We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the ingredients for a good hotel, but something missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“All the ingredients for a good hotel, but something missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although it's clearly aiming to be a world class luxury hotel, there's something missing. Which doesn't make it a bad hotel, it's just not the top class hotel it sets out to be. I was there for a work conference, and I enjoyed my time there. It's comfortable, clean, has good facilities and it's location in the business district is great.

The hotel has all the features you'd expect of a luxury hotel: large building, opulent lobby, classically furnished rooms, expensive bathrooms, imposing buffet breakfast and it's own Louis Vuitton outlet (in fact, it's on top of a shopping center that seems to sell every over-priced designer brand on the planet). But perhaps that's just it: it feels like a paint-by-numbers formula hotel that has all the ingredients, but no real soul or panache of its own. The physical product is also let down a little on the service side: the warmth and consistency of service just isn't there.

So while I by no means objected to staying at China World, if I have the choice I will try somewhere else next time I'm in Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    363
    60
    15
    10
See reviews for
58
99
37
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is located in the center and is 5 mins walk to the nearest metro station which can take you to Forbidden City in 15 -20 mins. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very kind, polite and helpful. Room Service is brilliant too. The only drawback is that it takes close to an hour to reach from airport. The food quality of the restaurants and in-room dining is very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Comfortable room with easy to sleep bed and stingingly hot shower (easy to control to not be so hot if unlike me you like a less hot shower), panoramic views of other skyscrapers, liberally stocked and replenished room (fruit, soap and toiletries just keep on appearing) and helpful staff. The guarantee they want on the cc is 1000 RMB a day, but you can negotiate that block down to about half if (like me) you don't like hotels sticking huge blocks on your card while you're travelling on business. Great conference facililties, and a classy mall is built onto the hotel.

Room Tip: North side rooms are quieter, but it doesn't matter as you can't hear much street noise. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here during mid-autumn in September 2012. Only stayed for 1 night after arrived from Shanghai. This hotel located in the business area in Beijing and only step away from Subway station, so very convenience for peoples who want to travel using subway in Beijing.

The room is big and clean, but the furniture quite old if we compare to another Shang-rila hotel in China (yes, China World Hotel is a Shang-rila hotel). Restaurant in ground floor is good for buffet dinner, I didn't take breakfast in this hotel because have to go to the airport early morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is located next to the subway, it is easy to go sightseeing in Beijing City.

The hotel room is big and clean. However not too many choices for the TV channels.

We received a mooncake from the hotel at mid-autumn festival.

The breakfast buffet is great, lots of things (incl Chinese, western style) can be chosde. And some cups is provided for making coffee (for take away) outside the restaurant during morning.

The basement of the hotel is attached to a big shopping mall, it is eay to find a grocery store, restaurants inside the mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited Beijing about a month ago. It was my first trip to China and Beijing (and to the East).
My stay (4 nights) in the CWH was arranged, and I started with the assumption (based on the room rate) that this is a luxury hotel. And for most of the things you look for in such a place, it was: nice breakfast, big room, grandiose public areas. It is also very close to a metro station and to the City centre.
But one word of advice: be very patient with staff! Although they want to help you, do not take their apparently positive answers (generally to the question: do you understand?!) because they are too polite to tell you they do NOT understand you, even when you try to use "very" plain English.
Second tip: there are people - like me - who cannot sleep with the A/C on. Be prepared for a very bad odour in the room when you turn it off. Although my room was on a non-smoking floor, it smelled as if it was inhabited before by a hard smoking team of at least 4 people at a time. I tried to get the staff to help me out (they offered to change rooms, but the hotel was full, so I really did not feel like moving), but it was very difficult. After the 2nd night though, the smell was lighter, I do not know how or why and I managed to sleep (without the A/C). Normally, I would not make a fuss, but, hey! for a 5 stars?! with prices twice as big as the Marriott, I feel cheated.

Room Tip: make sure you insist on a non-smoking room if you want one; take your time and be patient
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just returned from my first trip to Beijing and the China World Hotel. I was there for a work event. The rooms are nice, and the service is tremendous. The breakfast each day was very nice and offered anything you would want. My main negative is that I had no idea they still has smoking rooms and didn't request in advance a non-smoking room. When we asked to change they said that they were booked and could not change. As two non-smokers this made our stay less than perfect as the smell is something that is tough to get used to. Make sure you request non smoking advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Family Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#278 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's China World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.