We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore/Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“5-star in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've stayed in my fair share of hotels around the world, but this is the one that springs to mind when I think of 5-star.

First off, our room was spectacular. And we were staying in the regular garden wing, not the deluxe wing. The bed was super-soft, there was a work desk with free internet, and an elegant bathroom with a tub for long baths.

Next up, the facilities. The fitness center was nicer than my "luxury gym" here in Singapore. The restaurants served high-quality food to serve any taste, from local delicacies to healthy Japanese fare to familiar Western dishes. The bar also seemed to have live music every night.

Lastly, what impressed me the most, was the service. Staff were friendly and efficient, the concierge had great recommendations, and hotel staff managed the queue of taxis. This last one may not seem important, but this meant that the taxi driver knew where I wanted to go (the hotel staff would translate for me) and I could be certain I wouldn't get overcharged (since they also took down the license plate number).

The only negative was that the hotel is a ways from downtown Beijing and, if there's heavy traffic (which is often), it can take a while to get into the city. That said, it's also a much better value than the hotels in the city center.

Room Tip: Think we had the cheapest room type (biz trip - didn't book it ourselves), and it was spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    555
    96
    13
    8
See reviews for
49
79
39
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was a very short working stay, just an early afternoon check-in followed by an afternoon in the city, then overnight and departure the next morning. Our colleague had arranged for a flight pick-up which was impeccable, from the person waiting for us when we got off the plane to the in-room check-in at the hotel. The room was lovely, from the beautifully equipped bathroom to the fabulously comfortable bed, not forgetting the kettle and iron & board! Also have to say that the Shangri-La in Wenzhou is shaping up to be just as good, and has a 25 metre indoor pool!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is worth the five stars. The staff is uniformly more than polite...they seem to enjoy their jobs. I am marking a significant birthday here and last night two lovely young women brought a cake with a candle to my room..I am an old Chins hand, coming here since the 70s so not easy to fool.. This place is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

I had dinner for two days at Cafe Cha. It could be because we people from Hong Kong are spoiled by the excellent service level here, I found the waitresses in the cafe are not quick enough to respond to diners' requests, some even gave inappropriate reply. For instance, a Japanese lady asked a waitress for coffee which should has been served 20 mins ago nicely, the waitress' response was 'you scared me! (in mandarin)' because the Japanese lady greeted her from her back. From my point of view, the Japanese was ver nice, patient and good mannered, your colleague's response actually scared me!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

the okay..

We spent almost a week in Beijing in July 2011, and stayed at the Shangri-la. While the location isnt the best (not horrible location either, silk market is walking distance as well as many restaurants) the rooms are great. There was construction that started at 8am everyday during our stay due to the renovation and the main entrance was also closed because of this...

the bad..,

DO NOT exchange currency at this property. We exchanged some on our first day there and headed over to the silk market by cab. First, the cabbie refused to take any of the yuans and then while shopping our money was rejected by the salespeople, not knowing much chinese we did not understand why, until a fellow american overheard and told us they are are saying the money is FAKE, thats right, FAKE! we rushed back to the hotel and explained what had happened only to be told by the manager that its impossible the money would have came from this hotel and basically did not believe us. Anyway, the police showed up, filed a report bla bla bla,.. this incident left a bad taste in my mouth for the remainder of our stay. we learned the hard way that a bank is the safest bet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

+ Best service ever
+ Nice, cute and friendly front desk staff
+ Very smooth ambiance
+ Nice and interesting persons in the lobby
+ Very luxurious
+ Big and very clean bathroom
+ Near the BIg silkmarket
+ Pretty Good asian restaurant
+ Good internet connection
+ Nothing bad to say about this hotel

Room Tip: Show ya money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I would take full advantage of the concierge's as we did. Justin and Cage were extremely helpful and I would recommend hiring a guide to obtain as much history as possible at each of the sights. The food was delicious, the help efficient and friendly and the workout area and pool clean. We also enjoyed the garden view outside the restaurant. We were very pleased with the Shangri-la.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Business Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#276 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.