We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a room in the old wing, will never come back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Beijing Peace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Beijing Peace to your Saves list
Novotel Beijing Peace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #87 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 Reviews
Jakarta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Got a room in the old wing, will never come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

While we were supposed to stay in another hotel but decided to book novotel due to a friend's request. I was impressed by the lobby, then slowly the truth begin to unfold. The receptionist did not speak English well. We were given rooms 2310-2311 which turn out to be at the old wing. We had to take elevator to second floor, walk to the other wing-climb 6 stairs with our luggage to find another elevator that could take usnto level 3 where the rooms are. The rooms of course were old, the springbeds were obsolete you could see that the beds were uneven, and you could feel the springs. Will definitely cut short our visit and move to nearby hotels.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    665
    238
    75
    26
See reviews for
306
410
132
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was living in China for several months when my family decided to come to Beijing to visit. This hotel is in a prime location and is very good. Shops such as Prada and rolex are nearby and the markets are only a taxi away which the hotel can arrange immediately.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our location and service. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very well located, just 100 metres from Wangfujing high end shopping street, night food markets (we ate from the street stalls a couple of times, but gave the BBQ scorpions a miss!), and retail markets. Also only 20 minute walk to the Forbidden City and Tian’an Men Square. Also only a short walk to subway stations, which is a very cheap (AUD37 cents a trip!) and efficient way to get around Beijing. Easy to follow as directions are also in English. Much easier to use the subway than buses as traffic in Beijing is unbelievable (22 million people, 6 million cars with 20,000 a month coming on to the roads). They call it “Jam City” with good reason!

We were up-graded to a suite, which was nice. In the west wing, a bit older and furniture a bit dated, but heaps of room (separate bedroom) and clean, but the bed was hard as a rock. This building is undergoing renovations and consequently one of the two lifts was out of service and when we went to check out the other one broke down. Not a problem as they happily collected our luggage. Service was friendly and impeccable. Breakfast buffet (included) was very good (attuned to the French ownership of this group, and a lot of French people staying there). The restaurant also provided western meals, which we sampled when we got a bit sick of Chinese. Also very good.

I would highly recommend this hotel for good value, but mainly its excellent location.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the "West Wing" while it is undergoing renovations, but don't k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regretted to read that the room and the bed not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consideration to improve it in the future. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the service, room cleanliness and breakfast were particular satisfying!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is really good! You can walk to wang fu jin street and to the forbidden palace. The hotel room was comfortable but nothing to special, but the breakfast really impressed me, it was really good, much more than what I expected. If you only have limited budget, this is the hotel that I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our location, room, and breakfast. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I’m very happy to stay at this hotel 4 stars . The hotel is in a fantastic location , close to everything , like the restaurants , the Forbidden , the shopping and next to the subway !

The hotel has also restaurant for dinner , the lobby bar , the room service we can enjoy the meal in our room .

The staff were lovely . They were very helpful and even sat us down upon arrival . But it’s more difficult for take a taxi , it may be i choose out of the time , thank you very much the hotel staff took nearly 20 minutes to ask a taxi for me . A special thanks to the staff called HongQi ( i saw his name ) , even though his english is not very good , but he’s very best to help me and made a lot of suggestion on the attractions in Beijing and he is patiently to helped us .

This is a very nice hotel and it was a good choice , i’ll return back the next time !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our location and service, as well as you compliment about our Security Department Supervisor Mr. Hong Qi. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#49 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#66 Business Hotel in Beijing
#159 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Beijing Peace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.