We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Beijing Peace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Beijing Peace to your Saves list
Novotel Beijing Peace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stinky experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September and were met with a strong stench of sewage. Despite mentioning this to the hotel we were not offered any credits or accomodations. Nice location and great breakfast but due to the stench would not consider again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret to know that smell in room during your stay and reaction of us .We apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that your appreciate our location and breakfast .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    805
    286
    87
    34
See reviews for
369
513
148
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we have stayed 4 nights at Novotel; arriving in the morning 1 of the rooms we booked was ready; the other one we had to wait for 1 hour (which was not a problem). We booked 2 superior rooms which is in the nicer part of the hotel. Breakfast is excellent with a great variety in both western and eastern food. Location is excellent; nearby Wangfujing shopping streat and the subway. We will arrive this Saturday for another 5 nights and are looking forward to come back again.
If you are a non-smoker it is preferable to book a non-smoking room. Apparently we did not make a special request for a non-smoking room and we got rooms on the smoking floor, which can be smelt in everything in the room. As we immediately we set out to visit Beijing only to return in the evening we only noticed this when we went to bed that night, By then we were to tired to ask for another room and we have asked the reception the next morning to give our room a special treatment to try to get rid off the smell in the room. Unfortunately this didn't work. For the next visit we therefore have booked non-smoking rooms.
The rooms are very well noise-isolated which caters for a good night rest.

Room Tip: book a superior room and if you are a non-smoker ask for a room on a non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret that room allocation not meet your expectation ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us.

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty Pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
670 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance from tieanmen square, and the most important shopping roads. The service is qualified and almost English speaking. The rooms are clean, a bit old and the floor carpeting needs renovation only because the local smells tends to be absorbed. There is also a swimming pool which I have not tried.
Nearby the hotel there is a wide selection of restaurants local and Japanese.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors because the back of the hotel faces a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Particular for staff service and location .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we chose to this hotel, we knew that it wouldn't be a stay to remember. However, this choice was made mainly for one reason: its location. Most of the Beijing sights are nearby and you can't find another hotel that central at that price. If you don't really care about comfort, ambiance or space, go for it. Breakfast is good and the dinner buffet as well. During our stay, we understood that there was another wing, renovated, looking much better but we never asked for an upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.
We were regret to know that our room in west wing not meet your expectation . We hope you will choice our superior or premier room which in main building for next visit .We apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .
On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that your appreciate our location and food .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty Pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was floored to read a couple of the reviews on this hotel. If you like hotels with tour busses in the entry lane. Or you like rooms that smell musty. Or you like bathrooms that are as small as a closet, you will "get" this hotel. We stayed in a suite (which was not really). Our tub was so tiny that you felt like you were in tunnel, the grout was loose and dirty. The amenities were poor. Carpet dirty and the bed was virtually on the floor. In the foyer of the suite, I could touch the ceiling with my hands and I am only 5'6". This is a bad hotel and don't waste your time and/or money. With the tour operators particularly, I suspect they must get a huge kick back on this one. the only good thing...it is a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for choosing the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time sharing your comments with us.

It was with sincere regret that I noted your dissatisfaction with your experience in our hotel . Please allow me to express you our sincere apologizes for the inconvenience we have caused you.

At NOVOTEL, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for tourist visit - got a good online deal including breakfast by booking 30 days in advance. On arrival they said breakfast was not included - but once we showed them our online confirmation they agreed. Also they had run out of non-smoking rooms so one of our group was upgraded to a suite. The room was large and bathroom was nice with excellent shower. Decor in room was a little old fashioned - browns and oranges - but was very clean. Also had tea making facility. Breakfast selection was good for what we had paid.
Only little niggle was that our rooms were in an attached annexe and you have to use 2 lifts and about 7 stairs which with luggage is quite awkward. If this is a problem request rooms in main block. Although the hotel is right in the city centre and building work was going on around the rooms were quiet and well sound proofed. Bed was hard which I like - but you can request softer mattress - guess some people have complained - as there is a notice in the room.
The pool looked nice - but did not have time to use it - and there is a gym with instructor.
The location is the very best thing about this hotel - it is just off Wangfujing main street with plenty of shopping, bars and restaurants and the famous night food market. It is within easy walking distance of Tianenmen Sq and the Forbidden City - about 15 minutes. There is a convenient subway station about 5 minutes walk away and taxis are plentiful and cheap for other sights.
Traffic in Beijing is terrible - so you do have to leave plenty of time to get around - at least an hour to hour and half to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.
We were regret to know that the unpleasant beginning ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us .
On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that room cleanliness and location were particular satisfy! .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards
Patty pang
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#18 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,263 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#144 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#102 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#96 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Chongwenmen
Pentahotel Beijing
Pentahotel Beijing
#85 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#51 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Beijing Peace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.