We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place in the Heart of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B+dinning discount
Ranked #15 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Place in the Heart of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I spend 4 days from 11th May to 14th May 2013. The rooms are clean and bright with a nice bathroom. My room has a nice city view and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast is also very nice. Wifi is free in the room and also availble in the lobby.People in the Reception know English and ready to help by printing maps, if we ask for directions. The hotel is located near the silk market, subway station and many restaurants.

Room Tip: Select rooms with the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Visvakumar G, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World in particular the Scene A Cafe buffet breakfast and our WiFi which is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our colleagues truly make every effort to ensure our guests needs are anticipated. We are delighted to hear that our team had made an impression on you. I will share your comments with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    563
    312
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
44
68
34
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is world class! Despite its huge size, you get a very personalised service. Almost all the hotel staff spoke English, which could be a big challenge elsewhere. The hotel has good restaurants and a very noisy bar. My room was very spacious and had a good view. It also has a luxury mall attached to the hotel, but is quiet accessible to some economical shopping places, like the silk mall. I attended an international conference at this hotel that was superbly organized by the hotel staff. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay - good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear VK2006, thank you for your review. We are glad your conference was a success and you enjoyed all of the facilities at China World Hotel. China World Hotel is very well located in the CBD and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the China World for a 4 day conference in late May. The Reception staff were excellent dealing with hundreds of weary delegates checking in for the conference. Our room was well appointed and access to WIFi was simple. The food prepared and presented at the conference was oustanding, my compliments to the chefs who prepared the most amazing meals always on time and without error. I would defintely recommend this venue to host my conference or event. The mall attached to the hotel is huge but beware its very pricey and full of the top brands. I would stay again, even if only to experience the magic creations of the chefs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Grant W, thank you for your review, and we are glad your conference was a success. China World Hotel has great conference and meeting facilities, supported by capable service peoples and dedicated Food and Beverage and Culinary teams. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

China World is my most favourite hotel in Beijing. Its one of the highest quality of services and the comfortableness you have in China World is different from others, where you would have both excellent hardware (hotel environment, room hygiene, quality of bed etc) and software (services, prompt response). Comparing with many five star hotels they are having excellent hardware but not pay good attention to software, you dont have that problem in China World. China World demonstrates the professionalism of Shang-la chain, being the first and flagship hotel of the group in China, it used to be the top choices of senior diplomats and visitors to China. I have seem many presidents of various countries, stars, sports stars etc. during my stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear tsejerry, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. As we are truly committed to consistently high standards of service and facilities, we are all doing our utmost to create a memorable experience for guests and we are happy that it has been achieved on this occasion. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently on business while in Beijing. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived at the door. We were greeted by the reception staff and taken up to our room for check in. Housekeeping turned around pressing very quickly and the room was appointed quite nicely with amenities and technology.

The lobby is large with lots of space for business conversations/meetings. The Fitness Center and Spa facilities are extensive and well suited for a business traveler who wants to keep their exercise regime going. The location of the hotel is very good for meetings with government officials and the proximity to major tourist sites is good.

So, you won't go wrong with the hotel or the experienced staff. It's a "yes"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear CGCx, thank you for your review. Our colleagues truly make every effort to ensure our guests needs are anticipated. China World Hotel has a well equipped Health Club. Comprehensive facilities and an excellent choice of dining options. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were on business trip to Beijing, and have booked into this hotel for 7 days. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in the hotel; warmth, friendly and attentive staff. Their service is awesome particularly the Housekeeping team and Concierge. Thumbs up !

The entrance and lobby of this hotel......grand ! Lifts are aplenty, and as though there is no waiting time for lift. The room is spacious, clean and bright. Sufficient supply of drinking water ( bottled water ) throughout our stay. Bed is comfortable. Spacious bathroom and big shower cubicle. There is mini bar/bench in the room.

Location of this hotel is superb. Guomao subway station is just 2 minutes walking distance, literally right in front of the hotel. A bit of walking to Silk Street, about 15 minutes. From Guomao station to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City is just 4 stops away, using Line 1 subway.

Negative about this hotel ? No. Highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Our room was 1740, we had not a bad view of part of the city. Air pollution index was quite bad dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear mmnnn, thank you for your review and for sharing pictures of the hotel. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting.
We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially the Housekeeping and Concierge. I will share the comments with them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed with this hotel for 4 nights and really pleasure to enjoyed with my stay. I got very warm welcome from staffs and management upon checking in. They provided welcome drink and very good cool towel for us. The lobby very good designed and keep cold all time, so lovely. The breakfast was great too much chose for you. The room was great as well, the air con working well, provided bathroom amenities everyday, the bed comfy, room size big. Very hotel I loved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Lee R, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The comfortable room and Scene A Cafe breakfast are hallmarks of China World Hotel and the stunning lobby creates a grand ambience. I will share your positive comments with the team. I’m sure our colleagues will appreciate you comments very much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#359 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's China World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.