We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Beijing to your Saves list
The Peninsula Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very well located, this Peninsula really goes overboard with excellent service. Rooms are what you would expect in a Peninsula: first class. There is a very good cantonese-style chinese restaurant on -2 level.
But the service....and all staff at the concierge and check-in desk speak in fluent English which is not the case with many hotels in this part of the world.
And the hotel location is very close to most all attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    359
    120
    26
    13
See reviews for
152
272
74
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were greeted by friendly doorman (and we have just traveled all day, we probably didn't look like people who should be staying at the nicest hotel in China), we didn't even have to push the revolving door (they have a uniformed attendant whose sole job is to revolve the door for you.) There's two Rolls waiting in the front to whisk you away if needed (there was a Bentley at our Sanya resort. Upgrade!) The front desk was in a tizzy, but looking back we may have arrived right at 1500 which is when everyone checks in. They didn't have our room available so she immediately offered us an upgrade to a room that was available which was nice. Our room was big by China standards and had beautiful wood fixtures and door jams. The bathroom had a glass enclosed shower with a big tub and all the amenities you could ever want. The staff came for turn down service shortly after we arrived and brought us more towels although we hadn't used any yet! We were meeting a friend in Beijing who had left us a message. The hotel was kind enough to print out her message in English and Mandarin and also give us a map to where we were meeting her. This was extremely helpful for us to give to the cab driver. Later we had tea in the lobby and the staff was extremely attentive in bringing us snacks and drinks. We went shopping at Tiffany which is in the (somewhat dated looking) lobby along with Chanel, LV, Tom Ford, etc. Another nice touch is the wake-up call is not an automated machine but rather a person who calls you personally and wishes you a good day. Also, this is located near shopping, a great food market and about a 20 minute stroll to the Forbidden City. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff did a great job of picking us up at Airport in Private Car (was either a 7 Series or an A8). Upon arrival we were greeted at the entrance and taken directlyup to the Club Level without stopping at Reception. This was all very well done. There are awkward views from the hotel since Beijing is rather sketchy and VERY smoggy. The hotel is a few blocks walking distance to the Tiananman Square and the Forbidden City. Concierge set us up with a nice private tour to the Great Wall. (Next time, I would do some exploration on the different sections of The Wall.) The guide made a side trip to a Tea House where it was a bit uncomfortable with the hard sales pitch to buy their expensive tea. One day we took a cab to the Summer Palace and found another cab back. The cab drivers were honest and reliable.
Overall, I was very happy to have stayed there. It always seems like we are the most important guests they have. I love walking around and I loved this location and the overall value.

Room Tip: I think the Club Level is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2012. My husband had never been to Beijing before, so we were very busy sightseeing. This hotel was such a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast, although it was extremely expensive, was excellent. We used the spa here a few times -- beautiful spa with great service -- and I also did laps in the pool (which was maybe 20 yards or so). The staff helped us a few times to make and confirm dinner reservations. For people who are touring Beijing for the first time, I highly recommend staying here. This was probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Pure luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, end of April and beginning of May. The first stay was a lot better than the second. Arriving early in the morning, we could already check-in to our room. On the other hand, arriving at 1 pm, our room was not ready, neither the one of our friends. Staff was very unfriendly and did not offer any alternatives. We had to insist, that one room at least should be ready at 2 pm. The promised to send the key to the spa/pool, but didn't work out. We had to go back to the lobby with the bath robe in order to get the key... Unfortunately the key didn't work on our door. Luckily a cleaning lady opened the door, so we didn't have to go back. We called the front desk and they promised to send the new keys up.... They never came..

The pool was ok, but rather very cold (air and water).

Price value always ok, since we got a good deal, but it is not like any other peninsula hotels.

Location is very good and close to the shopping street and to several sights.

The first stay, we where in the executive floor. The complimentary cocktails and wines were of very poor quality. The drink had to be mixed by the guests and the snacks very limited.
Breakfast on the other hand was ok.

Room was ok and very clean. No amenities for kids.. We had to ask for it.

Service in executive club was way better, but still not peninsula style. Staff from the executive lounge didn't even know the check-in procedures at the airport ( air china), nor could inform us that there is no web check-in for air china.

I would definitely check out another hotel on our next stay in Peking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location, attentive staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, amazingly clean ,breakfast buffet is one of the best and especially the custom made omelettes. The shops of course are world class.
the use of BMW 7 class available,but hotel is in walking distance to great shopping area.Oh yes the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the elementry school and exclusive tea house , great viewing of daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great value for your buck. Short stay, and spent alot of time sleeping, but a few points:
Location was very central, close to a couple different restaurants, as well as plenty of good shopping within a few blocks. Also shopping within the hotel, but very expensive.
Service was excellent. From front desk to restaurants to cleaning staff, everyone was very helpful. Everyone I dealt with also spoke very good English, which is not always the case.
Hotel exterior and interior were both very modern and very clean. Especially impressive from the outside the first time you see it, though after a long flight its harder to tell.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but overall very nice and kept very clean. Bed was comfortable, and you need sleep after the long flight.
Maybe the best buffet breakfast I had while in Asia.
Overall definitely a 5 star, though maybe not quite up to the standards of other Peninsulas. At a certain point it is just hair splitting, but worth mentioning. I would recommend for anyone in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#57 Business Hotel in Beijing
#320 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tech gadgets, Internet. The hotel's 525 rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless and wired Internet access, MP 3 / MP4 connectivity, silent fax machines, DVD/CD players, electronic bedside control panels, and telephones in bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.