We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing International Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Guatemala
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel has a very good location. The rooms are nice and the breakfast buffet is very good. You have a variety of chinese and western food.
The only thing I did not like is that there are many parts of the hotel that stinks... People smoke inside the hotel and rooms and since I am not a smoker I hate this smell and it even gives me allergies.
We had to ask to change rooms, because the smell was unbearable. The new room did not smell, however the towels stank... The smell of cigarrette had permeated.
That was the only thing I did not like, but the rest was pretty good.

Room Tip: It is very important that if you don´t smoke to tell the hotel to give you a room in the non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    402
    168
    35
    24
See reviews for
75
105
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Walking into the impressive and expansive lobby, with excellent reception staff, who were kind enough to upgrade us, one had high hopes for this hotel, but sadly it was a letdown.

I have hence upgraded my experience from Poor to Average , in thanks to reception team,

The rooms were dated from the mid eighties, with everything, especially the badly nicked wooden surfaces, clearly showing their age.

It was very hot in Beijing and the aged central aircon struggled to cope. I woke up every night drenched in sweat.A complaint was made, but nothing was done about it.

The breakfast restaurant was abysmal. The restaurant itself was impressive, and appeared newly renovated, with lovely views over the central courtyard and pond.
The buffet selections were numerous, and well topped up, but all the hot food was stone cold. . The burners at the bottom of the hot pans were insufficient to come with the volume of the food in there.
The service staff were clueless, and there did not appear to have any manager or supervisor in control. We were led to our table one morning , and when we got up to pick our selections from the buffet, our table was given away to another guest.
Tea and Coffee had to be requested, and served without teaspoons. It took long minutes of miming, and gesticulating for the waitstaff to understand what a teaspoon was, and then only one was proffered on a table of 2.
More than poor English skills, there appeared to be poor comprehension skills among the staff,
There is no shortage of wait staff around, but all appear to be roaming around in circles, quite clueless,
We were not tempted to try any other outlets for meals, given the chaos we experienced at breakfast.
The wi fi in the room worked sporadically, and appeared to be free.
Our driver also experienced issues with the car park attendant to charged him for entering the premises to pick us up. Apparently only the first few minutes are free, and they then start charging for parking.
Housekeeping did a great job with what they had to contend with, and our room, and all common areas were always clean.
Checkout was a breeze, and no issues were experienced there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely place to stay. The Service is excellent, the people on the front desk very helpful. Perfect location, close to tourist attractions and food. The lobby is big and spacious. The perfect place for the international traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I think the title of this review just about covers it, but as I am obliged to write a minimum of 200 characters, I will just mention that this isn't a very good hotel for the money we paid. A number of things in the room either didn't work well or didn't work at all. We were charged for things that we hadn't used (i.e. the internet TV, because after we logged on using the mouse, the keyboard didn't work). in fairness the hotel did back down on that one eventually!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

me and my mother stayed 7 nights there because we could not book another good Hotel.

a 3.5 Star Hotel !

very Old Hotel, Staff don't know English at all except reception, dirty breakfast.

0- Hotel Staffs can't speaks English, you ask : is this water ? in Chinese you here something that she means I don't understand. you ask is Tap water drinkable ? you hear what ??

1- Breakfast was very dirty, lots of bugs (fly) on foods, the waiter who clean's others finished dishes, same person serve's fork, knife and plate for you with same wet hand !

2- If you missed your military service, try Beijing International Pool. you are not 1 minute alone, one personnel is chasing you at all time. you can not enter without cap (that it is a good thing) you think, wow what a good quality, but there are blood on the towels of the sauna.
they ask you to take off your swimwear to enter to the cold jacuzzi (it was not hot, wrote 45 degrees centigrade , was 20).

Bath tub was for 100 years ago !

Water Tap, you have to be Rocky to open it and you will get wet by compliments.

Lobby is very noisy, you can visit 100 people each time you enter the Lobby.

---------------------------------

Positive :

Very Fast and Good house Keeping Services.

5 minute to Metro Station but you have to go down 182 Steps, there is no Escalator !!!!

There is an automatic money Exchange Machine in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Don't Stay at this Hotel ! Not a five Star Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here while travelling around china and what a great place this is. Buzzing with life and a fantastic location to get into the city. Can't go wrong with the price you pay for it! Also Beijing is a great city and easy to get to the great wall

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place . Spacious rooms . Lots happening at the hotel - the bar , the pool etc - all open till late . Breakfast - a spread . Overall a great experience and highly recommended ! Language being a problem in China , they have at least one English - speaking staff on duty all the time .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.