We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Beijing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Beijing to your Saves list
The Peninsula Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 5,485 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good Beijing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great value for your buck. Short stay, and spent alot of time sleeping, but a few points:
Location was very central, close to a couple different restaurants, as well as plenty of good shopping within a few blocks. Also shopping within the hotel, but very expensive.
Service was excellent. From front desk to restaurants to cleaning staff, everyone was very helpful. Everyone I dealt with also spoke very good English, which is not always the case.
Hotel exterior and interior were both very modern and very clean. Especially impressive from the outside the first time you see it, though after a long flight its harder to tell.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but overall very nice and kept very clean. Bed was comfortable, and you need sleep after the long flight.
Maybe the best buffet breakfast I had while in Asia.
Overall definitely a 5 star, though maybe not quite up to the standards of other Peninsulas. At a certain point it is just hair splitting, but worth mentioning. I would recommend for anyone in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    402
    139
    27
    14
See reviews for
173
310
79
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms are a bit small. When you move beyond those two points, the hotel is a great value at current rates. If you make the reservation expecting the marquee property characteristics of other Peninsula properties like the Hong Kong property, you will be disappointed. The service is attentive, the location is central to major tourist attractions, and the dining is outstanding. The beds and the bathroom arrangement works well for two people. We would certainly stay here again with the current attractive rates.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our post cruise trip in China. The first night we were treated to a huge room with a wall of windows and an office suite. The room was quite large, airy and bright. Two large queen beds were extra comfy with lovely duvets. Nice lovely, soft, huge bath towels and comp slippers. Comp water is in the room and turn down service offers additional. I also appreciated the door bell and do not disturb light light displayed at the door. The large room gets top marks from me. Hint-- there is a tv remote located in the lower media drawer, using the control pad next to the bed is a little awkward.

Breakfast downstairs in the mall is a little strange but the variety served was nicely done. I agree with another reviewer that it is dark in Jing and there is no natural lighting. People who have trouble with steps may find it awkward as you do end up going up a step in different areas of the buffet. They have everything from Asian, American to Euro choices.

The lobby space is indeed shared with high end shopping retailers such as Harry Winston and Channel. I found it to be strange and didn't care for it. I felt that I was in a mall rather than my hotel lobby. The stores were not at all inviting.

On the last two nights of our tour we stayed back at this hotel again. This time we received a much smaller room with two double beds. It was nice but very average and I would compare it to any Marriott in the states. Nice but nothing special. I disagree with the other reviewer who compared it to a Holiday Inn. That's just not true. The air conditioning system worked fine. Controls are on the pad next to the bed. If I were to stay at this hotel again I would prefer the larger room.

On our check out morning our tour guide had arranged with the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box since the restaurant was not open yet. We took it on the plane with us to the envy of all around us including the flight attendants. Nicely done.

Location in the city is excellent. For an evening stroll you can walk down to the "snack market" to try a scorpion or other tasty morsels.

The bell service handled and stored our extra luggage perfectly during our trip.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location to explore the city of Beijing and you are not too far from most attractions in the main city. The hotel no doubt enjoyed a marquee position at a certain time and the opulence makes one reminiscent of that. The rooms and bathrooms are of a decent size and have most Normal luxuries you would expect.

However some of the systems and equipments such as the tv, air conditioner, coffee machine, etc need a serious overhaul by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My son and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Peninsula Hotel, Beijing. I think we were expecting a property similar to the Peninsula in Hong Kong. The exterior was disappointing subway tile that could use a face lift. The lobby and public areas are very nice. We had booked a deluxe room and had received two upgrades. I was expecting a ver nice room. We were told we were on the Club Level without club benefits. The room was very mundane, what you might expect at a Holiday Inn. Bedding was nice, as was service. Just don't expect anything special. Nothing bad, we were anticipating something much nicer.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any that are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's surprising Peninsula put it's brand on this hotel. It's run down, service not at all what you would expect, and price quite steep compared to value.
Didn't help that the hotel's air con was out of order when we were there either, which they failed to mention at check in. Executive lounge is dilapidated, and service really strange - you won't feel welcome.
Only pros: Amazing concierge service.
On the whole: Forget it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What I liked:
- Location: good, within walking distance from major attractions in Beijing
- Big comfy bed
- Well equipped room (amenities, devices...)
- Excellent breakfast

What I didn't like:
- Barthoom very small
- Lounge seems a shopping mall, busy, not relaxing
- Impersonal (nothing in common with Peninsula in Bangkok and Hong Kong, this is a good 'business' hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#43 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#269 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tech gadgets, Internet. The hotel's 525 rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless and wired Internet access, MP 3 / MP4 connectivity, silent fax machines, DVD/CD players, electronic bedside control panels, and telephones in bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.