We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Inconvenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday In Style
Ranked #35 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Chengdu, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Inconvenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

First of all, I love Shangri-La hotels and I booked this hotel almost blindly when we decided to travel to Beijing.

The hotel location is inconvenient and is walking distance to basically: nothing! Guess that a hotel like the Hilton would be a better bet when it comes to location.

Nevertheless, the room is fine, the amenities complete. Our reception was warm. The staff was waiting for us outside the hotel, had toys for the kids and we were check-in in our room. No queues, which is what you want after a long flight.
Extra beds for the kids were in the room, welcome cakes, everything!

The breakfast buffet is good and complete and continuously replenished. The staff is somewhat inefficient though. Requests often need to be made twice. But they are friendly.

Housekeeping and staff are very responsive to requests (other than at the breakfast).

Room service is expensive compared to what good restaurants charge outside. 140 RMB for a sandwich (25 US$) is a little crazy.

If I come back to Beijing I would take another hotel for tourism purposes, only because of its location. For any other purpose: this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    634
    547
    95
    13
    8
See reviews for
48
74
37
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel was excellent, whereas all the staff is not speaking nor understanding English very well. But all the services are perfect, the food is excellent...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great stay at the Shangri-la. The staff were very friendly, efficient and I would definitely stay there again if in Beijing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to use the lounge, excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly. The garden area is a great place to relax. Breakfast very good. My No.1 hotel and I have stayed in hotels from Monte Carlo to Mablethorpe !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is one of, if not the best, Hotel's I've stayed in. The size of the room was small, but wasn't a problem for 2 weeks, for the price it was perfect. This hotel's service was first class. They papered your every wish. I enjoy everything about their services, from the exercise room (had all the latest machines and free weights ),to the swimming pool. They thought of everything. I never saw such a westernized hotel in China. You had to Travel to go anywhere but I knew that going in, I preferred the privacy. Limo from airport made it easy.
They took care of my bags after customs. Had a guide from the plan to the limo. No tipping in China ( I tried but was stopped)
The assortment of restaurants was amazing. The buffet Breakfast alone will bring me back.
Security was the best I've seen anywhere. They even sort out the Taxi's so you don't get taken. Five star price but not so bad, we got our monies worth, I couldn't afford to eat there everyday but the Breakfast was free and we made it two meals worth.
I would recommend this hotel if you can afford it.
I wouldn't recommend the "Silk Market", what a circus. Low quality Merchandise.
Dan Studzinski

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a room in the new valley wing. The room was excellent with all the amenities you could need and more. Service in the lounge was flawless. Really I cannot recommend any more the valley wing. It's worth the money. Breakfast was quick and delicious with a great selection. Amazing coffee and the inclusive drinks in the evening make this the best value room. I was so shocked to find that perrier jouet was included in the price.
Finally the new S.T.A.Y restaurant was without a doubt the best restaurant we visited in our 7 day stay. The dessert library is just amazing even if you don't stay this restaurant is a must.

I must admit that the location isnt the best but cabs are cheap I always got the hotel to ask the driver the rough price before setting off to minimise the driver driving in circles.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After a long flight from UK, Shangri-la was as its name suggests. Excellent service and rooms. Beautifully presented at all times. Evening buffet was excellent.
We stayed in four more 5star hotels in different cities in China after Shangri-la but none quite approached its overall quality.
Every member of staff was attentive and made us feel valued guests. Of particular note were the waiters and waitresses compared with other hotels. In the lounge/lobby they were extremely attentive and well-mannered, yet not "pushy". They all seemed to speak very good English.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have some great views of the cityscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#18 Business Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#267 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.