We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really, really happy to have stayed here ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Kerry Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kerry Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Guanghua Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kerry's Weekend Package
Ranked #9 of 5,309 hotels in Beijing
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“really, really happy to have stayed here ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights last week and am really glad that I did. The standard room was booked online via the hotel website. Their customer sales team emailed to check if I would like to upgrade to Club Floor for an additional RMB170 per night. I did and was happy with the outcome.

Positive comments from previous reviewers are accurate - check-in is fast and fuss-free, room has everything you'd expect and need, breakfast's great, etc. The staff at the Club Lounge are well-trained and they take the effort to engage in conversation with the guests.

I'd stay here again the next time I'm in this part of Beijing.

Room Tip: if they offer you an upgrade to Club Floor, take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    222
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
33
32
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights recently, arriving very early in from London. They let me check in straight away without the usual fuss about rooms not being ready. Liked their paperless check in. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms clean and modern and the restaurant excellent. The breakfast buffet is particularly good and the evening meal's wagyu burger simply superb. It's also not far from a metro station that is a fairly easy ride to Tiananmen and Forbidden City. Couldn't find fault with this hotel at all and would readily go back. Free wifi too which works well and adds to the convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was clean and nice, however they must have a bad ventilation system because my room and my colleagues room smelled badly like the outdoor smog. I woke up coughing every night. The other office buildings I was in during this visit did not smell that bad indoors.

Beware of concierge and car service. I booked the hotels car service thru the concierge for 8 hours for $300. The driver took us to the Great Wall and then said we had to go back to hotel. He would not take us around for the 8 hours I paid for. Upon return to the hotel (3hours later) the concierge said it was $300 for 8 hours OR $300 just for Great Wall (regardless how long that took). That's bull! In think they were trying to pull a fast one on me.

TIP: if you book anything thru hotel concierge desk, make sure you get it in writing before paying. They are as shady as the tour guides in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy A, General Manager at Kerry Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
ChrisandMatt, thank you for the review of our property. We too are dissapointed to hear of your stay experience and are concerned about the service issues you have raised.Would you please provide us with more details via email at jeremy.aniere@thekerryhotels.com so we may investigate internally and take the necessary actions to improve our service if warrented. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here for a meeting and was very happy with the hotel. Check in was quick and my room on the club floor was very good. It had everything you could want and more. Free minibar and snacks which are invariably charged elsewhere, free shoeshine(which I only realised on departure :( ) . Large samsung tv and even one of those behind the mirror tvs in the bathroom, not to mention the toto neorest do everything toilet! The staff were great and thefree use of the well equipped conference room in the club lounge a bonus. The Chinese restaurant Hai Tien Lo was super.,...here's a tip...the Peking duck here is far superior to the famous QuanJuDe's offering. It's also connected to the China World Mall where abundant and expensive shopping is available.
If I have a grouse, it's regarding the free internet...too many hotels make us pay for this facility and so it was great that this was provided free...but and the big but is that it was really very slow and inefficeint such that you almost wanted to pay the $20/24hr charge that many hotels charge to get a better connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Kerry Hotel is simply amazing. I was in a regular king room, which was great. The real star of the room is the toilet! If you stay you will find out what I mean.

The mini bar was free, which was great, although it isn't stocked with an outrageous amount of stuff, it was nice to have free soft drinks and chocolate.

The breakfast was good, every food type in the world was on offer. We also dined in the restaurant on two nights, the food was very good.

The brand new Kerry sports on the second floor is out of this world. The 35 metre pool is great and every time I used it I was the only person in the pool. The gym is huge for a hotel and was never busy.

The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.

All in all this is a great place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in the Kerry for three nights in late March and early April and enjoyed my stay very much. We were in a regular King room, which was well appointed, comfortable bed, sufficient outlets for charging things at 110-120 volts, with a mini bar that was free! And then of course there were the bathrooms, which feature a toilet with several options, including heated seats. I was disappointed that the gym/pool area was under construction so they had a makeshift room setup with excercise equipment.

Check-in though Check-out was mostly smooth, including a fantastic breakfast buffet at the Kery's main restaurant which includes fresh fruits/juices, a mto egg station, pretty good coffee, and dumplings/noodle bar (though there are no vegetarian noodle bar options). A couple of days, the wait staff were even passing out fresh smoothies to the diners.

Overall, very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the Kerry for one night on my way back from Dalian to Singapore on business.

Arrived at the hotel quite late after having a reasonably harsh travel scheudle leading up to this one night. Check in was perfect - no complaints at all - and I was soon in my room for a quick turnaround before meeting colleagues in the bar downstairs and then for dinner in one of the cafes in the hotel lobby area.

The whole hotel reeks of quality and, dare I say it, does not feel cheap and gaudy as I find a lot of mainland hotels do. The room is beautifully appointed and the bed extremely comfortable as you might expect. Expensive toiletries in the bathroom and everything you might need or require is in the room.

The bar downstairs had a decent range of drinks and very good service. My only complaint (and a sign that I'm getting a little old maybe?!) is that the live band were a little too loud - making conversation almost impossible whilst they were playing. Filled with a young and hip crowd, I feel it was perhaps somewhere for people a couple of years my junior.

A light evening supper in the cafe near to the bar was pleasant enough, if a little forgettable. Service once more was excellent - allowing us to order wine off the more expensive restauarnt list next door despite sitting in an inferior establishment was a nice touch and appeased my wine-loving boss.

I think the biggest surprise came for me at checkout. I forget the exact price, but for a hotel of this standard it really was very cheap indeed. At the price I was charged I would stay here for a city break in Beijing and would have no problem in recommending this hotle for either business or leisure travellers.

Location was great for my purposes - a series of meetings in the CBD - but I guess that might be a downside for a leisure traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerry Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Hotel Beijing

Address: No.1 Guanghua Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
#345 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerry Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerry Hotel, Beijing, a stylish, modern luxury hotel, is situated in the Chaoyang district - Beijing's diplomatic, commercial and financial center. The city's popular historical sites, such as the Forbidden City, are also just short distances away, making it ideal for both business and leisure travelers. All 486 rooms and suites have a contemporary design with the comforts and conveniences of the ultra-modern home. It also boasts some of the largest conference facilities amongst hotels in Beijing.Situated in Beijing’s central business district and just 25 minutes from the international airport, Kerry Hotel, Beijing’s location is enhanced by its proximity to major cultural, shopping and entertainment sites.The hotel’s stylish interior is matched by modern day comforts such as complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity throughout the hotel, all 486 guestrooms, function space, and even in the limousines. Paperless check-in and check-out and complimentary mini bar upon arrival, are some of the hotel’s signature services.Wine and dine facilities are presented through four establishments. Kerry’s Kitchen delivers authentic Asian cuisine, while Kerry’s Pantry is a gourmet deli. The Horizon Chinese specialises in authentic Cantonese cuisine, along with Beijing and Sichuan signature dishes. An award-winning bar and lounge, Centro features live jazz, fine wines and real cocktails in a seductive atmosphere.With more than 6,000sqm of function space, the hotel is the preferred choice for star-studded galas, meetings and conventions. Spread across three levels at 6,000sqm, Kerry Sports features a 24-hour gymnasium, indoor swimming pool, multi-purpose courts and a recreation room, plus an outdoor jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Kerry Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kerry Centre Hotel
Shangri La Kerry Centre Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.