We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your Beijing Visit Comfortable and Memorable at the St. Regis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Beijing

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Make your Beijing Visit Comfortable and Memorable at the St. Regis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The St. Regis is an excellent choice for any stay in Beijing. Myself and a colleague each booked a Diplomat room and were extremely pleased. The rooms were very large and had large closets and bathrooms. We stayed four nights for a trade show.

The breakfast buffet is on par with the best buffets I have ever seen in Las Vegas hotels. The choices are extensive for both Asian and Western cuisine. The dining room itself is exquisite and with beautiful views. We did not eat in any of the other dining outlets in the hotel.

The evening happy hour was also a welcome retreat every evening. They have a full range of draught beers and cocktails, all complimentary.

Morning wake up calls with complimentary French press coffee (a St. Regis chain signature) is also a treat.

The fitness facility is top notch as is the indoor swimming pool. I also recommend bowling a few frames at the private bowling alley which they will be more than happy to open for you. You can also order room service in the bowling alley.

The doormen were very helpful in chasing down taxis in the rain an communicating our destinations.

We hired the hotel limousine (a stretch Audi A6) to take us to the great wall at Jinshanling and then we hiked to Simatai. I believe it was about $400 USD and was a 9-10 hour excursion…worth every penny. You could probably do this for much less with a minivan or taxi, but we liked the convenience and piece of mind of having a driver’s cell phone number in an emergency.

The location is great for Tienanmen and other sights…a 30 minute walk or $3 cab ride.

There is an excellent local spa chain across the street...Oriental Taipan Spa which is a legitamate spa with great staff. 90 Minute foot massage for $25 is amazing.

The few negative comments I have read about this hotel seem to be comparing it to other St. Regis properties such as New York or San Francisco. Keep in mind that those properties are quadruple the price of Beijing but have similar amenities. Book through an international travel website to save at least 25% off their website prices.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Beijing and staying in our Diplomat Deluxe Room. Every single associate at The St. Regis, from concierge to your butler, is always trying to provide the best service and best facilities, thus to create an unforgettable experience.
For any future bookings, please note that we guarantee the best rate on our own branded website. Please find more information on starwood website.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    148
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
61
134
71
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed in the St. Regis for 5 nights in October 2009. We were in an Executive Deluxe Room.

Generally, the hotel is very well appointed and nicely decorated. "Stately" probably best describes the hotel. The hotel's atmosphere is very business-oriented and official. Most guests are dressed for business (suits, jackets, etc..) and, for the most part, the guests seem older. It is not very laid-back or young -- in other words, this is your parents' hotel. In some ways, it is probably not a touristy hotel. None of this is surprising given its location near all of the embassies.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable and well organized and clean. There was always fresh fruit and bottled water. However, the décor was a bit dated and some of the fixtures seem worn out -- the underside of the sink cabinet seemed to have a crack. The room lacked some basic information such as details as to the Executive Lounge and butler service. We had to call the front desk to find the location of the Executive Lounge (18th floor) and the hours of operation. There are descriptions on some websites which seems to indicate that the Executive Lounge is open all day with refreshments. That is not the case. We went a couple of times in the morning to find it closed (locked with the lights off). However, there is complimentary morning tea and coffee which the butler service will deliver to the room.

The largest disappointment would be the concierge service. The service was very hit or miss. The concierge provided very good advice on our tours to Mutianyu and some of the cultural sites in Beijing. However, there were a couple of mis-steps.

First, the staff seemed to push a restaurant across the large street (Jianguomen Outer street) -- the restaurant's name is something along the lines of "Beijing Duck" restaurant. On our first day, we arrived in the late afternoon and wanted a casual lunch. The concierge advised us there were very few places serving lunch so late (about 2 pm). When we arrived, the restaurant was essentially empty (other than perhaps 2 tables). However, it took an extremely long amount of time for us to get our food and the dishes arrived sequentially (about 5-10 mins apart). Even the bowl of white rice we ordered arrived well after our first dish. At times, it was hard to even find the staff -- they were having lunch. Another table received their food much faster and nearly altogether. Overall the food was disappointing as well.

While the concierge cannot control the quality of the service or the food, we were surprised the concierge suggested this restaurant. Right next door to the hotel, literally, is a restaurant called GL Café and Restaurant which is open 24 hours a day with great service and food -- we probably ate a majority of our restaurant meals at that place. The concierge suggested the Beijing duck restaurant again another night, but our first day's experience was enough.

Second, the staff could have offered some advice on structuring our day. In one instance, we told them we were interested in seeing the Olympic venue -- Bird's Nest and Water Cube. They could have told us to go after 6 p.m. when both stadiums are lit. Not a word. In another instance, we wanted to try QuanJude Roast Duck restaurant -- allegedly the original Peking Duck restaurant. The concierge advised us the restaurant does not take reservations and the optimal time to go would be either before 5 pm or after 9 pm. We took a risk and arrived at 8 pm only to have the restaurant turn us away because they were out of duck (they shut it literally as we were walking up to the door). Given the fame of the restaurant, the concierge should have known and advised us accordingly.

Note that my wife is a fluent in Mandarin so not much of the above could be attributable to losing something in translation.

Overall, all staff members we encountered were extremely nice and proficient in English which made it easy to navigate. We had a great stay at this hotel and this review is meant to be critical just to point out any "issues" but on the whole, we had an extremely positive experience at this hotel and would book a stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at The St. Regis Beijing during your October holiday. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our newly renovated guest rooms and will look into the points you mentioned which require our attention. Please accept our apology for all the inconvenience caused by our concierge team and the outside services recommended. We have put extensive training measures in place to improve their skills and also to take the food quality and service into consideration prior to recommending outside services to ensure the same uncompromising service is being extended outside as much as inside the property.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

While the hotel was luxurious and comfortably appointed, it didn't WOW me as I expect a St Regis hotel to. The rooms were comfortable and the service was satisfactory and the breakfast was fine, but nothing was standout. And while the St Regis was certainly the most internationally prestigious hotel brand I stayed at during my 3+ week trip to China, Japan and Thailand, this was hardly the most impressive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for choosing the St. Regis Beijing and sharing with us your experience during your stay. It will certainly assist us to identify all aspects we still can improve to accomplish our goal of uncompromising service.

Whilst I understand that you enjoyed our newly renovated facilities, I would like to apologize for our failure to deliver bespoke and uncompromising moments making you stay with us a memorable one.
Please do not hesitate to contact me via my email address cary.gray@stregis.com to share additional comments or to book your next stay with us in order for you to fully experience the signature of St. Regis which authentic and original.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The hotel is fantastic, very good location close to the silk market, magnificent rooms whith all kinds of care facilities and superb swimming pool. We recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for selecting the St. Regis Beijing. We are delighted to know that you were happy with our newly renovated rooms and also with the other facilities which have ensured a comfortable stay for you.

The unique location of the St. Regis Beijing, offers a close proximity to both business and leisure areas of the town whilst the surrounding of embassies contributes to a tranquil and safe environment.

We hope each moment that you as our guests experienced at our hotel reflected our discreet and bespoke service. Thank you very much again for your recommendation and we hope to welcome and impress you again in the very near future.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

All staff at this hotel was extremely helpful. All spoke great English. Hotel is very modern and cosmopolitan with hints of Chinese culture. Rooms were very spacious, good size walk in wardrobes and even had a TV in the bathroom! Had the butler service but never made use of it. Staff organised our tours as well.

A very good size pool and gym. The spa also has 3 Jacuzzi and a chill out area too, well worth the visit.

If you are trying Danieli's definitely go for the steak, a friend ordered it and I have to say it was just divine. Only grudge about the restaurant was that my meal came when most of my friends had already finished. However the waitress was very apologetic and did take my meal of the bill and gave us free dessert!

Subway was only 5-10 minutes walk and within walking distance to the Silk Market.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2009
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for staying at the St. Regis Beijing and for posting your detailed description of your positive experience. We are happy to share it with all of our associates motivating them to excel further in our service belief.
As a member of the St. Regis family, our brand spirit makes sure that no detail is overlooked and no length is too extraordinary to deliver the flawless service in every way.
After a total investment throughout our spacious rooms, the Lobby and its Garden Court Lounge, the Indoor Swimming Pool with garden view, and other facilities such as our restaurants we recreated the signature of St. Regis, which is purely individual distinguishing who you are, what you do and how you do it.
We look forward to meeting you again and to leaving you with another great memory at the St. Regis Beijing.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Having stayed at the property as a regular business traveller since 2002, I'd like to state that this is my 1st written review for the trip advisor. Each and every 2-3 day stay over at this unique property has been nothing short of perfection. Starting from the feature of the personal "butler" service, right down to the doorman and health club attendant, no service detail has been overlooked. Of course there are less expensive properties in the "cap" ... but seriously ... nothing compares ....or catches the attention of the locals better than the phrase "Please book me at the St. Regis " ( AKA BEIJING athletic club )
One of the key points when considering a hotel in Beijing, is location. My business meetings generally take me to the Gold and Platinum zones of the city. At other properties you would be fortunate to reach no more than 1-2 meetings per day. While staying at the St. Regis - I can fit in a meeting in the Xidan district on the same day !So, by choosing the St. Regis, one can be far more efficient in terms of travel times between meetings. I should also mention there was an excellent steak house at the back of the property....which sadly I did not have the chance to enjoy on this most recent visit. In every respect, the extra $ spent inside this property has been an investment in the success of my buusiness. You MUST at some point in your career, give this property a try while visiting Beijing. ( If only for dinner and drinks ! ) Its $$$ well spent. I would suggest to avoid the property or possibly re-schedule a potential stay when there are Head of State visits in the Capitol. Usual security measures are in effect and can at times, be a bit of problem for revenue guests travelling without local VIP plates.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for supporting the St. Regis Beijing for almost seven years. We are delighted to learn that we delivered our brand promise to you during all of your stays being able to create a world that our guests never want to leave.

The Address of our property as one of our core values offers a unique location in-between the Central Business District and the main touristic attractions of Beijing enabling our guests to schedule both business and leisure appointments while maximizing their time.

The steak house you mentioned – Astor Grill, was chosen several times by the public and the media as one of the best steak houses in Beijing. The other restaurants in our portfolio include Danieli’s, our award-winning eatery for Italian cuisine, Garden Court for International dining and Celestial Court offering Cantonese specialties.

Thank you very much again for your support and detailed recommendation. We will keep working on every detail we present to make sure every stay at the St. Regis Beijing is effectively commissioned to become a memorable experience. We look forward to meeting you very soon again.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

As mentioned in a prior review, this is a top of the line business hotel in Beijing. While nowadays most of the 5 star hotels in Beijing are new and therefore all have the comfortable amenities of luxury hotels, it is really refreshing to see that at the St. Regis the staff actually remembers you and your personal likings. It starts from your butler who knows when you want your first coffee in the morning to the restaurant staff who will greet you with your name while getting your eggs the way you want them every day to your table without having to say much. And as these little things are happening in such a consistent and unique way I would definitely rate this hotel higher than most of the other properties which I have stayed at during my many trips to China.No idea how they do it, but it works!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineDistribution, General Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Dear reviewer,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing the St. Regis Beijing. We are delighted to know that you are impressed by our service details. We pride ourselves that within it the differentiation lies buried every St. Regis aims to achieve – bespoke and personalized service.

Whilst the highest expression of personalization often is associated with the finest craftsmanship, we re-interpret it as the understanding to reach the personal expectation of every single guest. Creating a home far away from home, every stay at the St. Regis Beijing is crafted to meet our guest’s highest standards and refined to express the subtlety of their unique tastes.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Beijing.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#20 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#377 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Beijing exemplifies luxury, elegance, and impeccable service and is now relaunched in 2008. Superbly situated in the heart of Beijing's business, shopping and diplomatic districts, it is the hotel of choice for the world's most discerning traveler. Experience uncompromising and incomparable service-hallmark traits of our signature St. Regis Butler Service. Available 24 hours a day, the St. Regis Butler attends to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.