We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing unique about it....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel to your Saves list
Traders Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomen Wai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nothing unique about it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

After having travelled to so many places and stayed in many hotels for business, you don't really care much except for the location, a comfortable good night rest and a great variety of breakfast to kick start your day!
Having said that, it would be nice if there's something unique to add to the whole hotel experience but I felt it was very functional and routine when i stayed here. The whole hotel ambient seems like as if the hotel updated certain parts of it....like the lobby area, some parts looks modern but other area seems old.... just like the rooms, the bathroom looks dated.
If not for the location, the malls and the subway, i would have looked elsewhere for that kind of price. Just felt it would have been better if they were to polished their image a bit more, after all they're part of the Shangri-La group.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    347
    95
    14
    4
See reviews for
60
82
47
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights while we toured the city. Although there was construction nearby we didn't hear a thing. The staff at the hotel really went out of their way to help us and make sure we had everything we needed. The room was clean and quiet, although a bit dated. We did have a bit of confusion on getting some ice, but that is common in China.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here one night. This hotel was extremely nice. It is probably the nicest hotel I've stayed at in Beijing. That being said the "extras" are extremely expensive at this hotel. Having a drink in the lobby and want some ice water? That'll be about 30RMB. Very comfortable beds!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, close to the China mall and subway. Business hotel, which is a bit too expensive for what it is. Rooms are nice, but the bathroom could be updated. Breakfast quality was not up to date for this kind of hotel. Correct but not more than that

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I only stayed for one night before flying home. My room was very small compared to more modern hotels I've stayed in China. Bathroom was a little tired with the sealant around the shower showing signs of age. The breakfast was good with lots of choice available and the hotel limo service to the airport was efficient. I went to the hotel bar for a drink during the evening and it was empty. I thought this was strange for a Friday night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent hotel,location very convenient (subway station located under the hotel, shopping mall located under the hotel). Walking distance from Silk Street Market (8 minutes or 1 subway station). Walking distance from 'The Place', a shopping area with lots of restaurants and terraces. Laundry is very expensive (40 RMB for a shirt) and it is cheaper buying a new shirt at the Silk Street Market. Hotel has got excellent beds and superb breakfast (breakfast around 200 RMB per person).

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator banks as the constant pinging of arrivals drives you mad. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hefei, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A great place to stay. Very clean and wonderful to have a non-smoking floor and truly non-smoking rooms: usually something you can't find in China.
The breakfast selection was good, I wish I had two stomachs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomen Wai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#55 Business Hotel in Beijing
#66 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#264 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from the airport, the warm and friendly Traders Hotel, Beijing is situated in the heart of the diplomatic and financial district. It is connected to the China World Trade Center, catering to the traveling executive looking for good value and who also desires convenient access to its conference and exhibition facilities. With its sister-property, China World Hotel, just next door, guests of Traders Hotel can also enjoy the extensive dining and recreation facilities of both hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Traders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.