We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Festival Offer
Ranked #39 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for business trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service is great! The rooms are big and comfortable. The lounge of the west wing is very nice. Has a very nice fitness facility. The SPA is great! The pick up and drop off service at the airport is one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    578
    100
    15
    8
See reviews for
52
88
44
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel only for one week-end, but it was simply great. The room (Premier Valley Wing) was nice, comfortable and well-equiped. The staff was very polite and attentive to our needs, always smiling. We had the chance to eat in the three restaurants of the hotel: STAY, Shang Palace and Nishimura. Food was of high-quaity in all of them and atmosphere very adapted to each food's style. The breakfast at CHA Cafe was impressing. Also, CHI Spa is the perfect place to relax with professional massage.
During this week-end, the hotel organized different acitivties for us (it was a special offer) like dim-sum cooking class, tea ceremony and Beijing breakfast in a Beijing food institution. All these activities were very interesting and enriching. Even if we've been leaving in Beijing for four years, we learnt many things. This week-end recharges our batteries for the whole-year!
I really recommend the Shangri la to people who live in Beijing or China and want a week-end of peace to relax, also to businessmen who want to work quietly and to tourists who want to learn more about Beijing and its culture.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrival in Beijing was made all that much easier by having arranged a meet and greet at the air bridge with the Hotel who then escorted us through Customs right up to the waiting hotel car. Arrival could not have been more welcoming nor efficient. Personally escorted to a Diplomat Suite in the Valley Wing (celebrating a significant wedding anniversary) which was magnificent to say the least. Check in was completed in the rooms and the bags had arrived within a few minutes of arriving in the room. Most of the facilities were used and on each occasion, the staff were incredibly friendly, professional and attentive. Would recommend again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Valley Wing is newer and the Valley Wing Lounge along with its staff and amenities is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Room was spacious and highly comfortable. Food was nice (the quality perfect but I prefer more seafood than China inland cuisine). Stuff was maximally friendly and fulfilled all my needs. Spa – just perfect (especially massage. They have an apartment with private bath and shower for every visitor). Transport – taxi can take you around the city with no problems (excluding traffic jams which are really huge).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

No surprise there that this 5-star hotel provides excellent service -- for the price, it better does, even though I bet many people are not paying out of pocket anyway.

The porters were extremely helpful and saved my day after I forgot my passport on the taxi -- because I was so tired after being stuck in the traffic for 3+ hours from the airport! They radioed the front gate and the taxi driver quickly came back with my passport. Thank god!

Nothing to comment on the room, which was perfect. The old-fashioned desk chair was not very comfortable for work though. The maid left a mouse pad for me on the next day after seeing me using a piece of paper on the glass desk as a replacement. Nice little touch.

As is everywhere else in China, food was just wonderful. Service at the restaurant was excellent, for both breakfast and dinner. Again, I can't comment on the price since I didn't pay for it but the menu looked reasonable for the price from what I can recall.

I actually have no idea about the location because we were taken to all business by car service. However, I guess this isn't in a very central location based on the street scenes to and from the hotel. For starter, it is at the corner of to freeways. However, my room up in the 14th floor was absolutely quiet despite the proximity to busy traffic.

I probably would not stay at this hotel were it not for business, not because of the price but more for the location. Unless you drive, there doesn't seem anything to see around the hotel ground. You have to take taxi everywhere and the taxi line in the morning was very long for the week I stayed there. They dispatchers were very efficient and helpful though, as was almost every young man and woman in China. My take of China is that as long as money is on the table, everyone works super hard and the service is simply perfect. The same can't be said for other big cities in Europe and the US.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great service - the staff genuinely cares and all speak good English.

A couple things that I like in particular
-There's a free shuttle to Zhongguancun Software Park, which is where I need to go. Many taxi drivers don't know about this place, so it avoids the confusion of finding it. It's also difficult to find a shuttle from the software park due to its remoteness. It's a small thing, but makes a difference.
- If you want good western food for breakfast, the buffet is excellent. (The Chinese food is good too, but that's to be expected). It's a little expensive, about 200 RMB.
- Rooms are spacious. Internet is reliable, both wired and Wifi. Don't make you login after the first time, unlike other hotels where you log in every day.

Location is okay. If you want to walk to restaurants, there are some within walking distance. There's not a lot of life in the area though after dark. But, it's the closest good hotel to our office.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This being my first visit to Beijing, I was thrilled to find the Shangri-La Beijing met the standards I've come to expect after multiple stays at Shangri-La resorts worldwide. The usual trimmings are all there, with the service tipping the scales as soon as you walk through the door. The staff in all departments I interacted with were excellent.
Overall, the rooms are staple Shangri-La: all the features I've come to expect for my business traveller needs (comfy bed, good workdesk set-up, plenty of wardrobe space). On the downside, tea/coffee facilities were limited to a single black tea tea-bag (no coffee, milk or sugar to be seen) and the bathroom was looking a little tired and in need of some elbow-grease cleaning. It wasn't dirty by any stretch of the imagination, but it needed a bit more effort on the housekeeping front.
Do make the effort to sample the breakfast offerings in the buffet or via room service, and make the time to try high tea or a sumptuous (and very well priced) cocktail at the Cloud Nine Bar during your stay,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#268 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.