We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Beijing Peace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Beijing Peace to your Saves list
Novotel Beijing Peace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #87 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,391 Reviews
Western North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Novotel Peace in April of 2013. The hotel is located within walking distance to Tianamen Square and Wafujing Street. The area surrounding the hotel is very nice.
People in the hotel were most helpful and the buffet breakfast was out of this world.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this if you are in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thanks you for chosen the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at same time taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.
We were delighted to read that the great location and the people were most helpful were particular satisfy! I will share your satisfaction with our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    665
    238
    74
    26
See reviews for
305
410
132
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 days late April, very comfortable, clean friendly hotel.Rooms could probably do with a little updating but I have stayed in worse. Very good restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Staff very attentive. Very close to shopping and all attractions. Tours are easy to find, great wall, forbidden city etc.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel, very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to tanks you for chosen the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at same time taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.
We were delighted to read that the all comments were particular satisfy! I will share your satisfaction with our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It actually even hurts to sleep in Novotel's bed. The bed is hard as a rock, would be the same as sleeping on the floor. Could not get a good night's sleep as kept waking up with back pain.

I had a room in the "West Wing". For crying out loud, get a ramp so that there is no need to carry luggage up the stairs! Otherwise the room was nice.

If you have long hair, bring your own hairdryer, as the hairdryer in the room is quite ineffective.

Location of the hotel is excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Resident Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guests
I would like to thanks for taking the time to sharing your comments with us here
Please allow me to express you our sincere apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you.
We do have softer or harder mattress for different option . As well as removable hairdyer upon request . we apologize that the notes not obvious againest the pillow .
We "ll conduct more react training for the staff who handled this complain during your stay .We appreciate if you could let us know more detail .
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.hope I could have oppertunity to apologize to you personally in nearly future.
Sincerely
Resident Manager
My email is rm@novotelpeacebj.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've just returned from a week here in late May and it was somewhat disappointing. Our room was in the West Wing (I bet Jed Bartlett never stayed here) and this fell well below the usual Novotel standards with tired looking decor, scruffy wallpaper and faded decor. We upgraded but ironically although the room was better, the bathroom wasn't and there was a problem with the drains. Although all the facilities / equipment were as advertised, it really needs a makeover - chocolate brown bathroom suites, red and white curtains and old-fashioned carpets don't do it for me. Given the cost of the stay, it wasn't value for money for this standard of hotel in China. Breakfast was okay - a buffet choice of west and Asian foods. The swimming pool and sauna were okay but cold and the drainage in the ladies changing rooms wasn't good. The location is excellent and only 5 minutes walk away from the nearest subway (very easy to use and a fraction of the cost of taxis and safer than pedicabs). Right beside Wangfujing Street and a large shopping centre with a food court. Once other hotels get built the Novotel needs to pull its socks up. It is used by Air France staff and coach tour parties so I don't know how many independent travellers choose to stay there (as we did), but I really couldn't recommend this to others

Room Tip: Don't stay in the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thanks you taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.
We apologize the room condition in west wing and design not meet your expectation and apologize for all inconvienence by the drainage in pool locker room not working .

We’ll take action to continually improve your satisfactory. Please allow me to express you our sincere apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace
Hope I'll have oppertunity to apologize to you personally in the nearly future
Sincerely
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We took the Diamond Princess voyage to Asia, which ended in Beijing (the port of tianjing is actually 3 hours by car from Beijing and you can get there by Princess coaches to your hotel, share a minibus with others booked before the cruise, Take the train which is very easy, or use a tour company which we did.
We pre booked all our tours with Catherine Lu Tours, picked after good reviews from other trip adviser people. They picked us up at the port with a driver and English speaking guide, and we kept the guide for all 5 days in Beijing. They also took us to the airport at the end.
We are members of Accor Plus and booked the Novotel Peace as one of 6 or 7 great reviews. The position is very good, only 3 blocks from Tianenmen square and the forbidden city. If the weather is not too smoggy, you can see the forbidden city from the top floor lounge. Although we had a 9th floor suite, which gives you free access to the lounge, Other guests on the 8th floor also got access. Free breakfast, free snacks after 6pm and free booze whilst you watch the view. Our room also overlooked a Houtong area. The hotel is also 1 block away from the large pedestrian shopping street which is a must to visit and we had a great day there. The only down side to this hotel was that we posted several postcards from the hotel shop and none arrived here. Makes you wonder if they steam off the stamps and resell them? There is a post office just the other side of the RC cathedral so post all your items there. Staff were all very nice and couldn't do enough. They even have weigh machines to check you baggage but the airport were not too fussed about the odd kilo over. The main breakfast room on the ground floor was quite good, try the Chinese mushrooms * try the pancakes cooked there and then.
The top floor suite is worth the extra bucks if you want a nice room with separate lounge. We drank more free stuff to cover the cost of the room.

Room Tip: We waited for a good discount from the usual internet sites so saved a bit. Get a 9th floor room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to tanks you for chosen the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at same time taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.
We were delighted to read that your overall expierence were satisfy! particular for our breakfast in the squre and accomendation in the premier floor .I will share your satisfaction with our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for a week in mid May 2013. I was impressed with the hotel. It's conviently located (mall about 2 blocks away). Breakfast was included during my stay and it was impressive. Lot's of "western" options. Only real complaint I have is with their wifi. The signal is very weak in your room and throughout the hotel. For a hotel of this type that's unacceptable. Other than that it was definitely a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to tanks you for chosen the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at same time taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.
We apologize for the inconvenience casued by our WIFI. We'll take your comments into consider .Thanks for sharing your concern with us .
We were delighted to read that the breakfast and location were particular satisfy! I will share your satisfaction with our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on the start of our month's trip around China. It is a central hotel for the city.
Our room was clean, with all facilities but was rather 'tired' looking. The bed was a bit hard but this is fairly standard throughout China.
The food was Ok. We had the evening buffet here as well as breakfast. My husband loved the dumplings which were made by the chef while you waited.
The reception staff all spoke good English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .
We apologize for the bed not meet your expectation . We have prepared softer and harder option upon request . We apologize the note not obvious against the pillow .
On the other hand ,we were glad to read that you appreciate the good English and very helpful of our reception s well as cleaned room and the delicious dumpling in buffet .

On the other hand, we were delighted to read that you appreciated XXXX during stay in our hotel. I will share your satisfaction with our team.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.
Sincerely,

Resident Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#49 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#66 Business Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Beijing Peace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.