We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Peace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Novotel Peace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Peace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 5,311 hotels in Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stinky experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September and were met with a strong stench of sewage. Despite mentioning this to the hotel we were not offered any credits or accomodations. Nice location and great breakfast but due to the stench would not consider again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret to know that smell in room during your stay and reaction of us .We apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that your appreciate our location and breakfast .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    614
    217
    69
    24
See reviews for
280
383
127
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we have stayed 4 nights at Novotel; arriving in the morning 1 of the rooms we booked was ready; the other one we had to wait for 1 hour (which was not a problem). We booked 2 superior rooms which is in the nicer part of the hotel. Breakfast is excellent with a great variety in both western and eastern food. Location is excellent; nearby Wangfujing shopping streat and the subway. We will arrive this Saturday for another 5 nights and are looking forward to come back again.
If you are a non-smoker it is preferable to book a non-smoking room. Apparently we did not make a special request for a non-smoking room and we got rooms on the smoking floor, which can be smelt in everything in the room. As we immediately we set out to visit Beijing only to return in the evening we only noticed this when we went to bed that night, By then we were to tired to ask for another room and we have asked the reception the next morning to give our room a special treatment to try to get rid off the smell in the room. Unfortunately this didn't work. For the next visit we therefore have booked non-smoking rooms.
The rooms are very well noise-isolated which caters for a good night rest.

Room Tip: book a superior room and if you are a non-smoker ask for a room on a non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret that room allocation not meet your expectation ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us.

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty Pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance from tieanmen square, and the most important shopping roads. The service is qualified and almost English speaking. The rooms are clean, a bit old and the floor carpeting needs renovation only because the local smells tends to be absorbed. There is also a swimming pool which I have not tried.
Nearby the hotel there is a wide selection of restaurants local and Japanese.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors because the back of the hotel faces a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Particular for staff service and location .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we chose to this hotel, we knew that it wouldn't be a stay to remember. However, this choice was made mainly for one reason: its location. Most of the Beijing sights are nearby and you can't find another hotel that central at that price. If you don't really care about comfort, ambiance or space, go for it. Breakfast is good and the dinner buffet as well. During our stay, we understood that there was another wing, renovated, looking much better but we never asked for an upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.
We were regret to know that our room in west wing not meet your expectation . We hope you will choice our superior or premier room which in main building for next visit .We apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .
On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that your appreciate our location and food .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty Pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was floored to read a couple of the reviews on this hotel. If you like hotels with tour busses in the entry lane. Or you like rooms that smell musty. Or you like bathrooms that are as small as a closet, you will "get" this hotel. We stayed in a suite (which was not really). Our tub was so tiny that you felt like you were in tunnel, the grout was loose and dirty. The amenities were poor. Carpet dirty and the bed was virtually on the floor. In the foyer of the suite, I could touch the ceiling with my hands and I am only 5'6". This is a bad hotel and don't waste your time and/or money. With the tour operators particularly, I suspect they must get a huge kick back on this one. the only good thing...it is a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for choosing the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time sharing your comments with us.

It was with sincere regret that I noted your dissatisfaction with your experience in our hotel . Please allow me to express you our sincere apologizes for the inconvenience we have caused you.

At NOVOTEL, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for tourist visit - got a good online deal including breakfast by booking 30 days in advance. On arrival they said breakfast was not included - but once we showed them our online confirmation they agreed. Also they had run out of non-smoking rooms so one of our group was upgraded to a suite. The room was large and bathroom was nice with excellent shower. Decor in room was a little old fashioned - browns and oranges - but was very clean. Also had tea making facility. Breakfast selection was good for what we had paid.
Only little niggle was that our rooms were in an attached annexe and you have to use 2 lifts and about 7 stairs which with luggage is quite awkward. If this is a problem request rooms in main block. Although the hotel is right in the city centre and building work was going on around the rooms were quiet and well sound proofed. Bed was hard which I like - but you can request softer mattress - guess some people have complained - as there is a notice in the room.
The pool looked nice - but did not have time to use it - and there is a gym with instructor.
The location is the very best thing about this hotel - it is just off Wangfujing main street with plenty of shopping, bars and restaurants and the famous night food market. It is within easy walking distance of Tianenmen Sq and the Forbidden City - about 15 minutes. There is a convenient subway station about 5 minutes walk away and taxis are plentiful and cheap for other sights.
Traffic in Beijing is terrible - so you do have to leave plenty of time to get around - at least an hour to hour and half to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Peace Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.
We were regret to know that the unpleasant beginning ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .
On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that room cleanliness and location were particular satisfy! .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards
Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Peace Hotel

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#54 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
#68 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#199 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Peace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Peace Beijing is a 4 star hotel in the Wangfujing district, the historic, cultural and shopping heart of Beijing. The perfect place for both business and holiday travellers, the Novotel offers WiFi internet and ten meeting rooms for up to 300people. Visit the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square just a short walk away. Enjoy our indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, massage centre, fitness centre, sauna and beauty salon. 45 minutes drive from the airport, 15 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, ACCOR, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Novotel Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Peace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.