We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B+dinning discount
Ranked #9 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff here went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. The Chief Concierge, Leon, personally walked me to the bakery my first morning, obtained dinner reservations for the best Peking Duck restaurant, researched the cooking class and made the arrangements for us. Jenny, Guest Relations Officer, greeted us by name each evening, knew where we had been, and offered her advice. Dirk made sure the cab driver knew exactly where to take us in the hutong. They explained how to take the Metro, which was a great accomplishment, but so valuable as traffic here in the worst I have experienced anywhere, ever. Cherry, in-house Grayline Tour consultant, set us up with a private tour that covered everything we wanted to see in one day, which we really enjoyed. Ask for Alice for your guide.

In Beijing, we were Americans with no Chinese language skills. English is the exception, and if spoken it is often not fluent. I hate organized tours, and the staff here helped us get around to gain the full experience, keeping us safe. Really funny when we left on our subway trip-proffering no less than 4 cards to be given to a cab driver in Chinese that said "please take me to the China World Hotel". Just in case.

Housekeeping very courteous, in spite of our later room departures. Rooms were immaculate, beds very comfortable, really great shower.

Sara (#18) gave a fabulous Chinese massage.

Annie in the lobby saved us a pastry tray for a later high tea. Lovely service.

Highly recommend this haven in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ProvoChicago, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially Leon, Dirk, Jenny and Cherry. I will share your comments with them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    297
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
58
31
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed at Four Seasons
at Beijing before and was a little worried by TA reviews of China World. It was older but clean and quiet. It was really hot and humid the week I was there but room cool. Breakfast very nice. When my car did not show up to take me to the airport, the valet was extremely concerned and they were working to get a replacement. I would stay there again for business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Spartanmom2012, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular breakfast in Scene A Cafe. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Beijing and deserves the 4-star rating. The hotel is luxurious, well-maintained and includes elegant and pleasant public areas.

The rooms are most comfortable, well-appointed and have all the comfort expected of an international quality hotel. There was not a hint of any cigarette smoke throughout the hotel, including in the rooms.

The staff are to be commended. Their English is perfect, their attention is outstanding and they are pleasant and welcoming. For business particularly, the hotel is very well positioned in the financial district and within easy reach of all the major financial firms and banks.

A lovely hotel. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DaveEmma09, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our hotels facilities. Our team try their best to ensure of our guests have a delightful stay experience. I will share your comments with our team and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing.Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my stay at this hotel was a good experience. I don't have any thing to complain about. the staff was warm, friendly, flexible, taking very personal interest in making me comfortable. The room was neat, cleaned regularly at reasonable intervals. the amenities were functioning. The hotel location was just right and at the heart of town. the food nice. I invite all visiting Beijing to try this hotel. I bet you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Eze N, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the China World Hotel for 8 days. It was a very luxurious hotel that was well priced. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a great range of food to choose from.
The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very well equipped with everything you needed. They provided a bowl of complimentary fresh fruit in the room, which was a nice touch.
All the staff were friendly and helpful in every way. They provided you with a little business card with places to visit written in Chinese, so that you could give that to the taxi drivers who usually didn't speak very much English at all, and they would know where you wanted to go. This was very useful. They were also able to recommend tours, which again proved to be very useful. The location of the hotel was also excellent and there was a subway station very close by.
We really had a wonderful stay in this luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hokeypokeysue, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and nice room amenities are always enjoyed by our guests. We are delighted to hear that our team had made an impression on you. I will share your comments with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel has a great location, a grand lobby and excellent facilities. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the China World Hotel for four nights and it was a wonderful experience! The hotel is beautiful (especially the lobby), our room was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was incredible! Everyone who works there from the bell men, the receptionists, elevator men, maids, restaurant staff and especially the concierge staff made our stay at this hotel fantastic! There is a concierge named Dirk who went out of his way to make sure that we had a wonderful time in Beijing. Dirk was so helpful, so kind and so genuine! I highly recommend staying at the China World Hotel for any type of Beijing visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 626sarahkim, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially Dirk Zhang of Concierge, he will be happy with your recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel integrated with all the seminars & exhibition facilities. Excellent services, spacy room, good facilities & provides excellent amenities. The breakfast is awesome. Really worth for the price :-)

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Octovianus G, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. As we are truly committed to consistently high standards of service and facilities, and creating memorable experiences for our guests and happy that it has been achieved on this occasion. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing
China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#360 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's China World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.