We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China trip 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“China trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a friendly hotel. I travelled with my family and we were pleased with the service and facilities at this hotel. We enjoyed the breakfasts and had a nice buffet tea at the restaurant. Nice touches included changing the carpet in the lifts to reflect the days of the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    556
    96
    14
    8
See reviews for
49
79
39
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nj
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really loved this hotel. Although some people may feel this location is not convenient- Beijing is so large I am unsure any other spot would have been more convenient. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We liked all of the great space to put away or toiletries in the bathroom an the amenities in the room.Our only pet peeves were that we wish they had an outlet with a mirror so that multiple people could blow dry their hair instead of just one with the hook up in the desk and that there was no chocolate at turn down. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast served overlooking the very lovely garden area. Especially appreciated the made to order Beijing pancakes and smoothies. All of the staff was very nice and tried to be helpful despite our language barriers. We found the doormen and gym/pool attendants extremely attentive. Taxis no problem from the hotel but a little difficult trying to return to this location.

I cannot say enough about he gym/pool area. The gym was well appointed with towels, water, antibacterial wipes,etc. The pool was also maintained well and easily accommodated 4 lap swimmers. The nicest feature was the locker room which was a spa like oasis, containing steam, sauna, slate bottomed whirlpool, showers and rubber sandals, robes, towels and toiletries. It was so nice that I chose to get ready in the morning in that area leaving my friend to our room to herself. The staff was also very kind an helpful.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

brilliant hotel! clean with good amenities. staff warm and friendly.
restaurant food excellent - good choice at breakfast and also at dinner. one of best hotels in Beijing.
staff helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel, poor location. Expensive meals. Hard to get taxis in the morning. Very friendly staff. Buffet diner was very good, with lobster and other sea food. I checked in they day of my birthday and was very pleased with the complementary birthday cake they put in my room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

1. good service
2. can improve by providing more travel information about Beijing in hotel room such as map and travel guide.
3. welcome fruits can have more variety, not just apple as I stayed from 20 to 22 April
4. plant more trees and flowers in the garden
5. garden should be renovated so as to improve the overall image of the hotel and more relaxing feeling to the guests

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 9 days in April 2013. We had two rooms in the valley wing. And had free access to a really nice lounge with everything complimentary even nice champagne. The breakfast was served in the lounge as well, and was very good. The rooms where above normal Shangri-La standard and very large. The staff was friendly and help full though a bit hard to understand at times. From the moment we where off the plane from EU we where grated by a staff member at the gate who helped us through everything, a very nice touch. We where traveling with our 2 year old, and she felt like a star at the hotel where all staff seemed to fall for her. We even got some cute welcome presents for her. All in all i would like to recommend this hotel deeply

Room Tip: I can only recommend the Valley wing, every one kept telling us the old wing is not nearly as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for a short weekend getaway with my family during the chinese vacation of tomb sweaping day. We were taken to the 12th floor for check in the club floor. It was very smooth and done by very polite people as well.

Hotel set up: It has two towers, garden wing and valley wing, the new one, which I stayed in with my family. both wings are connected with a long and wide walkway that includes some shops and the main entrance of the evnts hall of the hotel. the old wing is facing a chinese garden that is greatly landscped. it works great for an afternoon tea.


Location: The hotel is located in the western part of the city. Not a lot of business located near the hotel. For that I would rate it for leisure more than a business hotel. nothing much around it on foot. you need to take a cab to reach anywhere interesting. all in all, not one of the best spots in the city.

Room: rooms of the new tower are simply amazing; the standard room which I tool was really spacious with a seating area. The TV is awkwardly positioned in the middle so you can actually pull out of its hole in the wall and tilt it wither way to watch, the bed or the seating area. Great toiletries and mini bar selection.

Food: hands down, Shangri-la is the best hotel company when it comes to food catering. Any Shangri-la I go you can’t go wrong with the food, be it room service or the varieties of the restaurant they have. I have to say, their food quality don’t come cheap. It’s too expensive to the point that you have to count it in the budget if you want to eat in the hotel. I tried room service, breakfast buffet, lounge snacks and the Japanese restaurant. All top class with no issue at all.

SPA: I tried Shangri-la’s signature spa, chi, in other location. It’s simply superb. My wife tried this hotel’s and did not have any complaints. The prices are high I would say.

Sports: swimming pool and gym are very nice, heated water and very high quality equipment. Changing room is very clean and well taken care of.

Over all, we had a very lovely two night stay at the hotel. It was not cheap at all, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go to the new tower, the Valley Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#275 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.