We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business person special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Back RMB400
Ranked #41 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Business person special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel is located well in the business district. I was on personal holiday, but it still served well. Staff is friendly and competent in English. Rooms are spacious and even the view from the front of the hotel was wonderful. Concierge staff especially helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    609
    108
    15
    8
See reviews for
59
100
52
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Book a holiday Inn Express instead at half the price at a better location. Old rooms, BnB type filthy bathrooms and cold room service with indifferent staff attitude.
Mind you, the website photos and features mentioined are highly deceptive and perhaps belong to the era of the Ming dynasty.

I spend over 30 nights a year in Shangri la properties across asia and have rarely been dissappointed - but this one is a sham. Very old rooms, furniture and upholsery almost like a Bangkok massage parlor. I asked for a diiferent room and was promptly taken to another identical room on the same floor! Chose to stay in the same room instead, spend the night and check out the next morning instead of the 3 nights I had originally planned.
When I complained about the room, I was curtly told that they could upgrade me to the 'Valley' wing at double the cost.
Decided to pay 200 CNY extra instead and moved to the Ritz Carlton the next day. Much better rooms and felt like a luxury property.

Stay here only if you are willing to pay a premium to stay in the 'Valley' wing, or pay 60% of the rate and stay at the Ritz Carlton instead.

This hotel in an embarassment to the Shangri la chain and possibly the worst they have.

Btw, I ordered the curry of the day in room service for dinner. Most above avergae hotels have moved on to the concept of 'hot boxes' to transfer room service. Got a bowl of cold curry that would perhaps have been edible when warm - seemed like leftovers from the dinner buffet.

Having said all of this, I am a Golden Circle diamond loyalty member and a regular corporate patron of the group - and if I can't get average satisfaction, if you are a regular guest - you have no hope in hell!!!

Room Tip: Yes, don't choose one here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Value Guest: thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Beijing and for taking the time to share your comments. We are very concerned about your negative experience on this visit with us and would very much like to further discuss the matter with you. Kindly contact our Resident Manager at hakan.ozel@shangri-la.com, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the first time I stayed with Shangri-La Hotel Beijing on a business trip. Their service was great just like all their Shangri-La resorts and hotels. I stayed in their older wing. The room was spacious and I can tell it was recently renovated. I love their bed, I think Shangri-La hotel chains has the most comfortable bed. The location of the hotel is a little out of the way. I couldn't find any restaurants or bars around the hotel. However, it was easy to grab a taxi to go anywhere but the traffic in BJ was crazy so make sure you leave plenty of time to travel. I ate at their lobby restaurant in one afternoon and ordered from their regular menu. I have to say their food wasn't really attractive and tasty. Not worth of the money. Their in-room dinning food quality was much better. I also spared out two hours and visited their Spa - The Chi Spa. The spa was nice and it was newly builed in their newer wing.

Room Tip: To save you some money, pick the rooms in their older wing. They are recently renovated and is conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in Nov 2012 and the hotel worked very well for me.

The lobby is huge, staff very welcoming and most spoke English very well. It had been 10 years since my last visit to China so I signed up for the transportation from the airport upon arrival. This went above and beyond any expectation. A woman met me just after the gate (before customs, baggage etc) and stayed with me all the way out to where we met the driver. Great service. I didn't get the bfast buffet included, but would next time. The food is fresh, great variety of typical eastern and western style bfasts.

The gym is large, well equipped and was never crowded. The spa was REALLY nice. Expensive for sure, but the service was great, it was open until 11pm and had appts on fairly short notice.

Room Tip: When you check in, they may try to upsell you into the "new tower" I stayed in the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service at the Buffet dinner was very poor. Much of the salad bar was not available by 19:30. I requested penne pasta carbonara and was told to come back in 4 minutes. 10 minutes later they still had not started my order. The cooks were talking about other matters. Then the order was served but did not include penne pasta. Another Customer was also complaining about the poor service at the pasta bar. The cooks were not serious to listen to the Customer and to get the orders right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent business hotel. One the fastest room service deliveries I have ever experienced. Excellent Japanese food too. Room is quiet...but for me (in November) over-heated...even with the heat turned off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love staying at the Shangri La in Beijing. Although it is a bit outside the city center, it is a relaxing oasis with always perfect service. Even if I have not visited in a year, the staff always recognize me and welcome me by name. It is pretty amazing the level of service they provide. The rooms are very comfortable and always have a personalized note and little welcome gift. I highly recommend staying in the newer Valley Room section of the hotel and staying on the Horizon level, where you can get a fantastic happy hour and hors d'ouevers from 5-7 pm, as well as a great breakfast spread in the morning included with your room. The gym and pool are very nice with good equipment. Highly recommend it -- especially if you need to be on the city's northwest side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#6 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#50 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Beijing
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Family Hotel in Beijing
#208 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.