We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to catch up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.35 East Chang'an Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Needs to catch up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fantastic position. Good attempt to be a five star, but you feel it does not come natural to be caring and professional. Big rooms, but the windows were so dirty you could hardly see through. They promised a terrace overlooking the Forbidden City on the website. It has been closed for four years we were told.... Unacceptable to lie like that for a five star hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    146
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
58
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is located in one of the best areas of Beijing in terms of access to the Forbidden City. The area is also very peaceful and there are good shops nearby. The hotel has a lovely collection of art displayed very tastefully all around. Service was excellent and the rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Forbidden City. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spend the weekend in the Grand Hotel Beijing. Initially I wanted to have a room with the view over the forbidden city, but as they didn't had one available I got upgraded to a suite which was absolutely massive. Let me get a couple of points straight, as this is a Chinese Hotel people are allowed to smoke in the rooms which means they could smell a little, the interior is in some areas from the 80's nevertheless the rooms are comfy and clean and the service is excellent. Location is also great with most of the main attractions in walking distance.
I really liked the place which had a certain quirkiness which nicely set this Hotel apart from the standard business Hotels I normally stay in. So for me 4/5 and I'm happy to stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a large group of students doing volunteer work and the Grand Hotel Beijing was to be their reward. In terms of economy we went to great lengths (and additional cost) to book three students to a room, paying a nightly rate for extra beds. When we arrived, the rooms weren't ready, despite having rung ahead 6 hours previous to confirm our flights and arrival times and the manager was going to put the students together in double beds!! I patiently explained that we had paid a considerable amount to have three students per room in separate beds and were told that they didn't even stock rollaway beds. They refused to refund the extra money taken and the teachers had to squeeze in together to allow students separate beds. Dirty rooms, disinterested staff and filthy public toilets left me wondering which part of this hotel is apparently five star. Will never stay there again, advise against any groups booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fabulous hotel and I would highly recommend this to any overseas visitor. We had a room overlooking the forbidden city. The room was well equipped, the hotel location was perfect and all facilities were very clean. The bed was comfortable and was turned down each evening. There was no road noise from traffic outside and the air con was also very good, particularly that it very hot outside. Taxis were easy to get at short notice and of course very cheap. The indoor pool was great and the Gym was OK although a little small. Some communication was difficult although there were staff that spoke better english than others. The business centre was a little expensive at around 40RMB per 15 minutes or so for internet. The restaurants were a little expensive but the food was OK. It did cost 50RMB for a coffee to your room.

Room Tip: The view is worth the little extra so pick a room with views over tye forbidden city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First, the location is phenomenal. Directly down the road from the Tienanmen Square and one side of the building looks out toward the Forbidden City.
However, the hotel needs a renovation. The carpeting in my room was lumpy and was not attached to the floor. It also was not cut to the correct size and there were seams everywhere. Made me feel uncomfortable in the room.
Also, I found the breakfast buffet in red wall cafe to be far below average, when compared to other breakfasts I had at hotels in two other cities on the same trip. The food is not heated and cooled properly and also strange taste. They Red Wall Cafe also offers a buffet dinner, which is horribly overpriced and also questionable food quality.
To be honest I might not stay here again just because I did not enjoy the food aspect and I need a reliable food source when I travel for business.
The room cleaning staff was very friendly. The Concierge tried to be helpful but they really didn't offer much of anything in terms of service. Also, complete lack of information about historical, tourist, and cultural sights. Just research it on your own.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had an excellent and very relaxing stay at the Grand Hotel. Our huge room with beautifully carved furniture overlooked the Forbidden City. The service was excellent, as should be expected from a 5 star hotel. We also ate at 3 of the restaurants on site and all of the food was excellent. Wine selection was decent for being in China. But honestly, we didn't spend that much time in the hotel, because there was so much to see and do around it, even just within walking distance. The location really cannot be beat. I couldn't believe how affordable the rooms were either. I highly recommend the Grand Hotel Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beijing

Address: No.35 East Chang'an Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in Beijing
#99 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#215 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.