We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel to your Saves list
Traders Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomen Wai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week during a trip to China in the Winter. I was very pleased with the amentities of this large hotel. The breakfast buffet is vast and included a good selection of American breakfast staples. The traditional Chinese restaurant in the hotel had really good food and was reasonably priced. There was a tailor shop in the lobby of the hotel who had awesome deals on custom-made men's clothing which we took advantage of. The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall and there is another mall in front of the hotel. The only issue may be that it's not in a neighborhood with many restaurants or bars so we ended up having drinks quite often at the bar lounge area of the hotel as well as neighboring hotels. There is a subway line stop at the mall that the hotel is connected to that we used.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear CaliTwin1,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on us. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    336
    92
    13
    4
See reviews for
56
81
42
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a ten trip on china spree, this was the first stop of a tour to Beijing and Shanghi.
The breakfast buffet was huge with all types of American fare also Chinese,very good coffee.
Staff helpfull. Large shopping area under hotel,also access to subway,good overall location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear pu2u,

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your compliments on our breakfast and service very much. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Traders Hotel, Beijing in your next visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I liked this hotel location. It was easy to take a taxi to local attractions and was located across from a large shopping center with places to eat. There is also a "China Arts and Crafts" store nearby that is a fine shop. The hotel itself was clean, rooms had good ammenties, Unlike some five star hotels in China the Traders had free wifi, The breakfast selection was excellent and I could always find someone who speaks English. I also only drink decaf coffee and they were able to assist.
I did not use the pool or spa but a friend used the pool at an adjoining hotel and said it was fine. Also, in the complex is access to the highest building in Beijing. My daughter whom I was traveling with and I enjoyed a nice pricey drink and view at the top of the building on Mother's Day.

Room Tip: Our room was well insulated and we looked directly across the front the hotel to the shopping comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Laurie48,

Thank you for taking your time to write feedback on us. We are happy to know that we have had the opportunity to have you and your daughter celebrate the Mohter's Day with us. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We also stayed here on a trip through China Spree. Room as stated previously is somewhat small by American standards but good size for European travelers. Front desk staff friendly and speak English well. Bathroom is stocked generously with toiletry amenities. Towels are thick and thirsty. Two bottles of bottled water are stocked each day. Beds are firm but pillows appeared to be flattened down pillows. Hair dryer is prewired and hidden in a desk drawer. King size bed a delight to tired tourists. Breakfast buffet is enormous with omelets and eggs cooked to order. Nice TV and electric teapot in room for coffee/tea. You can walk to the World Trade Center Mall without going outdoors. Many restaurants are located in the mall in the event you do not want to eat in the hotel. We would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear sewkitty,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our guest rooms and services. We are over the moon to hear that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back when you travel to Beijing next time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I had a great one week stay as part of a Beijing tour package from Chinaspree. The lobby was clean and well appointed, the room was somewhat small, but well furnished with a king bed, desk and flat screen tv with english channels. The location is excellent!! It is attached to the World Trade Center Mall which is HUGE and has many shops and lots of different restarants. This is really convenient as you can go out to dinner and still technically be in the hotel, never having to walk outdoors! Also, it is only a 10 minute walk to the Silk Market, where you can get INCREDIBLE deals on Jade, Pearls and souvenirs. The best part was the breakfast which was out of this world!! A fresh pot of coffee or tea on the table, made to order omelets, fresh made pancakes/waffles/french toast, fresh baked pastries, eggs, bacon, etc plus Chinese breakfast foods. Very polite staff and an overall great experience. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear travelmanphill,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Traders Hotel, Beijing in the near future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It's clean, service is great and room is nice. Not 5 star but definitely worth staying at. The buffet was good. Good variety and definitely be able to find something you will like. Next to a mall and can find supermarket and restaurants around. There are also 24 hrs restaurants as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Vacam0de,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on us. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Traders Hotel, Beijing!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed in a number of Traders Hotels and their quality is consistent and of high quality. The staff were absolutely brilliant. They were friendly and very helpful. It is well worth paying the supplemement to upgrade to enable use of the Executive Lounge. My room was very comfortable and provided all the facilities required. Beijing city is a rambling mass and it seemed that every square yard of road space was taken up with vehicles. Drivers appeared to have one single ambition as far as driving was concerned and that was to get in front of the vehicle they were following. This made for some "eye closing" situations. We organised our trip through Trailfinders who organised our tours so we only used public transport once. We used the metro which had a convenient station about 5 minutes walk away from the hotel through the adjoining shopping mall. The main sights are about ten minutes drive away from the hotel. There was a good range of food and drink available at reasonable prices at a number of different venues in the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Traders Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear bejay47,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so glad to know that your enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to your next visit to Beijing!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomen Wai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#57 Business Hotel in Beijing
#67 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#272 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from the airport, the warm and friendly Traders Hotel, Beijing is situated in the heart of the diplomatic and financial district. It is connected to the China World Trade Center, catering to the traveling executive looking for good value and who also desires convenient access to its conference and exhibition facilities. With its sister-property, China World Hotel, just next door, guests of Traders Hotel can also enjoy the extensive dining and recreation facilities of both hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Traders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.