key jacket showing your dates of stay to be seated, but it's self service. We had no complaints about the quantity of the food and it was fun to try some of the chinese foods as well. Service was good, but slow at times to refill the coffee.

The hotel's location is quite good and is adjacent to several banks and across the street from a Starbucks (called "fourbucks" by the Chinese). There's a shopping center in walking distance along with several american fast food restaurants.

There's more than adequate room for tour group buses to pull up outside the hotel. The property is not located on the same side of the city as the Olympic venues. It's rather closer to Tien An Men Square and the Forbidden City, but those are still approximately a twenty minute drive, and about an hour from Beijing International Airport.

Check out was equally easy. All major credit cards are accepted.

  • Liked — Restaurant, modern amenities and relatively central location
  • Disliked — Not fully handicap accessible, but that's the norm in China
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

I agree with other reviewers who said that 5 stars in China is not the same as 5 stars in the U.S., but still, this is a decent business hotel that is well-located. The room was very nice and we especially appreciated the good quality bed and linens. Breakfast we thought was amazing--quite the international variety of food, from American (sort of) to Japanese and beyond. You can definitely find something to suit your diet. Try the warm soy milk; I thought it was delicious. On the down side, the huge reddish granite lobby had not a single chair anywhere, which seemed very odd considering that tour groups meet there every day, and also the first room we got was definitely a smoking room even though the tour operator had requested and confirmed a non-smoking reservation. There were ashtrays in the room and it smelled of smoke. However, the staff apologized and moved us promptly to another room which was fine. Also, FYI, we noticed both of those problems (lack of lobby chairs and erratic definition of "non-smoking") in more than one "5-star" hotel in China. My new tongue-in-cheek theory is that in China, a non-smoking room means nobody is smoking in there right now. I am not sure it is right to blame any one specific hotel for what appears to be an endemic problem in the Chinese hospitality industry. I would be willing to stay here again but I might trade up if my budget allowed.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

Supposed to be a five star hotel, however this was not exactly what I would call 5 stars.
Pros:
-great location - convenient for walking places - tianamen, restaurants etc
-safe
-internet
-nice building interiors, food, spa
-courteous staff
-decent price

Cons:
-dirty bathroom - moldy, water didn't drain in shower
-smelly hallways - my entire hallway smelled of mold and cigarette smoke even though it was supposed to be a smoke free hall

Overall: I'd stay here since this seemed to be a common theme for higher end hotels in China. I'd look for newer hotels first, but could stay here again based on price. I was in one of the higher floors so I think I was in one of the executive rooms based on our group negotiation

  • Liked — location, service, spa
  • Disliked — cleanliness of bathroom and hallway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curacao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days.The room we stayed in was
in pretty good shape but the bathroom was awful, the bathtub was worn out and the tiles on the floor showed some cracks.
The airconditioning was not working so we had to sleep with the windows open for three nights. The location and food were okay especially the breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.