We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to Forbidden City and Tiananman Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Beijing to your Saves list
The Peninsula Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location next to Forbidden City and Tiananman Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff did a great job of picking us up at Airport in Private Car (was either a 7 Series or an A8). Upon arrival we were greeted at the entrance and taken directlyup to the Club Level without stopping at Reception. This was all very well done. There are awkward views from the hotel since Beijing is rather sketchy and VERY smoggy. The hotel is a few blocks walking distance to the Tiananman Square and the Forbidden City. Concierge set us up with a nice private tour to the Great Wall. (Next time, I would do some exploration on the different sections of The Wall.) The guide made a side trip to a Tea House where it was a bit uncomfortable with the hard sales pitch to buy their expensive tea. One day we took a cab to the Summer Palace and found another cab back. The cab drivers were honest and reliable.
Overall, I was very happy to have stayed there. It always seems like we are the most important guests they have. I love walking around and I loved this location and the overall value.

Room Tip: I think the Club Level is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    401
    137
    27
    14
See reviews for
169
305
78
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2012. My husband had never been to Beijing before, so we were very busy sightseeing. This hotel was such a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast, although it was extremely expensive, was excellent. We used the spa here a few times -- beautiful spa with great service -- and I also did laps in the pool (which was maybe 20 yards or so). The staff helped us a few times to make and confirm dinner reservations. For people who are touring Beijing for the first time, I highly recommend staying here. This was probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Pure luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, end of April and beginning of May. The first stay was a lot better than the second. Arriving early in the morning, we could already check-in to our room. On the other hand, arriving at 1 pm, our room was not ready, neither the one of our friends. Staff was very unfriendly and did not offer any alternatives. We had to insist, that one room at least should be ready at 2 pm. The promised to send the key to the spa/pool, but didn't work out. We had to go back to the lobby with the bath robe in order to get the key... Unfortunately the key didn't work on our door. Luckily a cleaning lady opened the door, so we didn't have to go back. We called the front desk and they promised to send the new keys up.... They never came..

The pool was ok, but rather very cold (air and water).

Price value always ok, since we got a good deal, but it is not like any other peninsula hotels.

Location is very good and close to the shopping street and to several sights.

The first stay, we where in the executive floor. The complimentary cocktails and wines were of very poor quality. The drink had to be mixed by the guests and the snacks very limited.
Breakfast on the other hand was ok.

Room was ok and very clean. No amenities for kids.. We had to ask for it.

Service in executive club was way better, but still not peninsula style. Staff from the executive lounge didn't even know the check-in procedures at the airport ( air china), nor could inform us that there is no web check-in for air china.

I would definitely check out another hotel on our next stay in Peking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location, attentive staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, amazingly clean ,breakfast buffet is one of the best and especially the custom made omelettes. The shops of course are world class.
the use of BMW 7 class available,but hotel is in walking distance to great shopping area.Oh yes the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the elementry school and exclusive tea house , great viewing of daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great value for your buck. Short stay, and spent alot of time sleeping, but a few points:
Location was very central, close to a couple different restaurants, as well as plenty of good shopping within a few blocks. Also shopping within the hotel, but very expensive.
Service was excellent. From front desk to restaurants to cleaning staff, everyone was very helpful. Everyone I dealt with also spoke very good English, which is not always the case.
Hotel exterior and interior were both very modern and very clean. Especially impressive from the outside the first time you see it, though after a long flight its harder to tell.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but overall very nice and kept very clean. Bed was comfortable, and you need sleep after the long flight.
Maybe the best buffet breakfast I had while in Asia.
Overall definitely a 5 star, though maybe not quite up to the standards of other Peninsulas. At a certain point it is just hair splitting, but worth mentioning. I would recommend for anyone in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms are a bit small. When you move beyond those two points, the hotel is a great value at current rates. If you make the reservation expecting the marquee property characteristics of other Peninsula properties like the Hong Kong property, you will be disappointed. The service is attentive, the location is central to major tourist attractions, and the dining is outstanding. The beds and the bathroom arrangement works well for two people. We would certainly stay here again with the current attractive rates.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our post cruise trip in China. The first night we were treated to a huge room with a wall of windows and an office suite. The room was quite large, airy and bright. Two large queen beds were extra comfy with lovely duvets. Nice lovely, soft, huge bath towels and comp slippers. Comp water is in the room and turn down service offers additional. I also appreciated the door bell and do not disturb light light displayed at the door. The large room gets top marks from me. Hint-- there is a tv remote located in the lower media drawer, using the control pad next to the bed is a little awkward.

Breakfast downstairs in the mall is a little strange but the variety served was nicely done. I agree with another reviewer that it is dark in Jing and there is no natural lighting. People who have trouble with steps may find it awkward as you do end up going up a step in different areas of the buffet. They have everything from Asian, American to Euro choices.

The lobby space is indeed shared with high end shopping retailers such as Harry Winston and Channel. I found it to be strange and didn't care for it. I felt that I was in a mall rather than my hotel lobby. The stores were not at all inviting.

On the last two nights of our tour we stayed back at this hotel again. This time we received a much smaller room with two double beds. It was nice but very average and I would compare it to any Marriott in the states. Nice but nothing special. I disagree with the other reviewer who compared it to a Holiday Inn. That's just not true. The air conditioning system worked fine. Controls are on the pad next to the bed. If I were to stay at this hotel again I would prefer the larger room.

On our check out morning our tour guide had arranged with the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box since the restaurant was not open yet. We took it on the plane with us to the envy of all around us including the flight attendants. Nicely done.

Location in the city is excellent. For an evening stroll you can walk down to the "snack market" to try a scorpion or other tasty morsels.

The bell service handled and stored our extra luggage perfectly during our trip.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#46 Business Hotel in Beijing
#46 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#287 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tech gadgets, Internet. The hotel's 525 rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless and wired Internet access, MP 3 / MP4 connectivity, silent fax machines, DVD/CD players, electronic bedside control panels, and telephones in bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.