We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience in a Great City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Xinqiao Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Xinqiao Beijing to your Saves list
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Chongwenmen Xi Da Jie, Beijing 100005, China (Chongwenmen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average experience in a Great City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Traveled to Beijing after taking an overnight train from Xi'An and arrived at the hotel early in the morning.

The hotel staff was kind enough to allow us to check-in early, but emphasized that there was only 4 superior rooms with king size beds, and unfortunately they were on the smoking floors (I don't smoke). As such, we opted to stay in a standard room with 2 single beds, not the most ideal, but at least the rooms were clean, tidy and quiet.

Location-wise, it was a good location since the subway station was just right at its doorstep and that it was near major tourist sites.

Similar to my previous experience in Xi'An, I noticed that the Accor Le Club Priority Desk was not always manned, and that there was no difference whether you were a Le Club member or not. This was a tad bit disappointing as a corporate member and business traveler, it would be nice to have access to such services, else why would one be willing to pay/sign up for the corporate memberships?

In terms of service quality, it was a mixed bag as I had my fair share of warm friendly staff and not-so-patient ones. Granted that it was the week where the 18th People Congress was being held and there were plenty of guests at the hotel (corporate and tourists), yet there could be better handled.

For example: I was trying to ask a male counter staff on issues with access the internet with the wired LAN cable, WIFI on my laptop wasn't working and I needed a LAN connection in order to access work emails. As I conversed with him in Chinese, the counter staff wasn't paying attention to my question, focusing on his paperwork below repeating a flat answer "LAN connection will work fine, just use it". One can't help but feel being brushed aside and I felt a little offended.

However, I must commend the supervisors as they have demonstrated excellent customer service, paying close attention to my needs. In the same example, after I left the front office desk looking frustrated, a supervisor Mr Bob Chen saw me and immediately queried if there was anything he could do. After I explained to him on my issue on the LAN connection in my room, he advised how I could resolve it and offered to contact the technical service to check out my room if all was in order. He also went further to explain how best to connect given that corporate laptops would require a VPN connection, something that I appreciated a lot.

Overall, an average experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedabck as it serves as an excellent opportunity to know what we do well and where we can improve. I am sorry that some of our staff lacked the service standards that both the hotel and our guests expect. I have personally shared your comments with our front office manager so that he can address them with all of our front desk team to ensure we deliver consistent service.
I have also passed your very postitve comments to our supervisors, and in particular Bob Chen, who was delighted to recieve such public praise.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Beijing Xinqiao. Rgards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    964
    447
    100
    60
See reviews for
355
509
246
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First time in Beijing, I am happy with Novotel Xinqiao. The hotel is a little bit outdated, but the location is quite central. Two subway lines right outside its doorstep took me straight to Forbidden city and Tiananmen Square. I stay at premiere room at 12nd floor. Check-in counter is also at the same floor. Room is surprisingly very basic but clean. The buffet for breakfast is ok with a variety including fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted to advise that we will be commencing a renovation of our Premier floor guestrooms in early 2013 followed by further changes in other rooms during the year. Regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

1. Location: Can you manage a 1 min walk? If so, it'll get you to the subway station (Chongwenmen). Furthermore, the hotel itself is quite central, and a 20 mins or so walk to the Forbidden City (the geographical center of town).

2. Value for money: Hotel is probably a bit cleaner and less shopworn than some of the other hotels in the area. But roughly the same price.

3. Variety of features which, to me, seem to be more important to the average Westerner: softish beds (not the concrete slabs you might find in hotels catering mainly to Chinese guests); rooms seemed to genuinely be non-smoking (no lingering smells); aircon worked quite well; good English from many of the staff.

4. If it matters to you, the fitness center is reasonable. Will get the job done, in a pinch.

Note: The taxi drivers in Beijing will NOT know what you're talking about if you say, or show them in English writing: "Novotel Xin Qiao". Better to have it written down in Chinese to show the driver if you're planning to take a taxi there.

Of course, if the subway will work for you, just go to Chongwenmen station, Exit A, and you'll be there.

p.s. here's the name of this hotel, written in Chinese: 北京新侨诺富特饭店

Room Tip: Took the less expensive, "no window", room. Was worried it might be claustrophobic, bit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the tips on the hotel. I might add that for Taxis if you refer to the hotel as Xinqiao Fandian (phonetically pronounced as Shin Chow Fun Dien) taxi drivers (especially the older ones) have a better understanding.
Also the subway, which is directly in front of the hotel, is an easy and cost effective way to cross the city. Each ticket is only RMB2 (approx. 30 US cents) and can take you from one side of the city to the other. As an example a return journey to the Summer Palace from the hotel is only RMB4 and tickets are easy to purchase at the staion and there are signs in Englis as well as Chinese. This must be one of the cheapest public transportation options in a capital city globally. Regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am a regular Novotel customer. I love their hotels anywhere in the world. They offer the best value for money. This one is no different. Great location. Good Service. Clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Everything is as per its right price and that is what I love about Novotel. This is my 2nd time staying in this particular hotel and I do feel their breakfast needs an upgrade. The variety is less. Choice in the buffet breakfast lacks some creativity. They probably need to put some Indian dish there. Or something with gravy like Chicken curry or something like that. All options are kind of dry. Everything is great except the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed the Novotel standard of service however I have passed your comments on the breakfast to our Food and Beverage manager and chef to review our breakfast menus. We understand that for many people breakfast is an extremely imporant start to the day and we will look at how we can improve our offer to guests.
I will also pass your positive comments to our housekeeping team as they are a great motivation for a hard working group of employees. Again many thanks and regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

With not one, but two subway lines right outside its doorstep, as well as a bus and taxi stand, this hotel is indeed a freestyling tourist's top choice. Of course if all your sightseeing is booked with a tourgroup, this won't matter much since they'll be picking you up from your hotel. But if you're planning something similar to what my friend and I did - which was to visit most of the tourist spots on our own, then this is a highly recommended hotel mainly due to convenience in public transport.

We visited all the major spots just by using the subway - Tiananmen Square (which can be reached via a good 10min walk/stroll as well), Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven, Mastercard Arena (I'm a Stephon Marbury fan), and a number of museums. We only booked a tour with a group in a van for the Great Wall (Mutianyu). Olympic Stadium and CCTV towers were also part of our plan which can also be reached using the subway, which at a fixed price of RMB2 per ride regardless of destination is very cheap!

As for the hotel itself, it may be clean but it is showing signs of aging. I'm guessing it may have been renovated for the 2008 Olympics just like everybody else but that's it. The breakfast at the Premier Lounge has limited selection (I suggest you go downstairs - much more food available). The afternoon snack is not something to be excited about. I think they're just left overs from breakfast. At least, the best thing about the Premier Floor is that the staff there is much more friendly and accommodating than the ones at the lobby.

We booked our stay with discounted rates coming from our accoradvantage membership. In my opinion, paying the regular rack rates is definitely not worth it. (Even with our discounted rates, I'm having second thoughts if it was a good bargain). In my opinion, this is not a 4 star hotel. Maybe a 3.5 star hotel, but too bad there are no half ratings here in TA, so will score them as a 3 star instead.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for better views in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and I am pleased that you were able to make the most of the location.
I am happy to say that the hotel will be upgrading rooms in 2013 and I hope that you will have an opportunity to experience the new product. Regarding the evening snacks I can assure you that they are fresh however I will make certain with our Food and Beverage team that they are also presented correctly and that there is a good selection and variety.
Thank you again for your feeback and we will continue our aim to provide the very best in service and product and to continually improve. Regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydcool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent. It's a 15 minute walk to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, and the subway is across the road. It's easy to reach other tourist sites by subway, e.g. the Summer Palace. One of the main shopping areas of Beijing is a 15 minute walk. We organised a private driver to the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall through the hotel for 800 Yuan, which is highly recommended. Go early in the morning; you will beat the morning rush hour and you will have the wall almost to yourself. The rooms are spacious and clean, although nothing spectacular. Breakfast was okay. The weather in September was perfect for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments and recommendation of the hotel.
I too prefer the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall to the much busier Ba Da Ling sectionwhere there are too many tour groups. Mutianyu is less crowded and I think gives a better feel for the wall. Also the trip back down on the toboggan is great fun!
The dried fruit at the stalls are not to be missed especially the dried tomatoes. They look and taste more like cherries. An excellent snack as you are travelling aroung the sights of this fascinating city. Regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I´ve choose a room at Premier Floor which provides 2 floors: the first you can find the livingroom with a complete bathroom and the second floor is the room with another complete bathroom.

I was surprised with the cleaness of the comom areas and the room.

There is a full line of bathroom amenities, bathrobe, coffee and tea on both floors. This room also provides to the guests daily free loundry services, access the to the Premier Lounge, where you can find non-alcholic beverages during all day, have an excelent breakfast (Chinese and Ocidental foods) and also a happy hour from 6 to 8PM, with foods, wine, beer and other alcoholic beverages.

Infront of the hotel you can find subway station, in the corner a bakery, and a few blocks shopping mall. The hotel is also close the Temple of Heaven and Forbidden City (do not trust on the map at the website or the one the hotel give to hotel, the places are no closer as shown at this map).

The negative point is the terrible english spoken by the staff, they have a lot of difficulties to understand what we need.

Room Tip: Choose a room at Premier Floor, it´s a bit more expensive, but the service are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisOldfield, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest - thank you for your feedabck on the Premier floors. We have a great team there taking care of our guests.
With regard to the English level of some of our team we have introduced our own internal English programmes in the hotel including 15min English training for every staff member each day. We hope to improve the English standards of all of our staff and will continue with this, and other programmes, to make communication easier for our guests.
I have also passed your postive comments to our team responsible for cleaning the rooms to let them know that their effort is appreciated by our guests. Regards - Dennis Oldfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Xinqiao Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Xinqiao Beijing

Address: No.1 Chongwenmen Xi Da Jie, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#58 Family Hotel in Beijing
#81 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#100 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Xinqiao Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering FREE hi speed Wi-fi for all rooms, restaurants and lobby. Located in the heart of the city Novotel Beijing Xinqiao is a 4+ star hotel ideal for a business trip, holiday or short break in Beijing. Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the Temple of Heaven are just a short walk away and guests enjoy easy access to shopping, major businesses and government buildings. The subway station is directly in front of the hotel offering easy and inexpensive access to all parts of the city.The Novotel Beijing Xinqiao features three restaurants, a lobby bar, health centre, spa, sauna and outdoor tennis court. For business travellers, we offer the convenience of WiFi internet and conference facilities for up to 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Xinqiao Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Xin Qiao Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.