We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service - staff can't do enough for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely service - staff can't do enough for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As others comment the location of the hotel is a bit awkward, although it is easy to catch cabs to and from the hotel. Just make sure you actually take the taxis from the hotel and that you get dropped off at the hotel door. The staff write down the taxi numbers and watch the drivers as you pay - I had a shonky experience with a driver swapping my money for counterfeit money when he 'inadvertently' drove past the driveway and pulled up down the street and then kept giving me back my money saying it was torn or there was another problem. The staff were incredibly helpful and called the taxi companies to trace the driver (but it turned out the taxi also had fake number plates). The staff were also terrific in arranging a rushed, personal tour to the Great Wall (I didn't have much time with my work trip), and in advancing me money from my credit card when the ATMs kept declining my card. For other travellers who have this problem, there is an ATM in the basement of the hotel which worked fine! The restaurant was lovely and had a good vegetarian selection which was a real bonus for me. The bed was very comfortable and overlooked the hotel garden. The room was a little tired - not really five star but I would say the service is seven!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    555
    96
    13
    8
See reviews for
49
79
39
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

hotel is old and service is poor related to Sangri-la standard. located in periferial area and not so close to any underground stations.no specific recomandation for spending night in the hotel. dinner quality poor and expensive

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. We regret that our hotel facilities and dining experience did not live up to your expectation. I would like to further discuss the matter with you, kindly contact me at christopher.chia@shangri-la.com.

Thank you.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Things have sharpened up for the better since my last visit and I was grateful to all the staff for their attentive service. Room cleaning seems to be high standard and bathroom smells abated. Room service was fast and effective. I like staying here as the hotel is spacious and good swimming pool....and for me its in exactly the right part of the city. Congratulations to the staff for a nice visit.

Room Tip: For business and meetings the Valley Wing rooms are good providing access to Horizon Club . I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel occupies a quite big area, they have two towers although it is not hard to walk through, the lobby is big and elegant, my room was clean and quiet, breakfast buffet was amazing, all kinds of food you could imagine, service people here are professional and friendly, really maintain the good brand name of this oriental chain, the only defect might be it's location, the western part of Beijing is a bit far from the city center, the traffic here is terrible!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have no doubt that Shangri la Hotel offer great services among a lot of Hotels Chain in the world. However, if the location desired to be close to attraction do not go for it. Otherwise, everything is great and perfect. I have got even complimentary shuttle serves to airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week as it wasn't too far from Beijing exhibition centre. I was in a room in the valley wing and it was fantastic. Everthing you could possibly need or want for a home from home was supplied in the room. All the staff were fantastic and helpful and I would certainly go back. The only disappointment was the STAY restaurant, but I have left a separate review on that experience!

Room Tip: Valley wing is newer and has a great club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at this 'idyllic beauty' after a long flight from the east coast of the U.S. What a pleasure to be welcomed by pleasant staff and inviting accommodations. Large, non-smoking room with a breathtaking view. Every traveler's need was thought and accommodated. The breakfast buffet is commensurate with the best luxury hotels in the U.S. offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#276 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.