We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind after touring Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind after touring Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2012. My husband had never been to Beijing before, so we were very busy sightseeing. This hotel was such a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast, although it was extremely expensive, was excellent. We used the spa here a few times -- beautiful spa with great service -- and I also did laps in the pool (which was maybe 20 yards or so). The staff helped us a few times to make and confirm dinner reservations. For people who are touring Beijing for the first time, I highly recommend staying here. This was probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Pure luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    357
    118
    26
    12
See reviews for
150
265
74
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, end of April and beginning of May. The first stay was a lot better than the second. Arriving early in the morning, we could already check-in to our room. On the other hand, arriving at 1 pm, our room was not ready, neither the one of our friends. Staff was very unfriendly and did not offer any alternatives. We had to insist, that one room at least should be ready at 2 pm. The promised to send the key to the spa/pool, but didn't work out. We had to go back to the lobby with the bath robe in order to get the key... Unfortunately the key didn't work on our door. Luckily a cleaning lady opened the door, so we didn't have to go back. We called the front desk and they promised to send the new keys up.... They never came..

The pool was ok, but rather very cold (air and water).

Price value always ok, since we got a good deal, but it is not like any other peninsula hotels.

Location is very good and close to the shopping street and to several sights.

The first stay, we where in the executive floor. The complimentary cocktails and wines were of very poor quality. The drink had to be mixed by the guests and the snacks very limited.
Breakfast on the other hand was ok.

Room was ok and very clean. No amenities for kids.. We had to ask for it.

Service in executive club was way better, but still not peninsula style. Staff from the executive lounge didn't even know the check-in procedures at the airport ( air china), nor could inform us that there is no web check-in for air china.

I would definitely check out another hotel on our next stay in Peking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location, attentive staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, amazingly clean ,breakfast buffet is one of the best and especially the custom made omelettes. The shops of course are world class.
the use of BMW 7 class available,but hotel is in walking distance to great shopping area.Oh yes the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the elementry school and exclusive tea house , great viewing of daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great value for your buck. Short stay, and spent alot of time sleeping, but a few points:
Location was very central, close to a couple different restaurants, as well as plenty of good shopping within a few blocks. Also shopping within the hotel, but very expensive.
Service was excellent. From front desk to restaurants to cleaning staff, everyone was very helpful. Everyone I dealt with also spoke very good English, which is not always the case.
Hotel exterior and interior were both very modern and very clean. Especially impressive from the outside the first time you see it, though after a long flight its harder to tell.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but overall very nice and kept very clean. Bed was comfortable, and you need sleep after the long flight.
Maybe the best buffet breakfast I had while in Asia.
Overall definitely a 5 star, though maybe not quite up to the standards of other Peninsulas. At a certain point it is just hair splitting, but worth mentioning. I would recommend for anyone in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms are a bit small. When you move beyond those two points, the hotel is a great value at current rates. If you make the reservation expecting the marquee property characteristics of other Peninsula properties like the Hong Kong property, you will be disappointed. The service is attentive, the location is central to major tourist attractions, and the dining is outstanding. The beds and the bathroom arrangement works well for two people. We would certainly stay here again with the current attractive rates.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our post cruise trip in China. The first night we were treated to a huge room with a wall of windows and an office suite. The room was quite large, airy and bright. Two large queen beds were extra comfy with lovely duvets. Nice lovely, soft, huge bath towels and comp slippers. Comp water is in the room and turn down service offers additional. I also appreciated the door bell and do not disturb light light displayed at the door. The large room gets top marks from me. Hint-- there is a tv remote located in the lower media drawer, using the control pad next to the bed is a little awkward.

Breakfast downstairs in the mall is a little strange but the variety served was nicely done. I agree with another reviewer that it is dark in Jing and there is no natural lighting. People who have trouble with steps may find it awkward as you do end up going up a step in different areas of the buffet. They have everything from Asian, American to Euro choices.

The lobby space is indeed shared with high end shopping retailers such as Harry Winston and Channel. I found it to be strange and didn't care for it. I felt that I was in a mall rather than my hotel lobby. The stores were not at all inviting.

On the last two nights of our tour we stayed back at this hotel again. This time we received a much smaller room with two double beds. It was nice but very average and I would compare it to any Marriott in the states. Nice but nothing special. I disagree with the other reviewer who compared it to a Holiday Inn. That's just not true. The air conditioning system worked fine. Controls are on the pad next to the bed. If I were to stay at this hotel again I would prefer the larger room.

On our check out morning our tour guide had arranged with the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box since the restaurant was not open yet. We took it on the plane with us to the envy of all around us including the flight attendants. Nicely done.

Location in the city is excellent. For an evening stroll you can walk down to the "snack market" to try a scorpion or other tasty morsels.

The bell service handled and stored our extra luggage perfectly during our trip.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location to explore the city of Beijing and you are not too far from most attractions in the main city. The hotel no doubt enjoyed a marquee position at a certain time and the opulence makes one reminiscent of that. The rooms and bathrooms are of a decent size and have most Normal luxuries you would expect.

However some of the systems and equipments such as the tv, air conditioner, coffee machine, etc need a serious overhaul by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Family Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#49 Business Hotel in Beijing
#321 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tech gadgets, Internet. The hotel's 525 rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless and wired Internet access, MP 3 / MP4 connectivity, silent fax machines, DVD/CD players, electronic bedside control panels, and telephones in bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.