We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beyond The Horizon
Ranked #7 of 5,487 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

China World is close to my company HQ so I've stayed there a lot, probably more than 10 times. Rooms aren't huge and could use a little touching up but they are very comfortable and more than adequate. The breakfast buffet has everything you'd want and more. Overall service at the hotel is very good and the reception counter folks are always eager to help. The gym is huge and although not completely up to date, the facilities are great. No waiting for treadmills or machines. There's a mall underneath the hotel with restaurants, a pharmacy, grocery store, and all the high-end shopping one could ask for. Check out the ice skating rink at the mall and watch all the kids learning to skate. No wonder they do so well in the Olympics! There are also many good restaurants in the vicinity. The only downside is that is not too close to some of the tourist spots, in case you're trying to squeeze something in on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    384
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
76
107
43
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at China World a couple of days ago with my wife. The hotel is beautiful and location is the best in Beijing. I have to say the staffs are very helpful (she suggested DaDong Restaurant- best Roast Duck we've ever had!) and friendly, especially the girls at the lobby. Always smiling and welcoming when we pass through the lobby. Will definitely stay here again when we go back to Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From even before I left the USA to go to China for business, the staff at China World Hotel were going above and beyond to help me and my delegation of colleagues. We had a lot of special requests, shipping, and we were all arriving at different times. The wonderful staff even made an special effort to greet me in person after I was there. I even got to know 5-7 of them by their names, and they were patient enough with me to speak Chinese even though it takes me longer to communicate using Chinese. China World Hotel has also been well known for a long time in Beijing as a world class operation. I stayed there once before, a few years ago. This hotel is a world class operation and we will always try to stay there when we travel to Beijing.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice. The ones facing north might be a big larger because of the curvatur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a well located hotel for business trips in Beijing. Rooms are not large, but comfortable. They are a bit old and could benefit from some renovation, but are still fine. Breakfast buffet has a lot of options, great bread. Service at the reception is very good, helpful staff. The only note was the person who accompanied me to my room for check-in - she told me that I would receive a survey from the hotel and that I should mention her name and say that she had provided excellent service. I would have done it, but won't after having been asked by her.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My own Opinion:

UPSIDE (1) if you are in the executive floor/lounge, ask the corner room as you will have the double room size with the same proce and awesome view to the busy street facing the Yintai and Park Hyatt (2) staffs are very nice and accomodating (3) breakfast choice is superb (4) smell the lobby of the flowers is so good (5) spacious lobby (6) not far from the famous Silk Market (7) attached to the mall with various luxury goods and restaurants

DOWNSIDE - nothing except the beautique at the hotel is a bit pricy (expected).

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed five nights in a Horizon Premium Room. The rooms themselves are a bit dated, but very comfortable. The bathrooms are spectacular and everything, everywhere is spotlessly clean. Horizon Club food is tasty and interesting and the service is attentive, but the breakfasts downstairs at the main restaurant are truly extensive! Housekeeping is tops. The first morning they saw I was using a mouse on the glass-top desk, and they left a complimentary large mouse pad. It was Christmas, and they left a lovely Swiss chocolate Christmas tree. Courtesy and smiles from everyone...from the fellow at the lobby elevators to the cleaning staff. One gets the sense that the rooms may no longer be the trendiest, but this is a hotel that knows how to treat people well and make them feel welcome and comfortable.

Of course the location is great...directly connected to two subway lines, a large indoor shopping mall, a tennis center, and even a year-round ice skating rink! Although it's 23 years old....ancient for a top tier Chinese hotel....the China World / Shangri-La still sets the standard.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are MUCH bigger than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Classic luxury hotel, convenient to my business needs -- both office and subway access. Rooms were quiet and well-appointed. The concierge level was relaxing and featured the absolute best lox I've had anywhere. Drivers and taxis were convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 5,487 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,487 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#6 of 5,487 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 5,487 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#2 of 5,487 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#5 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#245 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's China World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.