We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-End Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Beijing to your Saves list
The St. Regis Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High-End Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while on holiday. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to SPG members. I do believe that the hotel caters more to foreign dignitaries and business travelers than to the average tourist. The hotel is located among embassies. As we were on holiday we "stuck out" a bit in our walking clothes amid the hordes of businessmen. We were very impressed with the rooms: a blend of beautiful and ornate with new amenities. Because of its proximity to embassies the hotel is very safe and gated. We entered through a security screener. It was not a hassle and I wouldn't even really call it a minor inconvenience. The butler assigned to our room was wonderfully kind and hospitable and attended to any of our wishes (fresh fruit, pressed clothes, etc). In addition to Starwood's Le Meridien group of hotels the St. Regis properties are among Starwood's highest-end properties. As an SPG Platinum member they accommodated an early check-in for us which we were tremendously thankful for as it allowed us an opportunity to get situated after arriving on an early morning flight. The breakfast buffet was delicious and vast and the evening happy hours in the bar lounge were a great way to wind down the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    161
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
68
149
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stay here every month for a few nights and it is definitely the best hotel in Beijing, best rooms, great location, fantastic pool and spa. However booking is painfully incompetent, check in is always disappointing, with staff not seeming to be able to remember and/or appreciate regular guests and their preferences. The restaurants are good, the Japanese is a rip off. One big problem of this hotel is the taxi situation, taxis are almost never available and staff not good at catching them on the street outside. All big hotels have taxi lines, only not this one. Seems to be impossible to have rooms made up at lunch time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that bill issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

For those who are used to the typical St. Regis rooms and service, this hotel would rate slightly below par on what you would expect of a St. Regis. I was booked in an ambassador suite. The suite lacked any sort of "spectacular" interior design and was rather boring. Finishes were good, marble bathroom, typical St. Regis products for shampoos etc. Do not expect great service as is customary of the St. Regis brand. English was a small problem with certain service personnel.

Location was decent, (really depends on where you want to stay). The hotel felt very commercial/business not at all for tourists. Pillow menu was a nice touch. Pool was decent but other than that, a rather sub-par, standard cookie cutter 5 star hotel. For the price, I would stay at the Park Hyatt or the Raffles Hotel.

Room Tip: I had the ambassador suite but I recommend passing on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that bill issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had booked into one of the new uber five-star hotels in Beijing. Spectacular architecture and the suite was elegant. But the staff wasn't up-to-speed and the internet was not up to much of anything, and I had a lot of work to do. After one night, I called the St. Regis and made a reservation. "When will you be arriving?" "In half an hour!" We packed and jumped into a taxi. When we got to the St. Regis, they had already upgraded us to a suite and greeted us by name!

The St. Regis is not the most glitzy or cutting-edge hotel in Beijing, but it's the hotel we always return to because it seems that they just know what they're doing. The little things show that.

At the Press Club bar for happy hour, the spread is not extensive, but the bar tender recognizes you and has your drink ready before you ask. In the Garden Court restaurant the food is extensive and elegantly displayed, but when I made a reservation for a later dinner, the head fellow came to our table and took down the information personally. I don't know why other hotels don't do it, but when an elevator is on the first floor, the door is always open. So, when you want to go up to your room, you just get in the elevator and press your floor....no waiting. The butler remembers what you wanted from last time.....a big bathrobe and a small pillow.

At some five-star establishments in Beijing, the products in the bathroom are skimpy despite the high price of the room or suite. At the St. Regis, the Remede products are in large containers and a set for the shower AND the bath. Then, of course, there is the butler service. It's great when you wake up to check e-mail at 5:30 AM and make a quick phone call to the butler and get fresh coffee...no charge....in ten minutes.

Check-in and check-out are efficient. The staff seems to know what they're doing rather than just being eager and clueless as is often the case as so many new five-star hotels open in this city.

In a country undergoing such rapid expansion, one expects that most service people will be "in training." Certainly there are trainees at the St. Regis, but the overall feeling is one of great competence. When the staff knows what it's doing, guests can relax and not worry.

The rooms are lovely and very-well maintained. The Garden Court meals are amazing in the variety they offer. The building is classy, beautifully maintained, and elegant.

But, it's the little things that set the St. Regis apart.

Perhaps that is real luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is definitely a nice place to stay on your honeymoon or on a business trip. The rooms are nice the beds are soft and the service is definitely 5 star.

What makes this hotel so great also it's location and accessibility to everything. If you crave some western food there is grand ma's kitchen and steak and eggs.

It's also close to the friendship store.

Now here is where it is night and day.

The attitude of the people at the gym. Some of the people working there are rude and inconsiderate and lazy.

Summary-

Great hotel just wish the gym was up to par with everything else
If you don't speak any Chinese this is the place to go
Good location 15 min taxi ride to Tian an men.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stay in beijing more than 30 days in a year, and I almost always stay at the st regis Beijing. This is the best hotel in Beijing! Beijing is not famous for its service however this hotel provides the world class services for every area such as room, dining, bar, etc. The gym is comprehensive and the swimming pool is large, definitely good for business travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Traveling too Asia had the opportunity too choose this great hotel for our getaway. From reservation confirmation, too check-in, too check-out 100% guest service and satisfaction. Our room was well kept, great space and nothing was too much, eg getting more amenities, more towels, etc. Especially after a day of sight seeing of great China. Loved everything of this place, will definately be back. Try out the variety of services available, loved the Spa treatments, very relaxing and professional. The meals were a delight suggest you try out the restaurants the italian Danieli's a treat from the decoration to the meal simply delicious! Not to mention the chinese (sorry don't seem too remember the name) a treat for the palate. All we can say is thank you and well done too the management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#16 Business Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#352 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Beijing exemplifies luxury, elegance, and impeccable service and is now relaunched in 2008. Superbly situated in the heart of Beijing's business, shopping and diplomatic districts, it is the hotel of choice for the world's most discerning traveler. Experience uncompromising and incomparable service-hallmark traits of our signature St. Regis Butler Service. Available 24 hours a day, the St. Regis Butler attends to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.