We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Beijing?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Beijing to your Saves list
The St. Regis Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Beijing?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have heard that this is the best hotel in Beijing. I think that's probably true. It's certainly one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed at. The breakfast buffet had at least 100 different and interesting items. Dinner at the Japanese steak house was outstanding. The room was prefect. There's really nothing I can think of that they could have done better. The price was expensive, that I didn't think it was outrageous, considering the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    159
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
68
148
75
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I used the St Regis hotel for a Conference followed by a short holiday in Beijing. With regards to the Conference the hotel was perfect in every respect - professional staff, meeting room facilities, food and beverages etc etc. For my personal holiday I couldn't have chosen to stay in a better hotel. Butler service amazing. I can't think of one negative comment - everything wonderful Highly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our conference service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is a respite from a busy, somewhat chaotic city as first-timer to China. Our room was large, comfortable, quiet and spotless (at all times thanks to the very attentive staff). The hotel gym was possibly the nicest I've ever used. The hotel had many dining options, so our meals there never felt blaise. Their morning breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch were astounding- literally every possible type of cuisine and course was offered at the highest quality. They made me feel like a queen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There're so many new hotels popping out in Beijing every year but I always end up with going back to St. Regis. It's the first time I visited Iridium Spa for a massage, and I was so delighted by the skill of their masseuses (Ms Yun Zhen & Ms Xiaoyue Wang) that I feel obligated writing this review. They are very professional and courteous, focused on my needs and explained everything thoroughly. This is not a new hotel but they managed to keep everything in good shape. The service at breakfast buffet is prompt, above and beyond your expectation for a buffet. There're ample choices and the selections are very healthy. The only confusion I had was you couldn't take any picture in the swimming pool and Jacuzzi tubs, not sure why but not a deal breaker for staying at St Regis Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved this St. Regis! Everything went above and beyond our expectations. The butler service never failed to amaze us. The room was beautiful and nothing was ever lacking in the housekeeping. We were able to store luggage and when we came back to the hotel from Tibet, our stored luggage was waiting on us in our room. They seemed to always be thinking ahead of what we could need. Lovely hotel. Completely enjoyed the wine and tapas from 6-7 each evening. It was top quality wine and lovely tapas items.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our Butler service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel - they gave us the statesman suite, complete with our own entrance hall (!), dressing area and mini walk in closet, stunning living room/study and beautiful bed & bathroom. Butler service was brilliant - our butler spoke excellent English and was very well presented, catering to our (many) coffee requests throughout our stay. Staff are all very polite and well-mannered, as expected.

St Regis hosts a happy hour, too, from 6 - 7pm, where all guests are able to enjoy free cocktails and canapes in a wonderfully elegant cigar lounge. The spa/pool is lovely, as is the breakfast buffet - a wiiiiiiiiide selection of food, both Chinese and Western.

All in all, an absolutely delightful stay (I wanted to move in). The only improvements I could suggest are a) although most staff do speak English, many don't speak it all that well, and this was a teeny issue on the phone when trying to order items to our room. They are very apologetic, though, when they don't understand.

Secondly, b), taxi service is atrocious! We waited half an hour the first night for a taxi before ending up walking, then an hour the second night (when we were heading a restaurant too far to walk to and with no close by metro stops). So be sure to leave PLENTY of time when trying to make appointments or reservations.

This does seem however to be an issue all over Beijing, not just the hotel, so you can't give them all the blame. Although surely could strike up a better deal with a local taxi company.

Anyway - let's end a positive note: St Regis Beijing absolutely has my recommendation. Five stars, no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were privileged to stay at the St Regis Beijing, which is a wonderful hotel. Service is of an incredibly high standard and we very much enjoyed the experience. The happy hour is fantastic and the staff were brilliant. As a platinum SPG member I was fortunate to be upgraded to a suite, which made a business stay all the more comfortable. We ate in the restaurant (buffet) which was excellent, as were the breakfasts. The Embassy district is a great place to stay, and it was walking distance to the Silk Market. All on all, an excellent hotel and I would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#16 Business Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#352 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Beijing exemplifies luxury, elegance, and impeccable service and is now relaunched in 2008. Superbly situated in the heart of Beijing's business, shopping and diplomatic districts, it is the hotel of choice for the world's most discerning traveler. Experience uncompromising and incomparable service-hallmark traits of our signature St. Regis Butler Service. Available 24 hours a day, the St. Regis Butler attends to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.