We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Capital Hotel Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Chongwenmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
NO.VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Capital Hotel in Beijing as part of a "China Sampler" Smartour in mid-May. We thought it was a really elegant hotel, with luxurious rooms and lobby. The lobby was adorned with lovely statuettes and a remarkable live fish tank.

The breakfast was very good with lots of choices for different tastes. They even had an omelet making station for persons wanting a more "western-syle" breakfast.

The location of the hotel seemed good, although we did not walk to any of the sights in Beijing. We went out for Peking Duck to a local restaurant, "Made in China," which was recommended in Frommers Guide to China. The restaurant was decorated in an interesting fashion, but the food was just OK.

Highlights in Beijing for us included the Great Wall, the Forbidden City and walking around a local park in the AM watching mainly local seniors doing Tai Chi, ballroom dancing, playing musical instruments or playing mah jongg.

Beijing was great and so was the hotel. We recommend it to fellow travelors.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    359
    112
    25
    9
See reviews for
85
143
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Just a short walk from Tiananmen Square and The Forbidden City. Excellent location walking distance from both hutongs and major shopping streets. Umbrellas provided in room if weather is bad. Well appointed rooms - stayed in two different rooms on 17th and 14th floor. The first was a bit dated and both had very firm but okay beds. Two small bottles of complimentary mineral water provided in room every day. Razor, tooth brush, tooth paste, soap and shampoo refilled every day. Nice staff. Nice views from the upper floors. Some rooms renovated, some could use an update. Expensive bar. Good breakfast. Indoor pool seemed nice. Didn't pay myself so can't judge on the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Definitely a five star (Chinese) hotel, a long walk or short cab ride from from Tiananmen, the Temple of Heavenly Peace, and Wangfujing.

Beds are on the firm side but not quite uncomfortable. Our room was well furnished, though not the most modern - cube TV, standard shower, tea maker.

Our travel agency got us an upgrade to a club class room. This is pretty worthwhile if you can get it. Benefits include a laundry discount and one free shirt per day, two minibar sodas per day (but only certain flavors), free local calls, etc. There is free internet in the room (a greedy 100 RMB otherwise) and in the club lounge, where attentive staff will bring you coffee or tea while you check your email. Breakfast in the club lounge is more private with friendly personal service, although subject to annoyances like active kids or smoking businessmen. The buffet downstairs has three times as many choices; it's pretty good though not memorable. We came to prefer the club lounge.

The staff is generally helpful but once beyond the front desk has limited English, particularly in the hotel's several superb restaurants, which include a Sichuan and a northern Chinese.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This certainly does feel like a five star hotel. Others have mentioned that the beds are hard--well, they are--sort of like a padded floor. I slept well, however. As is the case in any Chinese hotel, be very careful what you use. I had a wonderful fruit basket waiting for me. Also, next to the fruit basket were two tins of tea. If you take one of the tins as a keepsake, you will be charged for it. Other amenities such as bottled water, razors, toothbrush, etc. are free.

A big word of warning. The electrical outlets use the British three pronged plug, not the typical two pronged 220 European plug. I had an adapter with me, but I imagine they have adapters at the desk.

The staff was very accomodating. The shops in the store are excellent, with a very complete and reasonably priced selection of pearls and jade. I only had breakfast there, but the food selection was very good. Of course, I will like any restaurant that offers litchee and hawthorn fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I'm going for an overall rating of excellent because I genuinely belive they deserve it. The locations is about as good as it could be in Beijing since Tianamen Sq, Wangfujing St and the subway are all only a short walk away. The hotel is clean and well appointed, spacious and remarkably good value for it's star rating. Meals and drinks are expensive compared to the local average but the mark up is no worse than you'd expect and is intended to capitalise on the standard business traveller, not the tourist. English is not widely spoken in China but the staff are always happy to help by writing wherever you want to go in Chinese characters making it simple to get taxis. There is also a regular excursion to the Great Wall organised by the hotel which only costs 350 Yuan with an English speaking guide and stops at a Jade factory, a tea house and the Ming Tombs - excellent value.
In short I recognise everything good that other reviews have mentioned and didn't experience or witness any of the things mentioned in the negative reviews. I agree with everyone who said the beds are hard but personally it did me a world of good especially after all the walking I did explorig the city and the wall.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I had a 10th floor room in Tower B, and I could see the rooftops of the Forbidden CIty from my window. The room was spacious, clean, nice bathroom; the king-size bed was hard, though. Since the water is not drinkable (I did brush my teeth with it), the room was stocked with 2 complimentary bottles of water daily (I always carried one with me, and since the hotel printed its name in Chinese characters on the bottle, I could always show it to a taxi driver, who always got me back!). The hotel is 2 blocks from a subway station and a very good bakery, if you get tired of the breakfast buffet. 2 blocks in the other direction is Tian'namen Square. Everyone at the front desk was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Very big and clean rooms, Nice bed and good service.
Hotel has bowling, pool and fitness club.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#215 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.