We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of Shangri-La” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B+dinning discount
Ranked #15 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A little slice of Shangri-La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is my fourth trip to Beijing and my fourth time staying at the China World Hotel. Colleagues in China booked me here on my first visit, and I've never even been tempted to stay anywhere else. The highly personal service is absolutely stellar. Being greeted at the door by a customer service manager, whisked to my room for a private check in, my every need personally catered to . . . this is old-world charm in a new Beijing setting. The rooms are generously sized, wonderfully well equipped, and attentively serviced. The restaurants are among the city's best. You are virtually atop the Guomao metro station, and with hundreds of stores and restaurants at your footsteps in the China World Mall. Centrally located, and easy access to everywhere in Beijing. Wonderfully grand lobby area, a discrete yet chic bar scene at Aria, good fitness center - and at every turn, the personalized service and attention to detail is top flight. My business in Beijing takes me to other hotels for meetings and banquets and such, and I can honestly say I've not yet seen anything to compare; and, for an upscale property, the prices are not particularly objectionable. This trip I had an odd travel requirement because of a scheduled business meeting and a tight turn to get to the airport; Crystal Zhang and the team handled my bags and made special arrangements for car and driver to gather me up from another hotel and get me to the airport on time! After two nights in Tokyo I'm on my way back to Beijing, and I can't wait to get back to the China World Hotel!

Room Tip: Spring for a Horizon Club floor and room if you can afford the little extra. The perks and privileg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Holokauahi, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our colleagues truly make every effort to ensure our guests needs are anticipated. China World Hotel has great conference and meeting facilities and well equipped Health Club, and an excellent choice of dining options. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially our Guest Relations Officer Crystal Zhang. I will share your comments with them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    563
    312
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
44
68
34
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at China World Hotel over 30 times during the past 10 years and have never had an experience there which was less than perfect. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make each day a better day than yesterday. I left a bag at the airport on one occasion and the concierge and his staff left no stone unturned to have it found and sent to the hotel for me. All reception staff are very helpful, same with dining rooms and my bedroom has always been spotless. For any visitor with time to spare, try the activities in the gym area. The swimming pool is large and has steam room, showers and rest area. But most of all try the Tai Chi, yoga and dance classes even if you have never done any of these activities before, every one of them is run by the most amazing teachers you will find anywhere in the world! What a pleasure, this is one fine hotel and a great credit to all members of the Shangri la group.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hughmason, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. And thank you for highlighting our concierge. China World Hotel has excellent facilities, a nice shopping mall, access to the MTR and our concierge know the city well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great experience at the truly 5-star rated hotel. Everything is first rate. Careful on check-in because they will precharge entire stay plus $1000 per day incidentals which can cause some cards to decline. The breakfast is spectacular, the staff the best on the planet. The subway connection below takes you anywhere in Beijing for $0.30. Meeting facilities are first-rate too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear William S, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular breakfast in Scene A Cafe. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR with lots of shops and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Super nice and helpful stuff, the CI and CO service is efficient and friendly. Bathroom is big. And the location is very convenience, there is a shopping mall directly connect to the lobby and metro station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Lee X, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at China World Hotel and in particular the reception service on you arrival and departure. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel this March while on a business trip and was greatly impressed by the Hotel . Connected to a big mall where you can shop for all the major brands and have some nice restaurants as well. The hotel is also connected with Metro line as well. About 500 mtrs away from the hotel is the famous Pearl Shopping center (Shop for Replica Designer goods).

The hotel staff is very courteous and they even had a very impressive live cultral performance wherein the musicians were playing ancient chinese musical instruments. The rooms are quite spacious and tastefully decorated to the point of it being luxiourious. The breakfast was awesome and you had plenty of options to choose from the lavish buffet spread.

I am again going next month to Beijing and would definitely stay in this hotel yet again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tarun1971, thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and lobby entertainment are always enjoyed by our guests. I will also share your comments on our team with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World Hotel has an excellent location fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were pampered and spoiled totally during our stay at Shangri-La in Beijing, it is very well appointed and the staff seem to anticipate your every need. Highly recommend this hotel! Location is perfect for touring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Art M, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your positive comments with the team. Our colleagues will appreciate your comments very much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

With the reception and the departure experience, I would never want to use this hotel again, however, I have been visiting this property since early 90's, the hotel is still worth visiting I hope once they have fixed these management problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Tang S, thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with our Reception service on your arrival and departure. I was made aware of your experience by our Resident Manager and rest assured we have addressed the issues concerned. If I can be of further assistance please contact me directly on john.rice@shangri-la.com, We appreciate your support of China World Hotel. Regards,John Rice,Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#360 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's China World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.