We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Classic Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Classic Courtyard to your Saves list
The Classic Courtyard
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100007, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
1 review
“Good value!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit at Beijing. Our friend recommended us for stay at this traditional hotel. Hotel is in Chinese hutong not very wide. Very closed to subway station. Room price is good for us because we got discount and our affordable. Room is clean. Bathroom is nice and good speed hot water. Hotels staff is very friendly. We enjoy our stay at there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for gave us your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
23
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stay at the classic courtyard 5 nights. We are happy and satisfied with price and service.
With there price hotel is excellent. Very near to the subway station. Also closed to the bus station.
There food is cheap and delicious. Breakfast price only 30RMB. Rooms decoration is Traditional Chinese Style. Same like picture. There have courtyard for relax and meet people. Everywhere is free wifi. Wifi speed is high. There tours and travel service also good. We order muthianyu Great Wall and Kungfu Show. They pick up from hotel and also sent to the hotel.
If we have plan again Beijing we must stay at the classic courtyard.

Room Tip: Deluxe Family Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest, We are very happy to know that you have nice stay at our Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very close to a local food stores, restaurants and Lama Temple as well as to the metro station line 2 & 5. It’s located in a nice Hutong area where u get a great time machine feeling as in surroundings u can even see gooses in one backyard. Rooms are clean and stuff speaks very good English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valuable guest, Thanks for your stay and gave us review. We hope see you again at The Classic Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

When the cab pulled stopped at an alley and said the hotel is down there we were really worried. When we got to the hotel it was a real Chinese Experience. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It is about a 10 minute walk to the metro. There is a great coffee shop down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valuable guest, Have a good day. Thanks for choose our Courtyard Hotel. We hope see you again at Beijing and also at The Classic Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When the cab pulled up at the head of an alley and the driver pointed down it and said your hotels down there but I can't drive any closer I thought "what have I gotten myself into"

I am a guy who has travelled extensively solo. i want a comfortable, convenient base of operations which is clean, has a courteous and knowledgable staff, and is part of the local culture.I have been a guest for four nights and CC has more than met my needs quite well. Some of my women friends would reject the place out of hand--it is not luxurious -- but there are several women staying here who are quite satisfied.

Simon, the guy who oversees the hotel operation, is knowledgable and personable and has been able to get me train tickets and provided detailed subway direction which let me navigate the city efficiently.

So as I said in the title it depends on what you expect from a hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valuable guest, Have a good day. Thanks for Choose our Courtyard Hotel. We hope see you again at The Classic Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the family room and while there was a smell coming from the bathroom shower and sink drain it didn't really detract from the overall stay.(Personal opinion only). We used hand towels and rubber bathmat to block the shower drain and pushed down the plug on the vanity to block the smell. We also kept the window open and used the ceiling exhaust to suck out the air. Once the bathroom door is shut you cant smell anything anyway. We did mention to Simon to get a plumber in to fix the problem. Having said that, most hotels we stayed at in Beijing had an unpleasant smell located in the bathroom.

Hotel is located close to train station and at the front desk they have a tourist map with most tourist destination and the directions for which station you need to go to and a subway map on the reverse side. We spent five nights here and highly recommend this place.

Also the manager Simon was a pleasure to deal with. He speaks very good English and if you have any problem he will direct you to the right place.

Rooms are nicely decorated with a feel like your staying in a traditional place. Lamps that hang from the ceiling and floating floor give the place a modern and warm feel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Have a good day. Thanks for choice The Classic Courtyard. We hope see you again at The Classic Courtyard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with friends for 6 days and found Simon the manager to be very helpful and friendly.
He gave us good advice on tours and restaurants, also very good value for money.
He also saved us being potentially ripped
off by a possible bogus tour operator
I would recommend as good value for money accommodation clean and homely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicC_12, Manager at The Classic Courtyard, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Have a good day. Thanks for stay at The Classic Courtyard Hotel. We hope next time we will make more happy for your stay at The Classic Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Classic Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Courtyard

Address: 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Classic Courtyard 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic Courtyard Ideally located in Hutong area in Beijing's city centre, The Classic Courtyard is a 5-minutes walk from line 2 and line 5 Yonghegong Lama Temple subway station. It offers clean and comfortable accommodation with convenient access to nearby attractions. Airport Expressway is a 10-minute drive away.Housed in a traditional Chinese-style courtyard, The Classic Courtyard is a short 5-minute walk from the Goast Street, which is famous for the food and snacks. Popular attractions such as Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Nanluoguxiang Hutong are within walking distance of the hotel. The bustling Sanlitun and Houhai Bar Street are within a 10-minute drive of the hotel.The spacious rooms come equipped with modern facilities including air-conditioning, attached bathrooms and free Internet access.Guests can relax at the comfortable lounge and mix with others and watch films. A bar and restaurant serves Chinese and Western dishes as well as American breakfast.Feel at ease with the hotel’s English speaking staff when making ticket, transport and tour arrangements at the travel desk. Other facilities include laundry and bike rentals.Our rooms are comfortably furnished and all offer a degree of luxury and individual touches of flair you would expect for a relaxing stay.The food is as stunning as the setting. Our modern a la carte dinner menu, created by Executive Chef, features an eclectic fusion of Mediterranean and Chinese food. The wine list is as imaginative as it is extensive, whilst our lunchtime buffet never ceases to delight!From airport:If you take a taxi, it will cost you about 80RMB to The Classic Courtyard including the high-way toll.If you take a shuttle bus (16RMB PP) or airport express (25RMB PP): get off at the 'DongZhiMen' station which is near the hostel, then take a taxi (about 13RMB) or by subway (line 2) to the 'Yonghegong, Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C', turn left (maybe turn left two times, there are two ‘C’ exits altogether, it depends), walk along the street about 100m,still on your left, you will see Bei Xin Hutong , inside 50m, The Classic Courtyard is standing there.Or Order our Limousine service its cost 300CNY (Including highway toll and Airport parking cost)From Beijing railway station: Please take subway line No.2 (circle line) from 'Beijing railway' station to the 'Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C' turn left (to south) walk around 100m, passing the Lama Temeple, also on your left, the second Hutong is Bei Xin Hutong, The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing west railway station:Take a taxi; it costs you about 40RMB.Or take the bus Te2, get off at 'Yonghegong Qiao dong',turn left, walking along the red wall of the Lama Temple about 300meters, you will see the 'Beixin Hutong', The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing South Rail Way Station: Get on the subway line4 to Xuanwumen Station, exchange line2 and get off at Yonghegong station(also say Lama Temple,which is the transfer station line2 and line5), from exit 'C' to the ground,turn left. We are 50m south of the Lama Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Classic Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Classic Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.