We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel serving business persons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Kerry Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kerry Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Guanghua Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kerry's Weekend Package
Ranked #8 of 5,119 hotels in Beijing
Suburban MD
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Hotel serving business persons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Whenever I visit Beijing I chose the Shangri-La Kerry Center hotel. While not adjacent to the Forbidden City/ Wangfujing where many tourists go, this hotel has a lot to offer. First, this is an excellent luxury hotel. Second this hotel is 2 block walk to my favorite Beijing restaurant, Xiao Wang's. Third, the sky bridge from this hotel goes into the China World center where many shops are located, including a lovely grocery (Ole) and Starbucks to mention a few. The hotel is adjacent to the Third Ring Road so it is easy to get around and also very close to a metro station. It is also easier to get cabs at this hotel than it is at many others. The hotel staff was unfailingly helpful and courteous. The hotel seems to have a big business clientelle since those in the know recognize its value. They have a very nice Kerry Pantry which serves great sandwiches for a reasonable price. I would steer you away from the Kerry Kitchen however, as the breakfast bar and the dinner menu is extremely expensive, particularly since you can walk across the street and go to two or three restaurants where you can get great food for much less. The Kerry Center adjacent to the hotel is currently undergoing renovation, so some of the sports facilities are not available. However this should not last much longer. I really like this hotel and recommend it.

Room Tip: As for room high up and looking toward the CCTV building. It has a great view of the CCTV tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    220
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
27
31
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great stay at The Kerry.

Staff were very helpful and attentive. I was there for a work conference so did not make use of the restaurant however spent plenty of time in the bar which was great.

Location is in a Western Qtr of the City so you have to travel a good distance to get to the main tourist attractions which can take some time with the Beijing traffic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my second stay at the Kerry Hotel. It is excellent value, excellent quality, if you have business in the Central Business District. We stayed on the club floor, which sounds expensive until you include the breakfast and happy hour and a few other frills - worth considering if you stay there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant downstairs, Kerry's Kitchen, is very good - not fine dining but the next best thing. Service was great on the club floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As a first timer I was impressed by the rooms and their thoughtfully considered facilities. I would like to see an on screen guest accounting page, to catch up on all those rounds of drinks shouts made late at night in the Centro Bar at low light, with little appreciation of the bill totted up.....and room service, laundry etc. that you incur during a stay. My stay was for 7 nights so I note this as a warning.

The hotel precinct service was exceptional and delivered by well trained multi cultural staff with a strong emphasis on skilled Russian staff, who really were assets to the local chinese management.

I was one of a delegation of 200 travel industry personnel. We had our three day workshop functions in the Hotel. It went like clockwork and could not be faulted from a delivery perspective, as far as the hotel facilities and staff mobilisations were concerened. Very smooth and professional.

A wealth of shopping and dining options are easily reached by the skybridge over to the World Tower Centre just a 5 minute walk away. For those who need some medications there is a 24hour full medical centre (Vista Medical) in the Kerry Centre Complex. It is a 5 minute walk. I got traditional chinese cough mixture as well as Western prescription medicines. Vey convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of CCTV Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and always been impressed by the guest service. The room is clean and comfortable. The foods good, although I did have some trouble trying to get a bill when I ate in Kerry's Kitchen. I particularly like Kerry's Pantry in the lobby where they can prepare some great sandwiches. Being able to go across to the Kerry Centre was also useful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Kerry Hotel for a business trip. The room was very nice. Comfortable bed. Lots of free bottled water. Many plug outlets in my room for various countries (although a co-workers room did not have that). Some of the outlets did not work but a combo of them did. Despite some concerns before my trip I found that internet access was great in the hotel.

The bathroom was very elaborate. Obviously the water in Beijing is pretty awful but they did provide a bathtub, regular shower and overhead shower in the room I stayed in. There was a complicated set of buttons for the computer operated toilet. It had a heated toilet seat. But I was not sure what all the other buttons were for.

Laundry services were prompt. Safe in the room was useful. Housekeeping left very friendly notes.

Ate several meals at the hotel. Breakfast was included in my rate and the buffet on the first floor had tons of options. From tea soaked hard boiled eggs, to fish, to croissants, I'm pretty sure any international traveler could have found a native option. I enjoyed trying some of the Asian specialties for breakfast but they also had a great egg/omelette station. Lots of fresh fruit (which I avoided due to a sensitive stomach but my co-workers raved about). They were generous with tea and coffee (though they might pour coffee into your tea cup if you are not looking). The dinner options were tasty too. We had a quick lunch at the little deli/takeway counter on the first floor which was so-so. We had an awful dinner in the upstairs Chinese restaurant--actually the worst meal we had in Beijing. Food was flavorless, dried out. Not recommended.

The hotel booked us a car for airport pick-up and that was really helpful after a long flight and the confusing/long walk to the parking garage. Glad we did that. Later in our trip when we struggled to get a taxi on the street tot take us back to the hotel (the hotel is in a congested area of town and apparently the taxis did not want to drive there near rush hour), the hotel sent a car out to retrieve us. A life saver!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soo Theng T, Director of Sales and Marketing at Kerry Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear TallulahB-

Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are concenred about the issues that you have raised about your experience at the Chinese restaurant. Kindly contact me via e-mail at sootheng.tan@thekerryhotels.com, so that we can discuss the details. I look forward to your e-mail.

Thank you,

Soo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location, right in the heart of capital city. Close to everything - name it. Cafe, Restaurants, bars and historical sites.

Service is highly rated with staff well versed in English and very accommodating.

Food is value for money....almost the same price if you eat in outside restaurant.

Definitely, we are coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kerry Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Hotel Beijing

Address: No.1 Guanghua Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#343 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerry Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerry Hotel, Beijing, a stylish, modern luxury hotel, is situated in the Chaoyang district - Beijing's diplomatic, commercial and financial center. The city's popular historical sites, such as the Forbidden City, are also just short distances away, making it ideal for both business and leisure travelers. All 486 rooms and suites have a contemporary design with the comforts and conveniences of the ultra-modern home. It also boasts some of the largest conference facilities amongst hotels in Beijing.Situated in Beijing’s central business district and just 25 minutes from the international airport, Kerry Hotel, Beijing’s location is enhanced by its proximity to major cultural, shopping and entertainment sites.The hotel’s stylish interior is matched by modern day comforts such as complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity throughout the hotel, all 486 guestrooms, function space, and even in the limousines. Paperless check-in and check-out and complimentary mini bar upon arrival, are some of the hotel’s signature services.Wine and dine facilities are presented through four establishments. Kerry’s Kitchen delivers authentic Asian cuisine, while Kerry’s Pantry is a gourmet deli. The Horizon Chinese specialises in authentic Cantonese cuisine, along with Beijing and Sichuan signature dishes. An award-winning bar and lounge, Centro features live jazz, fine wines and real cocktails in a seductive atmosphere.With more than 6,000sqm of function space, the hotel is the preferred choice for star-studded galas, meetings and conventions. Spread across three levels at 6,000sqm, Kerry Sports features a 24-hour gymnasium, indoor swimming pool, multi-purpose courts and a recreation room, plus an outdoor jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Jetsetter so you can book your Kerry Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kerry Centre Hotel
Shangri La Kerry Centre Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.